We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic for couples, Mixed feelings, single room very small”
Review of Storchen Zurich

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Storchen Zurich
Ranked #4 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Romantic for couples, Mixed feelings, single room very small”
Reviewed March 22, 2006

I was in Zurich for 3 days in March 2006 and stayed at the Zum Storchen. The location of the hotel cannot be beat. It is a better location than the other hotels because it is right across the bridge from old-town where much of the restaurants and nightlife can be found (about 5 minute walk). Also, the hotel is on the river which makes for some unbelievable scenery. It is definitely a very romantic area of town and for this, I would highly recommend it for couples.

Now for my mixed feelings: my first impression of the hotel was negative. The lobby was quite small. The single room was TINY with the bed being right up against the wall and with the dresser on the other wall, I could almost reach both sides of the room with my arms stretched out. The room décor was old and tired. The TV is a tiny 20” flat screen that had very poor quality picture. Also, there are only a couple of employees working at any given time, so the front desk can get quite busy and you have to wait.

Now, I travel to Europe all the time and I know about small European style hotels, but based on the reviews here and the high ratings, I expected much more. I expected a grand lobby, a much bigger room and bigger common spaces. I will still rate it above average for the romance factor and location. But i cannot rate it Excellent.

The breakfast is average. But the dinning room is amazing, with a great view of the river in the morning. A very romantic way to start the day. I also recommend you have a drink or cappuccino at the downstairs café attached to the hotel, it is very nice.

Pro:
- unbeatable location, walking distance to train station and old-town
- romantic, great for couples
- great surroundings around hotel
- staff is very nice and helpful (but busy)

Con:
- bit expensive for the value
- single room very small
- room décor needs updating
- TV and remote sucks
- No alarm clock in the room
- Only one free plug (for laptop, phone charger, etc)
- Only one pillow choice and very uncomfortable

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank ixion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    152
    14
    9
    3
See reviews for
116
273
48
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2006

We spent our Christmas holidays in Zurich and we stayed at this hotel. Our room was spacious, very clean with brathtaking view of the river and the city. Although we checked in very early, our room was ready and the service was great. Food was great as well.One of the best hotels we have ever been.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Haris N Neofitidis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2005

This is another property I've had on my heart to stay at for a number of years now and finally got there in March. Although our room was rather small, the view over the Limmat more than made up for it (not to mention the fabulous breakfast in the most elegant of settings again w/views right over the river!) We were extremely blessed in that it was snowing upon arrival but the sun soon made an entrance that lasted for 2 days and even the Swiss stated how unusual it was for such beautiful weather in the middle of March! A basic sweather or turtleneck is all you needed! The property couldn't have a better location! Smack in the middle of the City within walking distance to about anything you'd like to explore. The staff gracious and attentive and our room emaculate! We're actually using a picture from this journey for our annual Christmas card! Loved it!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Litsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, England
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 384 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2005

Just returned from our fifth or sixth stay at Zum Storchen and were delighted to find everything as good as ever. Our room on the fourth floor overlooking the Limmat was comfortable and quiet, elegantly furnished and very well maintained. Breakfast is a delight, as other reviews note - the staff charming and attentive.
We wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else in the city.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank elegantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2005

My mom and I decided last minute in early July 2005 to do a mother-daughter trip to Switzerland. So I looked into both the Frommer's guide to Switzerland (absolute best) and Tripadvisor to see what hotels we should stay in.

We are not rich by any means, but I wanted a special place where we would feel comfortable in the center of Zurich, and, a place that would start us off each day with a nice breakfast.

Staying at the Zum Storchen was THE BEST thing I did - we loved it so much that we booked an extra night at the hotel.

It's a delightful experience - we felt like we were HOME. Comfortable rooms and beds, tastfully decorated in cozy decor. Modern, beautiful bathrooms. The hotel sits RIGHT ON THE RIVER that leads to Zurich LAke - the ONLY HOTEL THAT HAS THIS. It's so romantic!

I must also rave about the BREAKFAST on the 2nd floor terrance overlooking the river with the red geraniums everywhere - it was so special and so delicous! They serve the best quality salmon, egg dishes, breads, fresh squeezed organge juice that you do yourself at the touch of a button on the machine and the BEST COFFEE! The view was spectacular!

My mom and I also enjoyed the plaza right outside the door of the hotel where some of the most intersting people enjoy a glass of champagne and the BEST food. I'm telling you. This is the best food and hotel service we've ever had. We were so happy staying here!

I highly recommend this hotels for couples, honeymooners, mother's and daughter's, (only well-behaved kids and older children please - and pets!). It's an delight - you won't regret spenidng your money here. It made Zurich so memorable for us!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank cphmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2005

I stayed here during the week. The hotle is in a great location. The room that I was in was very modern, with flat screen tv, internet connection, and a huge bath! It is only a few minutes walk from the tourist attractions, and the main shopping street. The staff was always helpful and friendly, and was there in a few seconds when I needed something done. I greatly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ninster03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 12, 2005

This is simply the best hotel in town - one of those unique places that you will not regret staying at. Zurich is beautiful, and this is the way to visit.

  • Stayed June 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#2 of 139 in Zurich
470 reviews
Baur au Lac
#3 of 139 in Zurich
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#11 of 139 in Zurich
863 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#19 of 139 in Zurich
779 reviews
Atlantis by Giardino
#1 of 139 in Zurich
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Storchen Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storchen Zurich

Property: Storchen Zurich
Address: Weinplatz 2, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Zurich
#4 Business Hotel in Zurich
#4 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#7 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Storchen Zurich 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Storchen Zürich is a traditional first class establishment with 67 stylishly elegant rooms and suites in the heart of the old city. Whether at the reception, at the Conciergerie, in the Rôtisserie or on the Terrasse, in the classical Storchen Bar, in our trendy Barchetta, in the Boulevard Café or even in our elegant hotel lobby, our long tradition of hospitality, together with our warm and personal service, can be enjoyed throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Storchen Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storchen Zurich Hotel
Summit Zurich
Hotel Zum Storchen a Summit
zürich Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing