We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good located”
Review of Hotel Ascot

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Ascot
Ranked #84 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Dublin
1 review
“Good located”
Reviewed July 23, 2009

this hotel is in a very good location in front of the Enge Rail station and 10 minutes from the lake.

Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank cindee12451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    114
    53
    14
    8
See reviews for
33
71
18
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2009

well, shame on this hotel which I could not get any sleep as the room on top of the kitchen was extremely noisy til midnight and early in the morning...complete waist of money and not up to 4 stars + they pretend. I have been proprely had

Not recommending that place to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sport68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2009

Although we heard pretty decent things about this Hotel it turned out to be a nightmare! When making reservations we triple checked this Hotel has Air Conditioning as the current temperatures in Zurich easily reach over a humid 90, and AC is not standard. After assuring us that the entire Hotel has AC we booked 2 rooms; the high price seemed worth the comfort of a 4 star Hotel. What a dissapointment! Our rooms had no AC, just like half the other rooms in the Hotel; the 4 stars must have been awarded in the last century because that's how old and used the rooms and furniture looked like. Then there was noone to help us with the lagguage, the bell boy must have gone to cool off from the stifling lobby heat. Even the reserved breakfast was never served or delivered and we took to our flight starving. But to top it all, the Hotel car wouldn't move from the entrance when I tried to load my car (myself) and then I got yelled at from the receptionist for blocking a rail line the porter informed me is never used and could be parked on! It was just terrible attitude. There are plenty of other, up to date 4 star Hotels in Zurich where the staff is at least trying to serve the well paying customer. Dont repeat our mistake!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToTNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Ascot, Marketing & Sales at Hotel Ascot, responded to this review, August 5, 2009
Dear guest (name of the guest is known to Hotel Ascot)

Thank you for posting this review on tripadvisor.com.

Please, accept our apologies for the room service breakfast which was indeed not delivered. We have already improved the procedures and intensively trained our front office and service staff in order to avoid this from happening again.

As you stated, there is a/c in half of our rooms, those with a view to the city and balcony. All other rooms with view to the inner courtyard do not dispose of a/c. We would have loved to offer you rooms with a/c but accept that you did not want to move from the rooms you were first brought to.

It surely is a standard of Hotel Ascot to always have a porter available in the hotel lobby during daytime. We regret this was not the case upon your arrival but were confident it would be acceptable to you that your luggage was brought to your rooms a few minutes later by a front office staff member.

Concerning the rail line, we would like to apologize for the oppositional statements of our staff. It is indeed prohibited to park on the rail lines though they are rarely ever used. We will ensure that in the future every staff member gives the same information. We would like to apologize for you feeling that one of our staff members adopted the wrong tone.

Once again, thank you for giving us the possibility to reply to your review. We take your impressions very seriously and would be happy to welcome you back to correct your impressions of hotel Ascot.

Hotel Ascot
Verena Kern, Sales & Marketings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2009

A warm reception awaits every guest. Repeat visitors find their desired pillows already in their room, along with chocolates and sparkling water gratis. The valet, like the rest of the hotel staff, is efficient and caring. Rooms are spacious, well appointed, and quiet. The bar is one of the best in Zurich, as is the restaurant, which has outstanding food and service. It is the only place we ever stay in Zurich.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALMCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2008

A nicely positioned (for business) commercial hotel - a short walk from the lake.

Don't be fooled by the snappy Website for this "four star" hotel. It is is small establishment with a little reception area and one bar/restaurant - a bit limited in this regard. If you are not expecting a lot, you won't be disappointed because the staff are friendly and most things work (apart from the mini safe in my bedroom).

Other facilities (business centre - swimming pool etc are non existent)

Like most things in Switzerland - its expensive - I paid Swiss Francs 402 per night for an ordinary, but comfortable room. I feel I could have got more/better for my money if I had really tried

The bar is popular with locals after work but is quiet and cosy most other times. Food in the Colonial Restaurant is good and worth a visit - excellent wine list as well.

My conclusion? Its acceptable but if you want a view and 4 star facilities, look elsewhere

  • Liked — Its convenient to the town
  • Disliked — Pretty basic (and pricey) for a "4" star hotel
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CTCTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
156 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2007

Due to a business meeting in Zurich I booked this hotel for a one night stay. It is located across the road from Enge train station, and there is also a tram stop outside the hotel, so getting around town is very easy and you can take the train directly to and from the airport from the local station or get the tram to the main central station.

The hotel was very comfortable and the rooms were well cared for and nicely decorated with a good en-suite bathroom. My room was small but very comfortable and the touch of fresh fruit in the room was a pleasant addition. Service was reserved and efficient, and the breakfast was ample with a variety of meats, pastries and bacon with scrambled egg as commonly found in Swiss hotels. The bar is friendly and has a cosy air. Accounting for its location this hotel would also be appropriate for a weekend break as well as business and I would defiantly use it again, when visiting Zurich

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank handyspanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2006

I had business in Zürich and the company booked this hotel for me. It is conveniently located next door to the Enge train station, which means you can take the train directly to and from the airport. There is also a tram stop there, so getting around town is very easy.

The hotel itself deserves its four stars. The rooms were larger than normal for a European hotel, nicely decorated with luxurious en-suite bathrooms. Service was reserved and efficient, as per Swiss standards.

I would recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed August 2003, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SurfaceTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Engimatt City-Gardenhotel
#75 of 139 in Zurich
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Enge
Hotel Glaernischhof
Hotel Glaernischhof
#12 of 139 in Zurich
427 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 139 in Zurich
840 reviews
Enge
Seestrasse Apartments Drei Konige
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ascot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ascot

Property: Hotel Ascot
Address: Tessinerplatz 9 | 8002, Zurich 8002, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#52 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ascot 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is easy to be comfortable - since 1954 Hotel Ascot is a long established and renowned business in the centre of the city Zurich, an exciting and trendy quarter. Please click here for the location map. With two restaurants in the hotel and another one next door, the hotel offers 74 rooms, all newly renovated in September 2010. Meetings and Private Dining for up to 60 guests can be hold in an exclusive and fine environment. We are all looking forward to your visit to our website and we are hoping to be able to welcome you at Hotel Ascot in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TravelClick, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ascot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing