We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Goodbye Storchen”
Review of Storchen Zurich

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Storchen Zurich
Ranked #5 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Goodbye Storchen”
Reviewed October 11, 2006

It's time to find a new 'home away home' while in Zurich.
Maybe the Widder is the 'winner that takes it all'?
It is unforgivable conduct to a arriving guest, just to inform that
the hotel is full, even if the guest is having a written confirmation
of the room reservation in his hand sent by the hotel months ago.
The two recently engaged staff members behind the reception desk representing the new generation of Storchen staff, where
not only unfriendly and unsympathetic persons, but totally unskilled to handle the situation they caused.
In summary: if I didn't make it crystal clear for the people behind
the reception desk, who didn't value my confirmed reservation
at all, that I had not the least intention of leaving the hotel and if I didn't go through the scene, caused by this 'not so very warm welcome', I wouldn't have slept in the room, that
I already months ago booked. I got the room - finally - Yes!
However no explanations nor excuses followed during my whole stay.
This episode from a renowned, first class SWISS hotel
is unforgivable. There are snakes in the nest of Storchen.

  • Disliked — some unskilled staff members
  • Tips/Secrets — not even a confirmed reservation is a guarantee.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
Helpful?
22 Thank CvonK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    149
    13
    9
    3
See reviews for
109
267
47
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2006

What a splendid hotel. Not cheap, but if you fancy really feeling pampered, this is the place to be.

Everything from over-eager porter taking your luggage up and demonstrating the electric beds, to being welcomed with a plate of fruit by a nervous maid ten minutes into our stay, to breakfast on the terrace overlooking the river, was simply pure joy.

We ate out, at a delightfully eccentric restaurant round the corner, but the room was beautifully spacious and really a pleasure to be in.

The TV channels are CNN and BBC World for the English speaker; the wifi moderately expensive from Swisscom, but if you want to pamper yourself while in this delightful city, you really can't go far wrong.

  • Liked — Really spacious nice rooms
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank unclejames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, FL
Level Contributor
48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2006

My husband and I spent two nights at the Hotel Zum Storchen in Zurich just last week. Joining us were our daughter and son-in-law and our son, so we had a total of three rooms. Rate for the double rooms (rooms 204 and 424) was 602 CHF per room and for the single room (320), 439 CHF.

We had corresponded with the concierge prior to our arrival via email, requesting early checkin, airport transfer upon arrival, and a guide for a tour of Zurich the morning after our arrival.

Upon arrival at the Zurich airport, our driver was waiting in the arrivals area with a sign. Immediately upon arrival, my husband used the ATM in the airport to acquire CHF (the best way to acquire local currency without fees - check with your bank to see if this is true for your particular account). As there were 5 of us with a lot of baggage (3 would continue on to Russia for a week), the hotel sent a van with plenty of room. Transfer to the hotel was about 20 minutes. If you aren't burdened by a lot of baggage, there is frequent train service to the Zurich HB and then about a 10 to 15 minute walk to the hotel.

The hotel is located right on the Limmat River in the Old Town. Upon arrival, about 10:00 am, two of our three rooms were available. Checkin was fast and friendly - they were expecting us and were apologetic that the third room was not not vacated. However, we all had plenty of space and access to bathrooms to freshen up and begin to explore the city.

Room 204 was quite spacious for a European city hotel, overlooking a street in the Old Town. Room 320 was a single, on the small side, overlooking the river. Room 424 was also a double overlooking the river, though not as spacious as room 204. As a previous TA review reported, there is a great deal of construction along the river and, in my opinion, the rooms facing away from the river are a better bet at this time. Construction doesn't begin until about 9:00 am each morning, but it certainly does impact the charm.

All the rooms had lovely bathrooms, though of varying size. Plenty of towels, combined shower/tubs, nice toiletries. Beds had plenty of pillows, down duvets and lovely, crisp linens. Housekeeping made sure the rooms were spotless. Our request for a blanket rather than a duvet was honored our second night there. Plenty of closet space, drawer space, hangers, etc. Oddly enough, we didn't have an iron and ironing board (that is so common in the US), though there was a hair dryer in the bathroom. We were told at another Swiss hotel on this trip that in-room irons are considered a fire hazard in Switzerland (maybe someone knows if that is true). Housekeeping would have ironed clothing for us, but we just decided to stay a bit wrinkled.

Breakfast was included in the room rate. We ate each morning on the terrace overlooking the river, off the breakfast room. The buffet was plentiful - fruit, juices, baked goods, smoked salmon, cereals, dried meats, cheese, etc. Additionally, you could order, for an additional charge, egg dishes, cooked meats, etc. We found the buffet to be more than adequate and well presented.

We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant, though we did have drinks one evening at the restaurant on the lovely square in front of the hotel. You must linger here, day or night, if only for a cup of coffee. It's fascinating to people watch and feel the ambience of the Old Town.

Service was quite expectional from the employees. Salvatore the concierge was a real gem and the staff at the front desk always greeted us by name after the first morning.

Our guided tour was quite good, though very expensive. It lasted about 3 hours, and we honestly saw more of Zurich than we expected. In retrospect, it was a little too long and involved a lot of walking. If you might be interested in a private tour, be sure to specify how long you want to tour and how much walking you are willing to undertake.

We ate at two restaurants recommended by the hotel - Zeughauskeller in the Old Town (less than 2 minutes from the hotel) and Ristorante Napoli, an Italian restaurant about a 10 minute from the hotel by cab. Both were the type of restaurants we requested and we enjoyed both very much.

I would have given the hotel an excellent rating except for the one problem we encountered. One of the rooms, 424, was very warm upon checkin. And yes, Zurich was very warm during our stay (in the 80's) and we know very well that there is very little airconditioning in Europe. The room was warmer than outside. Maintenance was called and told our daughter that the airconditioning was working just fine. We knew that wasn't true, as we had cooled our room to 72 degrees, as had our son in his room. Upon returning late in the afternoon to clean up for dinner, the room was still very hot (80 degree +) and maintenance was again called - same result. After dinner, our son-in-law went down to the front desk to complain and, lo and behold, a new maintenance person found that the vent had been stuffed/blocked with newspapers and there was no airflow - hence no airconditioning. It should never had taken more than one complaint to solve this problem and certainly after the second complaint several hours later, a room change should have been offered. By the third complaint, our opinion of the hotel had dropped a notch.

Airconditioning aside, I would still highly recommend this hotel. It has a wonderful location, lovely rooms, and very attentive employees attuned to the needs and desires of their guests. Our first trip to Zurich was a treat for us all.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank aerofl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
Level Contributor
372 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2006

Stayed May 20-22nd. Absolutely beautiful hotel right in the heart of Zurich. We were supposed to get a river-view room, but were given the option for a newly renovated city-view room instead. As there's constuction on the other side of the river, right outside the hotel, there isn't much to see there. So the city view was fine.

The room was excellent. Everything brand new.

Service was fantastic. The concierge helped us plan a great day to Lucerne (way more scenic than Zurich and only an hour train ride) and gave us umbrellas on a rainy afternoon. Restaurant service was excellent, as was the housekeeping. The bar on the 2nd floor is quaint, and once again, the service was excellent. The patio bar on the main floor, beside the river, was fantastic. You can see the happenings of the city and look to your right to see the mountains & lake.

The location is right where you want to be. A 5 minute walk to the train station, a minute walk to the main shopping section, and a 2 minute walk to the 'red light' district, where most of the bars & restaurants are. Definitely a great spot.

A little pricey, I know, but if you're only going to be in Zurich maybe once in your life, or maybe a couple times, do it right.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MSkinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
269 reviews
238 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 585 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2006

Though we only spent one night at this 4 star Hotel in Zurich, we were not treated as a óne-night ónly' customer. Most of our requests were met with - a free upgrade to a slightly more expensive corner room on the 4th floor and a late check out till 4pm. It seems to me that it is one of their Hotel's main policy, to satisfy all their clients' requests, irregardless of how many nights they stay.

But for the price of almost 400 euros a night for a Deluxe room, a stay in this Hotel zum Storchen is certainly not cheap. But Switzerland as a whole is expensive, so we thought, we should give this popular hotel a chance. And we weren't disappointed - its superb River Limmat views towards the Lake Zurich is simply romantic and we tried whenever possible, to head back to our room for its great views.

The hotel's central location was the second mitigating factor as to why we chose this Hotel. It is located right in the centre of the tourist belt, be it shopping along Bahnhofstrasse, taking a lake cruise, crossing over to the Niederdorf area etc. Sadly, the common area in this Hotel is too small and the breakfast, lacked variety. Otherwise, this could simply become a 5 star property.

When our hotly pursued room (because it was only one of the two corner rooms that offered great views) was demanded at 12noon, the front desk manager Mr Thut, offered to give us a free single room, for rest and showers till 4pm! Though the bed in the single room was too small for two persons to nap (our departure flight is at 11pm), we couldn't have ask for more, I thought.

Last but not the least, I thought the hotel's charge of 60 swiss frans for a S Class Mercedes transfer to the airport was exceptionally good value, more so in expensive Switzerland.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JChua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2006

I was in Zurich for 3 days in March 2006 and stayed at the Zum Storchen. The location of the hotel cannot be beat. It is a better location than the other hotels because it is right across the bridge from old-town where much of the restaurants and nightlife can be found (about 5 minute walk). Also, the hotel is on the river which makes for some unbelievable scenery. It is definitely a very romantic area of town and for this, I would highly recommend it for couples.

Now for my mixed feelings: my first impression of the hotel was negative. The lobby was quite small. The single room was TINY with the bed being right up against the wall and with the dresser on the other wall, I could almost reach both sides of the room with my arms stretched out. The room décor was old and tired. The TV is a tiny 20” flat screen that had very poor quality picture. Also, there are only a couple of employees working at any given time, so the front desk can get quite busy and you have to wait.

Now, I travel to Europe all the time and I know about small European style hotels, but based on the reviews here and the high ratings, I expected much more. I expected a grand lobby, a much bigger room and bigger common spaces. I will still rate it above average for the romance factor and location. But i cannot rate it Excellent.

The breakfast is average. But the dinning room is amazing, with a great view of the river in the morning. A very romantic way to start the day. I also recommend you have a drink or cappuccino at the downstairs café attached to the hotel, it is very nice.

Pro:
- unbeatable location, walking distance to train station and old-town
- romantic, great for couples
- great surroundings around hotel
- staff is very nice and helpful (but busy)

Con:
- bit expensive for the value
- single room very small
- room décor needs updating
- TV and remote sucks
- No alarm clock in the room
- Only one free plug (for laptop, phone charger, etc)
- Only one pillow choice and very uncomfortable

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank ixion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2006

We spent our Christmas holidays in Zurich and we stayed at this hotel. Our room was spacious, very clean with brathtaking view of the river and the city. Although we checked in very early, our room was ready and the service was great. Food was great as well.One of the best hotels we have ever been.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Haris N Neofitidis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#2 of 139 in Zurich
463 reviews
Baur au Lac
#3 of 139 in Zurich
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 139 in Zurich
843 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#18 of 139 in Zurich
762 reviews
Atlantis by Giardino
#1 of 139 in Zurich
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Storchen Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storchen Zurich

Property: Storchen Zurich
Address: Weinplatz 2, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Zurich
#4 Business Hotel in Zurich
#5 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#7 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Storchen Zurich 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Storchen Zürich is a traditional first class establishment with 67 stylishly elegant rooms and suites in the heart of the old city. Whether at the reception, at the Conciergerie, in the Rôtisserie or on the Terrasse, in the classical Storchen Bar, in our trendy Barchetta, in the Boulevard Café or even in our elegant hotel lobby, our long tradition of hospitality, together with our warm and personal service, can be enjoyed throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Priceline, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Storchen Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storchen Zurich Hotel
Summit Zurich
Hotel Zum Storchen a Summit
zürich Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing