We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful river views and terrace dining”
Review of Storchen Zurich

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Storchen Zurich
Ranked #3 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Lots of things to love about this hotel. Its central location on the Limmat river is at the top of the list. By all means, get a room with a view of the river. Also wonderful -- the air conditioning! We were in Zurich during an extended heat wave, and the room air-con made a huge difference. The lobby and hallways aren't air-conditioned, and I felt bad for the desk clerks and concierge in their heavy uniforms.

Rooms are furnished in an updated-traditional style. Our spacious room had lots of lovely toile de jouy but felt contemporary. We were given a room that we were told had one of the larger bathrooms; it seemed to have been recently updated. Clearly, the beds are meant to be adjustable, but ours didn't seem to work. Overall, though, we had no complaints about our room.

Dinner on the hotel terrace is a treat. Not only are the views of the river and the distant mountains wonderful, but the food was the best we had during our entire Swiss holiday.

We stayed here and at the Widder hotel. Both are superb, but the Storchen is somewhat less expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkyeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Guest

thank you so much for your competent and professional Rating. It is our duty and great pleasure to give our best to make your stay a memorable experience.

We look forward to welcomeing you soon again.

best wishes

Jörg Arnold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (851)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

433 - 439 of 851 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two days and the reputation is well deserved. Location is great! We got a corner room with both views to River and City and it was great! All hotel staff are very warm and attentive. The concierge is a great fellow. Breakfast was good and the terrace is marvelous! Everything was perfect with exception of air conditioning and some bug that biten me by night.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salvador96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, General Manager at Storchen Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Dear guest

Thank you so much for your kind words. The Airconditioning turns off when the windows are open as to not cool Zurich instead of the room. therefor also with a open window of course in summer the light attracts the bugs or mosquitos. Maybe this was not mentioned about the airconditioning at arrival for which i appologize.

But we are happy that you still enjoyed your stay and were happy with your Hotel and the staff.

Best regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

A very elegant hotel, matching the entire old town of Zurich.

It certainly was impressive - grand breakfast room where you could have breakfast overlooking the river (and breakfast was good too). The rooms were reasonably spacious, bed is electric that sits you up to read or lifts your legs.

Bathroom felt a touch dated and small given the size of the room. Finishes were good, but you can see it hadn't been renovated for some time.

Staff at the front desk had remarkable memories, we were never asked for our room number after check in to collect our key. Impressive.

Tiny bit of constructive advice - if guests have had their luggage lost by the airline don't charge 9 Francs for a toothbrush and the same again for toothpaste. For the price you charge it should be complimentary. A small detail, but it's those small acts that really make a hotel memorable.

Its a pricey hotel, as most things in Zurich are but for a short stay we enjoyed it

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank sydneytravelbug71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, General Manager at Storchen Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear Guest

thank you very much for your kind words and it is great to see that you enjoyed your stay. I do appreciate your comments and take them very serious in order to improve our services - and we have always space for improving as you mention the situation with lost luggage.

Best regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

If you want elegance, comfort, pleasant staff, and a perfect location then this is the best hotel in Zurich. The location on the river is unmatched, the staff are super friendly and polite. Stay in this boutique hotel and you will not be disappointed. The restaurant was the best on my trip! but make reservations. You will really absorb the flavor of Switzerland here. The shopping on the Bahnhofstrasse is literally two blocks away, the train station is a 10 minute walk (close yet far enough away). BTW, the women in this city are stunning!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joefrombrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, General Manager at Storchen Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear Guest

thank you very much for your Kind words and i do really appreciate them as you seem a absolute pro in traveling.

Best regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

If you want to stay at an elegant, small boutique hotel in Zurich, where the service is flawless and your every need is catered to, then the Storchen is your hotel.
For nearly the past 40 years I have been coming to Zurich. Over the years, I have stayed at most of the nicer hotels in town. Without any question, the Storchen stands out from all the rest for the quality of the experience they deliver. Some of the reasons I just love this hotel are, besides those already mentioned:
• Great location right on the Limmat river, a couple of hundred meters from the lake.
• The rooms are elegant and nicely furnished.
• All rooms are air conditioned by a system that is absolutely silent.
• The concierges always seem to find everything I want.
• The restaurant is very nice and they have a great dining terrace which looks out over the river, just perfect for business entertaining.
• Nothing has ever gone wrong during a stay.
• The hotel is small, quiet and absolutely free from tour groups.
Some reviewers have pointed out that the Storchen is expensive. The first thing travelers need understand is that Switzerland is very expensive. This is especially true for North American travelers who come with their devalued USD and CD. To have a good experience in Switzerland, as soon as you arrive you need stop thinking in terms of your own national currency. Otherwise, you will not have a nice trip. The second thing travelers need realize is that the top hotels in Switzerland – and all of Western Europe for that matter – are expensive. The people that staff them are professionals. They receive real wages and real benefits, all of which cost. Hotels like the Storchen are not staffed by people – as often is the case in North America – waiting for a “real job” to come along. This is their career.
The Storchen is not for the budget minded. There are many other hotels in Zurich for that. The Strochen is for the sophisticated traveler who wants to stay in a small quite hotel, right in the center of old town Zurich and receive perfectly customized service.

Room Tip: We have never been in a "bad" room; We always stay in a suite or Jr. suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, General Manager at Storchen Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear Mrs Alisa

thank you so much for your most loving words, for your fidelity and your loyality to the Storchen. Our daily professional life is all about such great comments and make us feel good. Thank you !

We all do look forward to welcomeing you soon again !

Best regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Hotel Storchen was at the end of a a two week trek across Europe for us so, perhaps my average assessment of the property is relative and a reflection of having stayed at some very extraordinary places during our trip. The pros of this hotel are first and foremost the location. Right in the heart of the old city and on the water, it's close to everything. Other great features included a lovely breakfast and the rooms have well-renovated bathrooms. Like other reviewers, we stayed during Zuri Fascht --- what a wild event that is (and well-described by M-man11)! The hotel staff were kind enough to write to let us know we'd have difficulty getting to the hotel by taxi during the event, so we were prepared for a walk from the train station. We took a taxi part of the way and walked the final couple of blocks.

The biggest con for me was the price/quality ratio. Again, given the timing of our stay we were prepared for high prices and smaller room accommodations, but I found that the 500 SF price tag for the very small room with average decor just didn't add up for me. It left me feeling like I'd overpaid for what I got, even with the consideration of a major city, high season, water view, etc... The second con was an experience we had with one of the staff. We had just arrived and were looking for a place inside to have a drink. We went to the second floor to see if there was a bar area. A woman who appeared to be running the restaurant very quickly and in an unpleasant manner shooed us away and made it very clear we were not welcome. Perhaps she had many people wandering in from the street with the festival, but regardless her demeanour was rude and she was unhelpful or friendly once she knew we were hotel guests simply looking for a glass of wine. It wasn't a huge deal, but as a first experience upon checking in didn't leave us feeling particularly welcome.

Overall, my assessment is that this is a hotel in a great location with small rooms and average accommodations.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stacey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, General Manager at Storchen Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear Guest

thank you very much for your Rating and your comments which i appreciate very much. Indeed the Zurifest Weekend is totally out of the normal and fortunately for us only every three years as we are really in the heart of all festivities with all disadvantages ....not many advantages.

Thank you indeed and all the best

Regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Old world elegance sums up Storchen. Before you even enter the porter addresses you by name. I prefer floor 5 rooms with awnings and balcony, but the best views are on the opposite side facing the canal. All the beds have electrically adjustable mattresses and very importantly all have clearly marked US/Canada 110v outlets in both the bath and atop the desk. You won't see that anywhere else in Switzerland. Afternoon tea is served in the quiet lounge/library with over stuffed wing chairs and coffee tables, or outside on the Wienplatz itself under an umbrella. Excellent Food is served in the Rotisserie where again you have a choice of indoor or terrace dining on a beautiful rooftop of the pedestrian causeway running the length of the hotel overlooking the canal. At night it can't be beat - the view is stunning and food first rate. i would never think of staying anywhere else when visiting Zurich. This was at least my tenth stay. Storchen is small but the ambiance and location rate #1 with me.

Room Tip: While I love a balcony with table and chairs, you will have better views from the opposite side faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swissdiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, General Manager at Storchen Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear Guest

thank you so much for your loyalty and fidelity. Your kind words make us move forward every day in order to give our best to satisfy the needs and wishes of our beloved guests.

Best regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Baur au Lac
#2 of 138 in Zurich
743 reviews
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#5 of 138 in Zurich
521 reviews
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Dolder Grand
#6 of 138 in Zurich
1,110 reviews
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#23 of 138 in Zurich
947 reviews
Park Hyatt Zurich
#4 of 138 in Zurich
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Storchen Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storchen Zurich

Address: Weinplatz 2, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Zurich
#3 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#4 Business Hotel in Zurich
#7 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $440 - $745 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Storchen Zurich 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Storchen Zürich is a traditional first class establishment with 67 stylishly elegant rooms and suites in the heart of the old city. Whether at the reception, at the Conciergerie, in the Rôtisserie or on the Terrasse, in the classical Storchen Bar, in our trendy Barchetta, in the Boulevard Café or even in our elegant hotel lobby, our long tradition of hospitality, together with our warm and personal service, can be enjoyed throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Storchen Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storchen Zurich Hotel
Summit Zurich
Hotel Zum Storchen a Summit
zürich Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing