We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great friendly service!!”
Review of Hotel Ascot

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Ascot
Ranked #85 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great friendly service!!”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We had just returned from Italy & stayed in a number of typical European hotels, small rooms with limited service,it was a relief to arrive to a friendly & warm reception & then enter a large room with complimentary fresh fruit, expresso machine, dressing gowns & a fresh non smelling of smoke room.
I would gladly stay here again & am planning to return in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    115
    55
    15
    8
See reviews for
34
72
19
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ras Tannura, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2012

My husband and I were impressed with staff professionalism in the hotel. From check-in to check-out we felt welcomed and well catered. Breakfast buffet was included in the rate (scrambled eggs, various breads, coffees/teas, juices and fruits). The hotel room was spacious and clean with a nice balcony overlooking the street. The location for us was perfect - opposite the train/tram station and 10 minute walk to Lake Zurich and the local shoppes/restaurants. The staff was extremely helpful - making dinner reservations for us and letting us know the best areas to visit throughout the city. Coffeemaker in the room which is nice and well packaged pamphlets for ideas to enjoy Zurich to its fullest. The hotel lobby may seem a bit dated to some, but nonetheless it fits the Zurich feeling. I would stay here again without question!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

The serviced apartment of this hotel are very good and a short 100 metres away from the hotel.
The apartment was very clean,spacious and had a very good kitchennette.

The location is very good and right opposite the train and the tram station.
Overall a very good 4 star apartment hotel in zurich.The staff are very polite and will make sure that the stay is comfortable.
would recommend for families as it is better than a hotel

Room Tip: I found the serviced apartment very good,comfortable and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hsjhaveri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Stayed here for business recently. The staff was professional and the location was pretty good, but the rooms were dark and felt dated and lacked the "little things" (like iron and ironing board) you would find in most hotels of this price point. Rooms were clean but dark. Breakfast was included in the rate and was ok. There is nothing really bad about this place and it served its purpose well, but is not a "destination" hotel experience. I guess I would stay here again given the proximity to my business needs and the lake, transportation, shopping, etc. Location was quiet which was a plus.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank max2lucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
399 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Nice hotel with convenient (but expensive: 40 CHF per night) garage, otherwise hard to come by around here. Room was fine, comfortable bed, but only one huge pillow and no slippers.

Good free wifi. TV set was old and very low res, at this level of hotel an HD TV is to be expected.

Full breakfast... in theory. Scrambled eggs were gone when I tried to get some and the waitress said they'd be coming back, but after 20 minutes of waiting I gave up. Coffee was so-so, which is not acceptable in Switzerland! However they did have an espresso machine in the room, which was nice to make a cup right after getting out of bed in the morning.

Several papers were available at breakfast, including the IHT in English.

No fitness, sauna, etc.

Staff polite and helpful. Special thanks to Elena for making me feel welcome at check-in.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Dont' expect much here. Rooms are quite old, service is not a value they favour much. prices are formidable. No food after 11pm (anywhere except McDo! but then thats Zurich too). Breakfast is poor for such a hotel.
Its right opposite train station (not central one) and tram connections are VG but comes with noise
The key is the prices just don't match up with the rest.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doc_Coq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

Nice clean efficient as one would expect in Switzerland . Staff at reception nice and friendly. Key is old style, an actual yes you guessed it a key. There are two deficiencies. One the aircon can not be controlled so they placed a fan in my room. So must be a recurrent complaint. Also the shower pressure is on the weak side. I overlooked the back but they had made an effort to put a garden on the roof I was overlooking. Nice touch.  So clean and efficient with small deficiencies. If its a baking hot day avoid but that is like two days a year.  Location is a stones throw from the station and across the way restaurant San marco makes an excellent schnitzel.  

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manydaysaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Engimatt City-Gardenhotel
#75 of 139 in Zurich
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Enge
Hotel Glaernischhof
Hotel Glaernischhof
#12 of 139 in Zurich
436 reviews
Enge
Seestrasse Apartments Drei Konige
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#11 of 139 in Zurich
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ascot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ascot

Property: Hotel Ascot
Address: Tessinerplatz 9 | 8002, Zurich 8002, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#52 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ascot 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is easy to be comfortable - since 1954 Hotel Ascot is a long established and renowned business in the centre of the city Zurich, an exciting and trendy quarter. Please click here for the location map. With two restaurants in the hotel and another one next door, the hotel offers 74 rooms, all newly renovated in September 2010. Meetings and Private Dining for up to 60 guests can be hold in an exclusive and fine environment. We are all looking forward to your visit to our website and we are hoping to be able to welcome you at Hotel Ascot in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ascot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing