We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“We always return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Storchen Zurich

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Storchen Zurich
Ranked #5 of 133 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We always return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We have been coming to the Storchen hotel for 40 years. Most romantic place to have a glass of wine and watch the Limmat flow by. The lobby is small and not meant for lingering. Small lounge to the side provides drinks and snacks for guests.
Our room, this visit, overlooked the terrace dining which was packed with Zurichers enjoying the waning days of summer.
Hotel is well located in old town with a wonderful view of the Gros and Frau Munsters churches which are beautifully lighted at night.
Each room is different and very clean with cloud like duvets and plump pillows. Included for your comfort are water and fruit and free wifi.
We think water and wifi should always be complimentary in $$$ hotels.
We will return

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Honey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest

Visiting the Storchen over 40 years says it all ! Thank you SO MUCH for your loyality and fidelity and it is such a privilege for us to have such wonderful guests.

Warm regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    140
    13
    8
    2
See reviews for
94
231
43
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

When ever I have been to Zurich, I have always insisted on Zum Storchen as 'my' hotel! In the past my travel agent knew for certain where I would stay. Service is very efficient, hotel is Swiss Clean and food is excellent! An easy walk to all fine shoppes and to the lakeside. A wonderful hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WesW901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your loyality and we are happy to see that we can offer you at any stay the Services you like.

We look forward to welcomeing you soon again.

Best regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I had been here once previously and had a terrific time. Welcoming staff, spotlessly clean, lovely blue and white decor in the room. We were going to be in Zurich for less than 24 hours and it crossed my mind to book a less expensive hotel. But the location can't be beat. I believe it's the only hotel directly on the river, and it's quite convenient to the charming shops and cafes of central Zurich. So I decided to spring for the Storchen again, though for a standard rather deluxe room. While I missed the additional space and light of the larger room, I was quite happy with the accommodations. And there's no substitute for being able to sit by the window and watch the boats go by. I understand that there is a huge suite on the top floor with a large balcony. If I ever win the lottery, that will be one room on my Grand Tour.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Maeve32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you so much for your kind rating. It is a great Motivation for me and my team to see that we are on the right track to make the stay of our guest a pleasant one.

We hope to see you soon again and please let me know as the suite sometimes is ready for a upgrade.

Warm regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed here two nights, in a very comfortable corner room on the second floor, overlooking the square out front. Everything about our stay here went well. The staff was courteous and comfortable working with English speaking guests, the food in the Rôtisserie restaurant was great (not to mention the view from the outdoor seating), and the room was well appointed and immediately felt like home. Being located near a bridge across the river gave us easy walking access to the many attractions on both sides, including the rat's maze of twisting narrow streets filled with all sorts of hidden gems.

Having been there, I can't imagine ever going back and staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadHungry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your kind words and it is great to see that you enjoyed your stay in Zurich and the Storchen.

Best regards and we look forward to welcomeing you soon again .

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed at the Storchen for 3 nights whilst on a business trip.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful at all times. The room was clean and comfortable, great bathroom and not forgetting the amazing view of the river. It was quite hot, so the air conditioning certainly made it comfortable.
Only ate once at the hotel, which was most enjoyable in a lovely atmosphere on the terrace and the staff were most attentive.
Hotel is in a great location, central to everything one would want. Would recommend to others and hope to stay again, for at least a week next time.

Room Tip: Request a room over looking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MooMoo19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your rating and your kind words. It is great to see that you enjoyed your stay in Zurich and the Storchen.

We look Forward to welcomeing you soon again !

All the best and warm regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We had the pleasure of being guests at the STORCHEN this week as part of a wonderful trip to celebrate our 52nd anniversary. We arrived quite early from our flight and had sent an email letting the hotel know we would appreciate it if they were able to allow us to check in early as, at our age we tired a bit more than in our youth. With the age reference I mentioned our upcoming anniversary. We arrived at 10am without our luggage and a bit frazzled. The hotel had a lovely room ready, took all our lost luggage info and told us they would follow up. We settled in, went for a walk on the lovely river, returned for lunch on the terrace, came to our room to discover a charming basket of goodies with a sweet note congratulating us on our anniversary. That night our luggage was brought to our door. The rest of our stay was graced. With similar kind service. This is perhaps more extraordinary because we had reserved on a rare extremely discounted rate which generally does not generate this level of solicitisness from hotels. Thanks to the Storchen for being a wonderful part of our anniversary journey.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teezee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your kind words. I am very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and it was a nice part of your anniversery. We hope to welcome you soon again and wish you all the best.

Warm regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majorca, Spain
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We found the staff excellent in this small hotel, the concierge so helpful and the porter on hand immediately. The adjustable beds were very comfortable and the air conditioning a definate plus in the August heat. Dinner on the terrace overlooking the Limmat is not to be missed, superb food and friendly unpretentious service. During our previous visit to Zurich we stayed at the Baur Au Lac, however our stay at the Storchen was far more enjoyable!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FemaleFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your kind words and we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel and specially enjoyed the beautiful terrace with the outstanding view to the City.

Best regards and we hope to see you soon again.

Jörg Arnold
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Baur au Lac
#3 of 133 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 548 reviews
The Dolder Grand
#1 of 133 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 133 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 770 reviews
Park Hyatt Zurich
#4 of 133 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 697 reviews
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#17 of 133 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Storchen Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storchen Zurich

Property: Storchen Zurich
Address: Weinplatz 2, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Zurich
#4 Business Hotel in Zurich
#5 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#7 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Storchen Zurich 4.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Storchen Zürich is a traditional first class establishment with 67 stylishly elegant rooms and suites in the heart of the old city. Whether at the reception, at the Conciergerie, in the Rôtisserie or on the Terrasse, in the classical Storchen Bar, in our trendy Barchetta, in the Boulevard Café or even in our elegant hotel lobby, our long tradition of hospitality, together with our warm and personal service, can be enjoyed throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Storchen Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storchen Zurich Hotel
Summit Zurich
Hotel Zum Storchen a Summit
zürich Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing