We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Alexander
Nearby Hotels
Mercure Stoller Zurich(Zurich)(Great Value!)
$119
Mercure
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Hirschen(Zurich)(Great Value!)
$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Storchen Zurich(Zurich)
$517
$478
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$305
$190
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Montana(Zurich)(Great Value!)
$174
$161
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$98
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$267
$247
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$232
$185
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (517)
Filter reviews
517 results
Traveler rating
185
225
85
13
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
185
225
85
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold towngreat locationtrain stationair conditioningweekend breaktwin roomrestaurants and shopsshort walkacross the riverbreakfast was includedwithin walking distancefree wifimain stationhotel locatedstreet noisenoisy at nightwould stay here again
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
313 - 318 of 517 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Stayed at the Hotel Alexander for two nights. Really liked the location during the day, as it was convenient to sightseeing, restaurants and shopping. But at night it was VERY loud until all hours. I would have a hard time staying there again because of the noise. Too bad, because the room was nice, with wood floors and a modern bathroom.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloridaEsther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Alexander, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2011

Thank you very much for your performance appraisal in our favor. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel Alexander. At the moment we plan the rennovation of our rooms. In the same time we also exchange our windows. With it we hope to improve the noise protection in the rooms. We look forward to see you again with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

This is a nice, clean hotel with a decent breakfast (included) and helpful and friendly staff. But the location of the hotel's annex on Zahringerstrasse is unfortunate. The hotel proper and annex are conveniently located close to the bahnhoff and dozens of eateries, shops, a few steps from the Limmat River and 5 minutes walking distance from the Grossmünster. But there's nothing more disheartening than navigating past the droves of prostitutes at night to get to our room, or wading through the flotsam of spent condoms on the way to breakfast in the main hotel. I have nothing against the profession, but the prevalence of the ladies and their debris paints an otherwise satisfactory hotel experience in a REALLY bad light.

Room Tip: get a room in the main hotel
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ratboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

For what it offers this hotel is utterly overpriced (like everything in Zurich - - don’t go unless you must). The room we had for approx. 235 Euro/night had an incredibly small bathroom (even for European standards), no air conditioning, and was extremely noisy even during weekdays (the area wasn’t one for us…bars and striped bars, with people screaming all night long and the store next door starting to unload stuff very early in the morning). Breakfast included was very, very basic. (Just as a side for 195 Euro/night, we stayed in the same trip in Milan at Principe Di Savoy, a truly luxury five star hotel). My plan is to ask for some money back.

Room Tip: look for another hotel
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrei_Calgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

Average hotel - not in the nice part of town - near red light district. But clean, convenient. The price is not cheap, but reasonable in Zurich.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bankergirl1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

The staff do what they have to but are not very friendly or helpful, I asked for assistance in making a phone call home to family and they wouldn't help me
Location is suberb, however the room is very basic but larger than a lot 3 star hotels in Europe.
Hotel staff communiction is very poor as well bit of an attitude issue I think which was a shame because it ticks all other boxes

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Alexander, General Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2011

Thank you for giving us a feedback of your stay at our hotel. We acknowledge your recommendations for improvement and will try to amend the service at the recpetion. Thank you for the other good ticks you gave us and hope to welcome you again in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews