We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My trip to Zürich”
Review of Storchen Zurich

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Storchen Zurich
Ranked #5 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“My trip to Zürich”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

What a wonderful hotel and city!
Last week I visited some friends that work in Zürich for some months and spent a fantastic time! They accommodated me in the lovely hotel Storchen. The Concierge was particularly helpful and funny and I enjoyed my breakfast on the terrace with my friends very much. It's the perfect place to start into a new day - it was great. I'll try to come back very soon!

Room Tip: Any rooom with view on the River Limmat ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elisabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StorchenZurich, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Guest

thank you very much and it is great to see that you enjoyed your stay !
Our concierge does very much appreciate your Special remarks and he is happy to have made you laugh !

Best regards and hope to see you soon again.

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    147
    13
    9
    3
See reviews for
106
258
47
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
103 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had an enjoyable stay at this iconic establishment. One could say the cherry on the cake whilst attending a friends 40th birthday party. No complaints about the room or service however I experienced the temperature in general in the building being quite warm…I guess that's individual. As feedback, when we were leaving we had to wait over 15 minutes for our luggage to be delivered from the room. We also forgot something in the bathroom and I wrote an e-mail about it. I have not received a reply (it's been three weeks). Did it end up in junk mail??

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T-toe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StorchenZurich, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your professional rating and your critical Points which we take very serious. About the warmth in our Hotel during your stay it unfortunately had to do with the fast changeing outside temperatures so our System could not react as the weather changed. But we will renew the entire heating and cooling System in 2014/2015.

About your email we will check what happened.

Thank you very much and best regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

I can not speak highly enough about this hotel! From the moment we arrived to when we departed, the hotel lived up to every star given and the service was second to none! Also a fantatic location!! Often you find at least something wrong in hotels - they just don't quite get it right but i have to say that is not the case here! I'd booked this as a break for my dad's 70th birthday and they made it very special for him. Thank you very much. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StorchenZurich, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your Kind words. It was our great pleasure to welcome you and we are deeply happy that your father enjoyed his birthday with us.

All the best to you all and hope to see you soon again.

Best regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

The location is very good for walking around the city. We had a river view room and were very glad that we did since the view was very interesting. Our room was rather small but well appointed and very clean. In addition to a desk, we had two easy chairs for reading which were very much appreciated.

The breakfast buffet was outstanding - with the best croissants we have had in Europe in several years. A light and airy setting with a great view.

The bar was a room with great local character and good service.

In a great hotel, everything should be perfect and a few items were a bit less than that: a) We were surprised that there was not much acoustic isolation between rooms. When anyone flushed a toilet, took a shower, or listened to TV, we could hear it. b) The concierge on duty in the morning did not communicate well with the one in the evening and our dinner reservations got mixed up. It all worked out but it should never have happened. c) Logging into WIFI was easy the first time. After that, the log in process was confusing and frustrating.

We would probably stay here again. However, the Swiss are experts in hotel management and I would consider some alternatives before doing so.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StorchenZurich, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Guest

best thanks for your professional and also critical rating.
I take your points very serious and we will work on them especially when they have to do with our services. Infrastructural issues take a little longer but i assure you that we are constantly investing in improvements.

Thank you and best regards and we are looking Forward to welcomeing you soon again.

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

This was a fabulously located hotel with large rooms and great beds. The pillows could be a bit better, but not much to complain about. There is no spa, sauna or pool which for the price- there should be something to help you unwind besides very expensive drinks. Great service!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJBKKKHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StorchenZurich, General Manager at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your kind rating. It Looks like you had wishes to enjoy some relaxing time in a spa. As our house is very old and space is very limited therefor we had to set our priorities and after research with our guests we decided not to invest into a spa or similar. Nevertheless within no distance we offer different great spa possibilites and even in the house we offer massages in your room. Being so central in the City and the lake we offer you a nice Jogging map with great routes to the lake.

Thank you very much for considering our Hotel and we look forward to welcomeing you soon again and organising you some great spa treatments.

best regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
823 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Right on the lake. Two blocks from Bahnhofstrass. Great people. Rooms are European but have nice touches like flat screen TV and adjustable beds. The included breakfast is a must and you should have the hotel arrange your airport transfer. Why ride in a cab when for the same price you can have a Mercedes.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SBF2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StorchenZurich, General Manager at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your kind rating and we all are happy to see that you had a good stay with us and we look Forward to welcomeing you soon again.

Best regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
117 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

My husband pulled out all the stops and booked the Storchen in Zurich for my 50th birthday celebration. Although we had to break the piggybank to do it, ours was a once-in-a-lifetime, unforgettable experience.

The room was immaculately presented with a bowl of fresh fruit, high-end chocolates, and an immense orchid. We had a desk, sofa, and the biggest bathtub I've ever had in a hotel. The reception and service employees were all extremely helpful and spoke any language imaginable! The hotel also has valet parking which we don't often enjoy. We had lovely strolls through the Old Town and, because of the Storchen's location, we able to have a short rest before heading out for dinner in the evenings.

From 7:00 - 7:15 the bells of Zurich ring. This was heavenly! Also, there was a flute player on one of the bridges. So, from our room we could hear the gentle river, the flute, and eventually the evening bells. This was magical.

Be sure to ask about the legend of the stork and the stork egg mosaic in the lobby. There is a story and I think the concierge loves to tell it.

The breakfast room has high ceilings, beautiful woodwork, lovely murals, and crests from all of the local craft guilds. Breakfast was extensive, definitely one of the best I've experienced in Europe, with lovely views of the river. Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day and at the Storchen it was perfect.

Although the price tag is high, I'd still recommend it for an unforgettable weekend of luxury.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BLTurpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StorchenZurich, General Manager at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your very professional and kind rating and it is a great pleasure and motivation for all of us to see that you had a great stay with us.

We wish you a wonderful spring and look forward to welcomeing you soon again.

Best regards

Joerg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#2 of 139 in Zurich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#17 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baur au Lac
#3 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Atlantis by Giardino
#1 of 139 in Zurich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Storchen Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storchen Zurich

Property: Storchen Zurich
Address: Weinplatz 2, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Zurich
#4 Business Hotel in Zurich
#5 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#7 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Storchen Zurich 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Storchen Zürich is a traditional first class establishment with 67 stylishly elegant rooms and suites in the heart of the old city. Whether at the reception, at the Conciergerie, in the Rôtisserie or on the Terrasse, in the classical Storchen Bar, in our trendy Barchetta, in the Boulevard Café or even in our elegant hotel lobby, our long tradition of hospitality, together with our warm and personal service, can be enjoyed throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Storchen Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storchen Zurich Hotel
Summit Zurich
Hotel Zum Storchen a Summit
zürich Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing