We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK hotel, bad communication” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ascot

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Ascot
Ranked #84 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
“OK hotel, bad communication”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Acommodation is fine, clear, nice breakfest. It is close to the railway station which makes it noisy during early morning. I stayed one night, paid by company voucher, but they are blocking 100 CHF on my credit card for 3 weeks. I asked for explanation via several emails but I did not received any response. They ask for recommendation at tripadvisor at reception desk, there is a big board with invitation... But they are not able answer email.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenca17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian F, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Ascot, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Lenca17

Thank you very much for your review.

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us. However we are of course very sorry for not replying to your emails and for any frustration this must have caused you. I have spoken to the relevant teams to prevent this from re-occurring.

The amount of CHF 100 was blocked as a guarantee for any extras you might have had during your stay with us. The amount was released and cancelled by us on the day of your departure and the details were given to the credit card company. I am not sure why it took so long to be released back to your card as it usually should not take longer than a few days.

I do hope we can welcome you back to Hotel Ascot in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you have any further queries or questions.

Yours sincerely

Christian Frei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    108
    51
    13
    8
See reviews for
32
71
18
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
81 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We booked a two bedroom apartment with the hotel because we were traveling with our toddler son and prefer to have a kitchen and enough space. When we arrived, we were told the two bedroom apt was not available because the guests "refused" to leave and extended their stay. Instead they offered us a one bedroom with a discount. When we drove to the building two blocks away, we found out that it is located on a third floor of a regular apt building without any hotel associated facilities such as front desk etc. There wasn't any elevator and the apt had no AC. It was an unusual hot week in Zurich with the temperature close to 90 and we had to drag our luggage around on top of handling a toddler. We couldn't stay in the apt because it was as hot as an oven so we ended up back in the main hotel and was given a regular hotel room, which is very small for all of us. It has one of the smallest bathrooms we have ever seen, barely fit for one person. The AC was extremely weak and the room was stuffy. We were told that was the way it was because Zurich is rarely too hot! We did get a discount from the two bedroom rate we paid as a format of free parking and breakfast (both were extremely expensive).
Location of the hotel wasn't a problem and the staffs were actually generally nice especially the lady on the front desk who was very kind and interested in our son. However, we can't say it was a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: make sure what you are getting when booking, especially for families traveling with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyingSocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian F, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Ascot, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear FlyingSocks

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay with us.

I was very sorry to hear that you could not stay in the apartment originally booked and that it overall did not turn out to be such a pleasant experience for you.

We have two apartment houses and they are both within short walking distance to the Hotel Ascot. It is true that there is no separate front desk and that check in and check out is always taking place at Hotel Ascot. However the teams of the hotel are taking care of any requests our guests might have. With a speed dial number to the front desk, service is available 24 hours.

Please be assured that I will look into all your points raised to discuss those with the teams involved.

If you are ever planning a return trip to Zurich, please do not hesitate to contact me personally so I can assist you to make the necessary arrangements to assure that your next stay will be a more pleasant one.

Yours sincerely

Christian Frei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Lovely hotel, easy location with train stop 300m away.
Wonderful staff - always attentive and helpful.
Rooms nice and big - even the smart bikes were allowed to stay in them.
Lovely double bathroom. Own coffee machine. - a treat
Great breakfasts ( incl. champagne for Ironmen)
Bar supper great - it stayed open for meals to feed any late finishers!!
Outside terrace bar - super in perfect hot weather of 35*C.
Good walk to main centre of city at head of the Lake, plenty good restaurants
Great city to walk and explore. Beautiful historic area.
200m to view the 112 mile cycle and marathon sections of Ironman.
Start of Ironman 25 mins walk but one of the closest hotels to it.

Room Tip: some have balconies - ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Queenstown2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian F, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Ascot, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear queenstown07

Thank you very much for your review and your positive feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate that you took the time to write so detailed about it.

Many congratulations again on participating in the Zurich Ironmen - what a great archievment! We do hope we can welcome you back to Hotel Ascot for next years competition.

Yours sincerely

Christian Frei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed for one night. Was very happy with hotel - room was clean and well appointed, reception was efficient and bed was comfortable. Breakfast was good and hotel had a pleasant atmosphere.

Overall happy with the hotel and location suited as was in the centre.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 35105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian F, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Ascot, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear 35105

thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay with us and your positive Feedback, which we very much appreciate!

We are all looking forward welcoming you back to Zurich and Hotel Ascot in the near future.

Kind regards

Christian Frei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed 1 night for business in a Superior single room, which was well-appointed and quiet. check-in was fast and the breakfast was average to good and the location convenient, close to the train station.

In conclusion, Ascot is good for a short business stay, but less suitable for a week-end getaway.

Room Tip: High floor to avoid any road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian F, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Ascot, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Markus26

thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay with us and your kind review.

We are all looking forward welcoming you back to Zurich and Hotel Ascot in the near future.

Kind regards

Christian Frei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

though we had booked at the self serviced apartments of the hotel ascot, on arriving at the hotel for the apartment keys we were told that due to some electrical problem at the apartments we had been accommodated at the junior suite of the hotel itself. The check in was efficient, the staff is friendly and helpful, the junior suite was big, with its own balcony. the mini bar is very well stocked, there were 3-4 English speaking TV channels, including BBC World. There is pay on demand channel as well, with a good selection of movies. The hotel maintains a generous supply of apples which are placed on the lobby of every floor of the hotel. It boasts of a restaurant which serves the "best beef in town".
the location of the hotel is Excellent - connected by train, tram and bus to the rest of the town, you can catch a tram (better view) or a train from the airport, getting off at "Enge" station. There is a well stocked departmental store right across the road - Micros, which also has a good bakery - so in case you are looking for an inexpensive breakfast option or a quick snack, you could just walk across to the store and pick something up. There are many good restaurants walking distance from the hotel - use the Tripadvisor app to locate them.
The hotel is walking distance from Zurich lake, good for a quiet evening, a quick snack, or a swim in the waters of the lake.
Apart from the friendliness of the staff, the cleanliness of the hotel, it is its location in very close proximity to all the modes of transportation that makes this hotel special.
it also has its own app which you could download on your smart phone etc.

Room Tip: if you are a smoker, take the room with the balcony because there is a hefty fine for smoking inside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank entdelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian F, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Ascot, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear entdelhi

Thank you very much for your review and your positive feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate that you took the time to write so detailed about it.

We do hope we can welcome you back to Hotel Ascot in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Christian Frei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed here one night, I had a very warm welcome and found helpful staff. My room was spacious, comfortable and quiet and I particularly liked the fact that the window could be opened to get some fresh air. This was a very convenient location, the only minor criticism was that the breakfast buffet bar is quite small with a limited choice of options, if 3 people were taking their time choosing their food, you couldn't get near it and I noticed that they did not replenish the pastries (probably just as well, in my case) when the serving plate was empty, they simply took it away without anything to replace it with.

Room Tip: My room was a double on 6th (top) floor overlooking the rear, recommended for quietness
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian F, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Ascot, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Yvonne M

Thank you very much for your review and your positive feedback about our staff, the room you stayed in and the location. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and very much appreciate that you took the time to write about it.

We also like to thank you for your comments about our breakfast buffet. Comments like this are really helping us to strengthen our service and product and we will certainly look into the points mentioned in order to see where we can still improve.

We are all looking forward welcoming you back to Zurich and Hotel Ascot in the near future.

Kind regards

Christian Frei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Engimatt City-Gardenhotel
#75 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Enge
Hotel Glaernischhof
Hotel Glaernischhof
#11 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Hotel Glockenhof
#28 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Enge
Seestrasse Apartments Drei Konige
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ascot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ascot

Property: Hotel Ascot
Address: Tessinerplatz 9 | 8002, Zurich 8002, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#52 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ascot 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is easy to be comfortable - since 1954 Hotel Ascot is a long established and renowned business in the centre of the city Zurich, an exciting and trendy quarter. Please click here for the location map. With two restaurants in the hotel and another one next door, the hotel offers 74 rooms, all newly renovated in September 2010. Meetings and Private Dining for up to 60 guests can be hold in an exclusive and fine environment. We are all looking forward to your visit to our website and we are hoping to be able to welcome you at Hotel Ascot in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Ascot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing