We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just one night in the Ascot”
Review of Hotel Ascot

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Ascot
Ranked #83 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Newent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Just one night in the Ascot”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed for one night on a business trip. The hotel location was the major factor in deciding on this hotel as it is just a couple of minutes walk from the office and also very close to Enge station.

The bedroom is comfortable but was too warm, and other than opening the window, I could not find a way to reduce the temperature.

The bathroom is adequate. The shower head is over the bath and has a maximum height of about 5ft. So as someone over 6ft tall is not ideal.

Arrived at the hotel after 9pm so had a simple meal in the bar. This was pleasant. Breakfast was also quick and efficient.

I would stay again but only as it is so convenient.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick_2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    112
    53
    14
    8
See reviews for
32
71
18
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

The Zurich is a conveniently placed hotel in Zurich - a good base for getting around the city. The hotel itself and the rooms are showing their age a little, but nothing to be concerned about. The rooms are of good size and were clean and comfortable. Despite looking over a reasonably busy street, my room was also quiet. Breakfast was also good, with the usual buffet selection that you would expect from a hotel of this type.

There is nothing in particular that recommends this hotel, but nor is there anything that disappoints. As a place to stay for a couple of nights while in the city, it fits the bill.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank 007Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Had stayed in this hotel for 2 nights during christmas week.

The hotel is NOT located near the Zurich Central Train Station however it is just 5 minute distance by Tram. The hotel is right there once you get off the tram. It a quiet area without too many shops but you could easily find the convenient stores and super market at the tram station. Room was spacious (much bigger than the typical as you can place you luggage anywhere around the bed and you can still have space to walk around the room).

All staff including receptionist and waitress/waiter were all very nice and helpful.
Breakfast was nice with good selections - fresh salmon, different fruit juices, breads (still warm when I got them), fruits, etc...

The only drawback is my room was not provided with good quality shower gel or shampoo. Neither toothbrush and toothpaste but I expected this as some of the other hotels did not provide these for free. They did provide you a set of body gel and lotion but they were only very tiny (like a free sample at 20ml size).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jkjk-bjbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau
Level Contributor
93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Located in Zurich, This property is centrally located. Very clean property. The rooms are very well appointed and offer all the amenities you would like. I found the location was ideal for walking to most locations. I will stay there again without question.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hotel is near, meaning 5-10 minutes, from the main shopping area of Zurich. The local tram service is terrific and you can get to the main train station relatively quickly. The down side is that tram service is restricted on Sunday so build in a little extra time. I had an enjoyable stay at the hotel, breakfast was included in my room rate and there were many hot/cold selections from which to choose. My room was comfortable and spacious. I particularly appreciated the old-fashioned phone in the hotel lobby, but then again, I like antiques. The front desk staff were courteous and professional and quite helpful when I had questions. One of the best things about the hotel location is that there is a wonderful park within walking distance. I ate dinner at the hotel restaurant and the tiger prawns were delicious. The menu prices were pretty typical for a bistro-type restaurant in Switzerland as was the wait-staff service, I would definitely eat here again.

Another reviewer mentioned a lack of restaurants nearby which is true, but the tram and buses make it convenient to go out to eat. Walking is another option for those who want to build up their appetite (as my dad used to say). There are several convenience markets and food places right across the plaza from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori_T22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

As cot description suggests that it is only 1 km away from city center . It is a nice and quite place with garden and lake nearby. We had peaceful time there only disadvantage was the absence of good restaurants nearby

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasuren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We just returned from a 4 night stay at the Ascot. The location was good once we got our bearings. We use the tram few times but for the more time we walked. It was a nice walk to the lake, to the Beer Garden, to old town and it was just across the street from the S-Bahn station, which you can use your Eurail pass on. The staff was great, breakfast was good with lots of options. We had a room with a terrace so the a/c issue wasn't a problem for us. Our room was above a cafe/bar that got busy on the weekend, but we had no issue with noise. It was nice to have a separate tub and shower and two sinks. Perhaps one thing that would be of assistance in the room would be a clothes line in either the tub or shower for hanging out items that need to dry. Our room was large and roomy, which in Europe isn't always something to find and we had an actual coffee machine, not a hot water pot and instant coffee that we had at other hotels during our trip.. We also like the elevator. It was usually open and ready for us to use and fast to our floor. There were apples always available for free at the front desk and in the hallway which we enjoyed. All in all, a nice stay for us!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Engimatt City-Gardenhotel
#75 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Enge
Hotel Glaernischhof
Hotel Glaernischhof
#11 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Enge
Seestrasse Apartments Drei Konige
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ascot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ascot

Property: Hotel Ascot
Address: Tessinerplatz 9 | 8002, Zurich 8002, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#52 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ascot 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is easy to be comfortable - since 1954 Hotel Ascot is a long established and renowned business in the centre of the city Zurich, an exciting and trendy quarter. Please click here for the location map. With two restaurants in the hotel and another one next door, the hotel offers 74 rooms, all newly renovated in September 2010. Meetings and Private Dining for up to 60 guests can be hold in an exclusive and fine environment. We are all looking forward to your visit to our website and we are hoping to be able to welcome you at Hotel Ascot in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Ascot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing