We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in Zurich”
Review of Storchen Zurich

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Storchen Zurich
Ranked #5 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We'd been to Zurich before on day trips but never had a chance to stay for a few nights. After searching several hotels we settled on the Storchen and it proved to be a great decision. If you are there for a holiday, be sure to book a room facing the river on the 3-5th floors. The view in either good weather or bad is terrific. The Storchen has old world charm, with new world amenities. The service level was top notched without the overly formalized atmospheres of other 5 star hotels in Europe. They have a subdued sophistication that allows them to be natural and easy going with the guests, while still maintaining the high degree of professionalism shown by the Swiss. I look forward to returning on another visit.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room on the 3rd to 5th floor overlooking the river.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 66Gael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StorchenZurich, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Dear Guest

thank you very much for Kind words and it is great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcomeing you again in the Storchen and wish you a great summer.

Best regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (791)
There are newer reviews for Storchen Zurich
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

345 - 351 of 792 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2014

Very Accessible,great location,comfortable Hotel!The food is amazing-at least the dish I tried and I had the same 2nights in a row!It is Veal Zurich Style.The staff are very pleasant and agreeable,the service is very good.The views overlooking the river are beautiful.To top it all the weather was very pleasant!

Room Tip: Overlooking the river.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Embers171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StorchenZurich, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Dear Guest

thank you very much for your kind rating and great to see that you like our Zurich Geschnetzletes as it is the very popular regional dish.

I wish you a wonderful summer and look forward to welcomeing you soon again in the Storchen.

Best regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Have stayed here before, love the hotel and it's location. Especially with a room overlooking the river. It has a charm about it and a slower pace.
The staff are friendly and efficient.
With the lovely weather it was fantastic to sit outside for Dimmer and Breakfast, We were disappointed this visit as the buffet breakfast sometimes need topping up and glasses were needed for the juices.
I would stay here again as it is my favourite hotel in Zurich but when I came to pay my bill it was more than it should have been and the young lady told me my original quote was wrong, in fact it was correct and the hotel tried charging me for my 3 nights twice.??? Not what you should expect from this grade of hotel?

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river for a lovely view.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StorchenZurich, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Dear Guest

thank you very much for your rating and I apologize for the misunderstanding at your check out as this was definitely a mistake and no purpose at all. But you are right that things like that should not happen at all. We will improve our controlling.

Thank you indeed as we take any critic very serious in order to improve our Services.

I look Forward to welcomeing you again in the Storchen and wish you a great summer.

Best regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

We stopped in for the best capuccino ever! The view was amazing too but the coffee was served with two delicious chocolates and sprinkled with yummy cocoa powder. A nice experience with good service too.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aleach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StorchenZurich, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Guest

thank you very much for your kind words and great to see that you enjoyed your Capuccino in our Barchetta. Maybe it attracts to see more of our hotel as well.

Best regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Storchen is a lovely boutique hotel with some 60 rooms in central Zurich overlooking the river and with the alps in the far background.
The whole hotel, including rooms, bar, restaurant cafe and outdoor cafe is genuine quality. The staff is well trained and dedicated to service. Wifi is fine and entertainment system good. The breakfast is excellent and if you want something extra or special it can be ordered.
Walking distance to all main shopping and finance centre. Good restaurants in the immediate surrounding. Taxi from airport around 60 Sfr. If weather is good it is nice to walk from the central station.About10 min along the river. Bit high price but worth it since it will give the Zurich trip and extra good feeling.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the river is nice.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter19502013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StorchenZurich, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Guest

thank you very much for your kind rating and it is with great pleasure to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and in the heart of Zurich.

We look forward to welcomeing you soon again and wish you a wonderful and enjoyable summer.

Best regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Nice hotel, quiet location, lovely staff but, for the price you pay, a few shortcomings, the most noticeable of which:
Breakfast choice is EXTREMELY modest, more like your average three-star hotel.
No fitness / gym or anything of the sort.

Room Tip: The river view rooms on the top floor are nice but you are under the slanted roof.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The English C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StorchenZurich, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Guest

thank you very much for your rating which is for us always an indicator of the satisfaction degree of our guests, which we take very serious.

I can see that you had one of our smaller rooms which we unfortunately also have due to the limits an historical building has. Maybe we have the chance to show you a bigger sized room.
Breakfast is normally more than liked as there is a huge variety of local products and also warm dishes can be ordered free of Charge. Maybe that was not clearly mentioned to you.

It is correct that we do not have any fitness in the house but offer a jogging map with fantastic routes starting from the Hotel and we offer to bring to the room different gym utilities.

With all the limits a Hotel in the heart of a City we try to offer as much as possible but of course not to everybodys satisfaction..

Thank you very much for your stay and we hope to welcome you soon again in the Storchen.

Best regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

What a wonderful hotel and city!
Last week I visited some friends that work in Zürich for some months and spent a fantastic time! They accommodated me in the lovely hotel Storchen. The Concierge was particularly helpful and funny and I enjoyed my breakfast on the terrace with my friends very much. It's the perfect place to start into a new day - it was great. I'll try to come back very soon!

Room Tip: Any rooom with view on the River Limmat ;)
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elisabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StorchenZurich, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Guest

thank you very much and it is great to see that you enjoyed your stay !
Our concierge does very much appreciate your Special remarks and he is happy to have made you laugh !

Best regards and hope to see you soon again.

Jörg Arnold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#3 of 138 in Zurich
486 reviews
Baur au Lac
#2 of 138 in Zurich
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#11 of 138 in Zurich
881 reviews
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#21 of 138 in Zurich
827 reviews
Park Hyatt Zurich
#10 of 138 in Zurich
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Storchen Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storchen Zurich

Address: Weinplatz 2, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Zurich
#4 Business Hotel in Zurich
#5 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#7 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $427 - $787 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Storchen Zurich 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Storchen Zürich is a traditional first class establishment with 67 stylishly elegant rooms and suites in the heart of the old city. Whether at the reception, at the Conciergerie, in the Rôtisserie or on the Terrasse, in the classical Storchen Bar, in our trendy Barchetta, in the Boulevard Café or even in our elegant hotel lobby, our long tradition of hospitality, together with our warm and personal service, can be enjoyed throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Storchen Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storchen Zurich Hotel
Summit Zurich
Hotel Zum Storchen a Summit
zürich Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing