We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Comfortable and Perfect Location”
Review of Storchen Zurich

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Storchen Zurich
Ranked #5 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable and Perfect Location”
Reviewed January 18, 2009

My partner and I stayed at the Zum Storchen, it was our second trip to Zurich in 6 months and we had been very disappointed with the Zurich Sheraton
which was incredibly tatty and overrated. The Zum Storchen however was a delightful contrast. First of all the location is perfect, situated right in the centre of town on the river Limmat with all round beautiful views of the city and surrounding hills, and everywhere walking distance.
The Hotel is instantly recognisable as it has a giant stork's nest complete with giant stork perched on the roof overlooking the lovely architecture of old Zurich. On the ground floor there is a large cafe with outside seating and fur wraps to keep you warm as you drink the house gluhwein (delicious!)
Our room was on the top floor on the corner (see photo) overlooking the mountains and river leading to the lake as well as the historic square, (where Matt Dillon was filming a movie at the time). The room was spacious, quiet and nicely furnished.
The next big plus for this hotel is the restaurant which in my opinion is really fabulous. We had eaten there in the summer on the terrace looking over the clear water of the Limmat below and we were not disappointed this time round sitting inside the restaurant which is comfortable and full of teutonic crests on old beams, and the food still as good as we remembered, the service is second to none. Although I would not describe this as a family outing hotel or for anyone with a tight budget, most of the restaurant clientelle were either businessmen or well heeled Swiss.
The hotel staff were efficient and friendly - the concierge suggested a day trip for me which was just a short walk to the Tourist information service at the station, where I found a trip to Luzerne and Mount Pilatus which was a full day and very enjoyable, even in late November with gloomy weather. In the evening we went to a fabulous Jazz Bar at the Widder Hotel which has a very nice restaurant as well and is located just around the corner.
I would like to go back to Zurich as it is steeped in history, clean and easy to get around, also there are so many attractions from markets to mountains to spas and just relaxing in fresh air with great views. In the summer much activity goes on around the lake including bars on floating stages to al fresco dancing/dining in the evening. In the winter there is skiing locally as well as accessibility by train/road to the more famous slopes of Davos and Klosters.
I would definitely recommend Zum Storchen and look forward to returning.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — small bathroom
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Judi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    147
    13
    9
    3
See reviews for
106
258
47
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2008

We stayed 3 nights and had a great room. Breakfast was included, buffet style and outside on the terrace. We ate in the restaurant one evening and sat outside overlooking the river. The service and food was first class. All hotel staff were excellent and extremely friendly. No quality hotel in Europe is cheap, but it helps when the stay was as enjoyable as ours. The only slight complaint was trying to get afternoon tea in their downstairs sitting area the service there was not good. Their outside cafe was full, so we opted to sit inside and gave up trying to find a waiter. The location of the hotel proved to be ideal if on vacation, within easy walking distance to the lake and in the old town.

  • Liked — Location on the River
  • Disliked — The room price
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warkslass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2008

We have just come back from a 3 night stay at the Zum Storchen.
Whilst there is nothing wrong with this hotel, it is very pricey for what it is and it's only really the location that warrants the price!
The staff are all very friendly and eager to help.
The rooms are nothing special really - i've stayed in cheaper hotels with better rooms!
The breakfast could've been a lot better - there's not a lot of choice.
Overall, I probably wouldn't stay here again.
Thanks

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank mmgw3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2008

We stayed one night at the Zum Storchen. We had a double room right on the river. There was not a balcony but the french doors open and there is an iron railing that makes it balcony-like. The view of the river and skyline was incredible. We were a bit disappointed in our room for the amount we paid. The room was pretty nice but the bathroom was the smallest and plainest of the five hotels we stayed at on our trip. There wasn't even a regular door on the bathroom, but a narrow pocket door that slid shut. There was only one sink and an old fashioned tub/shower combo. We were surprised to find this in such an upscale hotel.

The staff was very nice and we enjoyed the breakfast on the terrace overlooking the river. The location made it easy to come and go but I think the main selling point is being on the water. If you can't get a water view, its a pretty ordinary hotel.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank tippicanoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2008

hotel zum storchen, right on limmat river, close to lake Zurich, right in old town, perfect location for new years eve – walk along river and there are live bands, lots of vendors selling among other foods amazing sausage/roll and glugwein (hot wine which is amazing – seemed to be a swiss/swedish celebratory drink) – if you get a room facing lake, can see fireworks, or go up to roof of hotel to see fireworks

nearby is teuscher homemade chocolate store, zeugenhauskeller restaurant (paprika sausage amazing), sprungli café
breakfast at hotel is included and has breads, cold cuts, salmon, and the best birchenmuesli (I had that first at sprungli café on bahnhofstrasse and loved it)

staff at hotel calls you by name, knows which room you are in, do their best to get you reservations for dinner at nearby restaurants

rooms are large by European standards, elegantly decorated with laura ashley bedspreads/curtains, beds have remote that lets them recline/move upward

just a note – almost everything is closed on new year’s day so enjoy the hotel breakfast, not easy to find food after that

chestnut vendor nearby – roasted chestnuts are amazing

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank jalebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2007

I spent one night in the Zum Storchen on a business trip in January. The hotel was in a fantastic location but unfortunately they were having work done at the time. The rooms were average though the balcony had a fantastic view of St Peters Church with the largest clock face in Europe. The breakfasts were phenomenal and the staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Liked — The location, the breakfast
  • Disliked — Average hotel room
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Fiona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
65 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2007

This is a good hotel ; not excellent, charming or outstanding... but clean, comfortable, reasonably priced (for Zurich) and very well situated. From there you can walk to the old town, shopping areas, the lake and the main train station within minutes. If you like to stroll late at night it is also very convenient.

It is rather on the small side, and staff are not very sophesticated. However we had no complaints, breakfast was fine and housekeeping as you would expect.

We have stayed at 3 other hotels during previous visits to Zurich.. (Baur Au Lac, Savoy & Marriott)... obviously the first two are in a different class but with a different price bracket. I would always choose the zum Storchen over the Marriott because of the location.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Limited choice of restaurants and small lobby
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sherif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#2 of 139 in Zurich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#17 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baur au Lac
#3 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Atlantis by Giardino
#1 of 139 in Zurich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Storchen Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storchen Zurich

Property: Storchen Zurich
Address: Weinplatz 2, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Zurich
#4 Business Hotel in Zurich
#5 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#7 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Storchen Zurich 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Storchen Zürich is a traditional first class establishment with 67 stylishly elegant rooms and suites in the heart of the old city. Whether at the reception, at the Conciergerie, in the Rôtisserie or on the Terrasse, in the classical Storchen Bar, in our trendy Barchetta, in the Boulevard Café or even in our elegant hotel lobby, our long tradition of hospitality, together with our warm and personal service, can be enjoyed throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Preferred Hotels, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Storchen Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storchen Zurich Hotel
Summit Zurich
Hotel Zum Storchen a Summit
zürich Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing