We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient if you want to get to the airport easily”
Review of Hotel Ascot

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ascot
Ranked #75 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Reviewed May 18, 2012

I only stayed here one night but would have been happy to stay longer. The hotel was very well located- across the street from the train that goes to the airport and close to the tram. Rooms were larger than expected for Zurich. The bed was extremely comfortable. Wifi was reliable. Staff was very helpful in answering our questions.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kat0425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 314 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2012

It was a terrific hotel to stay in for us because it is very, very convenient to my children's home.
The people who run the hotel are very, very helpful. They will try to help with any of your requests. The location is outstanding because you go go anywhere from there. There is a tram right there as well as trains to most parts of Zurich.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Ascot for 3 nights. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. The hotel is located right near Enge station, with direct trains to the airport and trams to town. The too, was large, clean and very comfortable. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belljay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

We stayed here for one night and it was absolutly great choise for Zurich - best value for money. First of all the hotel has a great location. There is a train station Enge just across the street so that you can reach the airport directly in 20min. We visited the Opera House and it took some minutes with the tram (the stop is in front of the hotel). So the location is very convenient also for discovering the town. The service was excellent, the staff very friendly, rooms comfortable and the breakfast buffet very good and tasty. I recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to make a trip to Zurich.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sretep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

I stayed for 2 days on business, checked in late, front desk was very helpful however as it was late at 11:30, no food was available due to the time and it was a drink at the bar and some crisps. When I went to the room, it was small but nicely equipped, very clean and a very comfortable bed. There was a nespresso type machine but no bottled water. Good TV functionality and free wireless. Shower over the bathroom and no grotty cloth shower screens. I did find the room was very hot at night so ended up opening up the window but that became noisy in the morning. Breakfast was very nice and well laid out in a smallish restuarant but this was nice and easy going with good service. There was no gym or no other facilities which was a shame. I did not eat in the hotel in the evenign but did have a drink in a small but very packed piano bar. Overall very nice service, nice hotel, limited facilities but will go back.

Room Tip: do not get a street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keegan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

we traveled to zurich, the hotel is just outside the train station ENG that is the train that arrives from the airport. the hotel is very close to the city center you can take a tram or walk. it is a nice, small hotel, quiet, very cleen, very good breakfast, and the staff is very friendly and helpfull. the city is beautifull especially now with all the Christmas decorations.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michal894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We stay at the Ascot at least once a year because for a central hotel it is reasonably priced by Zurich standards and you can travel directly from/to the airport to Enge station (ca.20 mins) which is directly across the road from the hotel. We also have a passion for Japanese food and the hotel's Restaurant Fujiya is a wonderful Teppenyaki restaurant with a diverse menu including sushi, tempura, etc.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Just_like_travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel Rossli
#39 of 138 in Zurich
326 reviews
Engimatt City-Gardenhotel
#85 of 138 in Zurich
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Enge
Seestrasse Apartments Drei Konige
Hotel Wellenberg
#57 of 138 in Zurich
656 reviews
Hotel Glockenhof
#20 of 138 in Zurich
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ascot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ascot

Address: Tessinerplatz 9 | 8002, Zurich 8002, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#52 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $230 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ascot 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is easy to be comfortable - since 1954 Hotel Ascot is a long established and renowned business in the centre of the city Zurich, an exciting and trendy quarter. Please click here for the location map. With two restaurants in the hotel and another one next door, the hotel offers 74 rooms, all newly renovated in September 2010. Meetings and Private Dining for up to 60 guests can be hold in an exclusive and fine environment. We are all looking forward to your visit to our website and we are hoping to be able to welcome you at Hotel Ascot in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Ascot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing