We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Preferred hotel for business traveller”
Review of Storchen Zurich

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Storchen Zurich
Ranked #5 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I am regularly in Zurich on business and only ever stay at the Storchen. They have outstanding service, are very friendly and have a personal approach to the guests. The hotel staff go out of their way to ensure I have all that I need and ask for. In my opinion this is the best hotel in Switzerland.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, General Manager at Storchen Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear guest

thank you so much for your charming rating and we are very happy to be your preferred hotel in Zurich - even in Switzerland. Of course it is not just praise but also a big responsability and a daily challenge to continue with our good performance.

Thank you again and all the best to you and your family and we look forward to welcomeing you again in the Storchen.

Jörg Arnold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (790)
There are newer reviews for Storchen Zurich
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

428 - 434 of 790 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2013

It took a while for coming back to this hotel and the upgrading of the bathrooms (albeit very small) makes this charming, centrally located and good serviced Hotel the ideal place to stay when visiting Zuerich. Walking distance to virtually all things interesting in Zuerich (including shopping and Financial Institutions), mid range on the higher end of pricing and picturesque location, guarantee a nice stay. The only thing to fault is the "overefficient" service when organizing a taxi cab to the Airport which ended in an overrated price tag for me when I found out at the airport that the rate is "fixed" with the Hotel and not on meter. I travelled at light traffic and was at not time at the airport. I would have paid much less paying by meter. Concierge Service in my view is obliged to tell the guest about such arrangements. This was not done. A bit wicked and left a sore aftertaste.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank joyouslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Guest

thank you very much for your rating and your kind words. Thank you also for the note about the taxi service which will make necessary a chat with the concierge in order to make sure the guest is well informed and is able to choose himself.

Have a great time and we are looking forward to welcomeing you again in the Storchen.

Jörg Arnold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Hotel Storchen is literally located in the middle of the city of Zurich. Check in was quiet quick and friendly. Our luggage was carried to our room while we took a walk through the city. The rooms are a little out of style and with carpet floors, but still they have their very own luxury charm and the view out of the window is just breathtaking.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank xavier h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Guest

thank you very much for your rating. We do renovate our rooms on a continuous basis and you are right that we keep up with the carpets, as we believe in the more comfort for our guests. This of yourse implys the perfect care of hygiene which we take very seriously.

Best regards and all the best to you

Jörg Arnold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Ideal position on the Limmat River. Ask for a water view. The furnishings are lovely. All the staff were welcoming and friendly. The food at both breakfast and dinner was quite good. Definitely on the list for a return visit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maeve32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear guest

thank you very much for your kind words and we are happy to have our hotelsname on your list for a next visit.

Have a wonderful time and best regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for one night nice room and bathroom, fantastic view ,fabulous breakfast and nice coffee shop on ground floor, excellent position for shops and restaurants - a very traditional welcoming hotel right in the centre of the city. Excellent concierge and reception staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VAP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Guest

thank you very much for your kind rating and we are motivated to get better every day.

Warm regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

On a business trip, stayed here just one night. Very nice hotel, friendly staff and convenient location. Room was just right. The breakfast was nice with freshly squeezed orange juice and a nice spread of fruit and baked goods.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vedicseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your kind rating. It is a great pleasure and motivation receiving such a judgement of a well traveled man.

I wish you all the best and kind regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

In previous visits to Zurich we have always admired The Storchen's excellent location on the river in the old town, and we resolved to stay at the Stork's Nest when we planned a short break to take in the New Year holiday. We found the hotel to be the most fabulous and friendly establishment with great food and amenities, and all of the staff went out of their way to make our stay the most enjoyable experience.
We would have no hesitation in recommending the Storchen to anyone thinking of staying in Zurich, and my wife and I are very much looking forward to our next visit.
Shaun Smith

Room Tip: We found our room with a view overlooking the river to be very comfortable and relaxing.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shaun s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joergarnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Mr and Mrs Smith

thank you so much for your kind words and it is always our great pleasure to give our best and see that people like you honour our efforts.

Warm regards

Jörg Arnold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#4 of 138 in Zurich
483 reviews
Baur au Lac
#2 of 138 in Zurich
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#11 of 138 in Zurich
881 reviews
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#21 of 138 in Zurich
826 reviews
Park Hyatt Zurich
#10 of 138 in Zurich
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Storchen Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storchen Zurich

Address: Weinplatz 2, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Zurich
#4 Business Hotel in Zurich
#5 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#7 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $438 - $790 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Storchen Zurich 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Storchen Zürich is a traditional first class establishment with 67 stylishly elegant rooms and suites in the heart of the old city. Whether at the reception, at the Conciergerie, in the Rôtisserie or on the Terrasse, in the classical Storchen Bar, in our trendy Barchetta, in the Boulevard Café or even in our elegant hotel lobby, our long tradition of hospitality, together with our warm and personal service, can be enjoyed throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Storchen Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storchen Zurich Hotel
Summit Zurich
Hotel Zum Storchen a Summit
zürich Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing