We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”
Review of Storchen Zurich

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Storchen Zurich
Ranked #5 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
ohio
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Wonderful hotel with great views in a great location on the river. You just had to walk across a bridge right by the hotel to get to old town. There were many nice stores right by the hotel. The staff was more than helpful. The rooms were large with large bathrooms and nicely appointed. There was fruit, water and candy in our room. The dinner at the restaurant was delicious as was the breakfast buffet. We were very glad we stayed there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linadal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your rating and your kind words. It is our motivation to see that guests enjoyed their stay in our Hotel.

We wish you all the best and hope to see you soon again

Best regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    147
    13
    9
    3
See reviews for
106
258
47
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Port-au-Prince, Haiti
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Thank God I chose the Storchen!!! Couldn't be more right. I love the old city, the views of the Zurisee, the people, the glamour of these old streets and excellent shops. This hotel has the perfect location.

And of course, the service, my room, the meals... outstanding.

Mariano HM Zwicky (Haiti)

Room Tip: I loved the ones facing the Limmat river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariano M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your kind words and it is our great pleasure and motivation to see that we are pushing the right buttons to make you feel comfortable in the Storchen.

Best regards and hope to see you soon again.

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, Vermont
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We concur with all the 5 star ratings and wouldn't stay anywhere else! The location is perfectly situated to explore the charming narrow streets of shops and restaurants by foot and many of the historical landmarks of Zurich. Our extremely comfortable room on the second floor overlooked the river and we loved having our windows wide open in evenings to enjoy the spectacular views. The included breakfast had abundant offerings and by the third day, the staff remembered our preferences for cappuccinos. The hotel staff at the front desk were very willing to help with dinner reservations and questions we had, and most impressively remembered which room we were staying in. A small but wonderful touch. We did not eat at the hotel beyond breakfast but thoroughly enjoyed their attentive and personalized approach at breakfast. Would, without hesitation, stay at the hotel again. Worth every CHF.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VTislandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your kind words and we are happy to see that you had a very pleasant stay.

We hope to see you soon again and wish you all the best !

Warm regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Very pleasant and helpful staff --clean and quiet rooms -- excellent breakfast -- the only negatives are the dinner where the waiting staff were a bit offhand and gave the impression that they would rather be somewhere else --but the food was well cooked. But there are a number of very good restaurants close by the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Limmat
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drac69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your rating and your kind words though i see that we have potential for improvement.

I wish you all the best and hope to see you soon again.

best regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois usa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This hotel is truly amazing. The rooms are comfortable beyond belief, the beds are extraordinary, they gladly provide hypo allergenic bedding. The air conditioning works well, the shower is a rain shower with perfect regulation. The view of the river is stunning. The staff left a little Storchen to greet my daughter (per a request) and made her feel welcome and at home. The breakfast buffet is beyond perfection--elegantly presented, each food cooked to perfection. The home made smoked salmon rivals the best New York has to offer, the baked goods are amazing and the staff kind and nice. The rooms are tidied in the evening too and small chocolate treats (my daughter calls them the queen of England's peanut butter cups) are left at night.
The location is perfect and the concierge as helpful as reviews have said. Never has it been so nice to stay at a hotel. The only downside is that your next stop will never measure up.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotelfussbudger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear guest

thank you so very much for your kind rating and we are happy ou enjoyed your stay in Zurich and the Storchen. Your daughters remark about the chocolate i send to my chocolate supplier, a great and fantastic and young chocolatier.

Best regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunmore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Perfectly situated, friendly, anticipatory staff, excellent concierges, spotlessly clean room and bathroom, working shower with plenty of water pressure and hot water, air conditioning, free internet, and good chocolates at bedtime--what more could you want? Yes, you pay a little more for paradise, but it's worth it!
The window-shopping in the area is fabulous, with unique jewellers, lots of sidewalk cafes, and the big names like Max Mara and Prada mixed in with beautiful Swiss shops. The area is clean, safe, and never snobby.
The view from our room facing the river showed us swans, bridges, a carousel, the historic guild building with a stag atop--reminiscent of Lucerne, but without those clanging church bells to disturb your slumber!
If you don't stay at the Storchen, then at least go for a cocktail on their outdoor patio along the river's edge, and try their version of what seemed to be the hot new summertime drink (along with the Aperol Spritz): The Hugo. On a Friday afternoon there were lots of business types having drinks, and there were also Financial Times and Herald Tribunes to read.
Dinner there may also be recommended; the duck, outstanding! Breakfast is included, featuring homemade jams (the apricot-rosemary jam on a fresh warm croissant was divine!), home-smoked salmon--the works. The orange juice machine takes center stage and is quite addictive!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you so much for your kind and professional comments. We are happy to see that you really enjoyed your stay in Zurich and the Storchen.

Have a wonderful fall !

Warm regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We have been coming to the Storchen hotel for 40 years. Most romantic place to have a glass of wine and watch the Limmat flow by. The lobby is small and not meant for lingering. Small lounge to the side provides drinks and snacks for guests.
Our room, this visit, overlooked the terrace dining which was packed with Zurichers enjoying the waning days of summer.
Hotel is well located in old town with a wonderful view of the Gros and Frau Munsters churches which are beautifully lighted at night.
Each room is different and very clean with cloud like duvets and plump pillows. Included for your comfort are water and fruit and free wifi.
We think water and wifi should always be complimentary in $$$ hotels.
We will return

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Honey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest

Visiting the Storchen over 40 years says it all ! Thank you SO MUCH for your loyality and fidelity and it is such a privilege for us to have such wonderful guests.

Warm regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#2 of 139 in Zurich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#17 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baur au Lac
#3 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Atlantis by Giardino
#1 of 139 in Zurich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Storchen Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storchen Zurich

Property: Storchen Zurich
Address: Weinplatz 2, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Zurich
#4 Business Hotel in Zurich
#5 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#7 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Storchen Zurich 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Storchen Zürich is a traditional first class establishment with 67 stylishly elegant rooms and suites in the heart of the old city. Whether at the reception, at the Conciergerie, in the Rôtisserie or on the Terrasse, in the classical Storchen Bar, in our trendy Barchetta, in the Boulevard Café or even in our elegant hotel lobby, our long tradition of hospitality, together with our warm and personal service, can be enjoyed throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Storchen Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storchen Zurich Hotel
Summit Zurich
Hotel Zum Storchen a Summit
zürich Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing