We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel, Perfect location,Professional , friendly staff”
Review of Hotel St. Gotthard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel St. Gotthard
Ranked #31 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is my second visit to the Hotel. The location is two streets away from the train station and is a beautiful area for shopping ( Prada, Hermes, etc) and there are many restaurants very near the lake. Both experiences were amazing. At check in , I was welcomed and remembered by the same front desk woman. She was very professional and responded with a yes to all of my request. (I needed an early check in as I was attending Art basel and also requested a larger room than originally booked) She also made wonderful restaurant suggestions on my previous trip. I am a hotel owner in NYC and hope that my staff is as pleasant and accomodating as she was.

Room Tip: Higher floors and request a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msa821, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Eli B,

thank you for your great comments on Tripadivsor. We are glad to forward your motivating words to our staff.

Looking forward to welcoming you again during your next stay in Zürich.

with our best regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (988)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

614 - 620 of 988 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013

What I like:

Location
The hotel is right above H&M shops and located on the main shopping Street across the hotel are Starbucks, Swatch, Swarovski..etc. No need to take taxi to anywhere. From the airport, take a train to Zurich HB or tram, a very short walk from the stations.

Room
Room is average but ample size. Nothing spectacular about. Its ok for us as we spent most of the time exploring the city.

F&B
We didn't try any at hotel as there are so many options in the neighborhood. :)

What to improve
Nothing really major. We didn't expect a lot anyway.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank araiwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msa821, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear araiwa,

thank you for your kind comment on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you liked our location and hope to welcome you again during your next stay in Zürich.

with our best regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

When we arrived here there was some slight confusion with our booking (made by phone on boxing day) The receptionist overcame the problem and put us in an upgraded room. Very good response and service.
We didn't eat at the hotel because whilst the food looked very nice it was beyond our end of vacation budget.
This is a very professional hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msa821, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Mr. Artsman,

thank you for your kind comment on Tripadvisor. We are very glad, that you liked our service and hope to welcome you again during your next trip to Zürich.

with our best regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

People think from just seeing the pictures the hotel must be a very modern one, but the staff was very unmotivated, the bathrooms where very old, si that's why we had to change our room 3 times to get okay with the siatuation.they didn't even got your packages.
So we ordered a luxury double room and the first time they tried us to get a smaller room eben if we had paid for the bigger one.
For this money we paid, it was really not worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherinekelevra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msa821, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Catherinekelevra,

thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor. We apologize that our service did not reach your expectations. Hotel St. Gotthard is more than 120 year old, but in several stepps we refurbished all our rooms an also bathrooms during the last 3 years.

thank you for your constructive comments. They help us to improve.

with our best regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Just a 2 minute walk from the Zurich HB train station, this hotels location couldn't be more convenient. It's also on a street that connects to the Zurich lake (short walk) and has many great shops and cafes! We enjoyed our stay - only negatives were the water pressure on the shower was terrible and the quality of the food that we ordered from room service was average.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msa821, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Dear Wendy K,

thank your for your comment on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you liked our location. Thank also for you comments about water pressure and room service, you help us to improve our service.

with our best regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

got off the train, found the Bahnhofstrasse easily enough, walked down it one block (with our luggage) and there it was. Easy as pie. No cabs, no hassles, convenient. Fifth floor room, on the corner. windows when closed made it sound proof. Well equipped, modern, nice design. What could be better after an overnight to Zurich. In the very heart of Zurich, no need for cabs, trams, etc. Just walk out the door to great shops, the lake a few blocks away, great shopping. And even a Starbucks across the street if you need it. This was great hotel to start the holiday. We were very pleased.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank realproperty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msa821, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Dear realproperty,

thank you very much for your kind comment. We are glad that you liked our location and the hotel.

we hope to welcome you again during your next trip to Zürich

With our best regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Had a great stay. Everything was perfect from the moment we walked into the moment we left. From our shopping package to the room itself, to breakfast in the morning, the staff were courteous, professional, and interested in us.

I would highly recommend the St. Gotthard!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FihnRamsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msa821, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear FihnRamsey,

thank you for your kind comments on Tripadvisor. We are very glad that you liked your stay with us and with pleasure we forward your comments to our staff.

with our best regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
#45 of 137 in Zurich
400 reviews
Hotel Glockenhof
#24 of 137 in Zurich
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Plaza Hotel
#52 of 137 in Zurich
702 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 137 in Zurich
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Gotthard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Gotthard

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 87, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Zurich
#27 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#31 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#38 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $204 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Gotthard 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel St. Gotthard, built in 1889, has been owned and managed by the Manz family for over a century. Recently refurbished, modernized and enlarged with great attention to details, it can be considered a true architectural achievement in itself and one of the leading business hotels today in Zurich. The five-floor building provides a free Wireless Internet access for all 143 spacious rooms, including 11 Suites. With its three restaurants and the newly designed Lobby and Front Desk area, the Hotel St. Gotthard meets all the expectations of the demanding traveler. The Hotel lies directly in the heart of the city, located on the world famous Bahnhofstrasse, within 10 minutes walk from sightseeing, the business district and Lake Zurich. Caspar Manz, the founder’s grandson, established the famous Lobster and Oyster Bar in 1935 and since then it has been a culinary institution amongst gastronomic circles. Pleasant piano live music will welcome you for your aperitif at the Lobby Bar and will accompany you through the evening. The hotel also has 5 state of the art conference rooms with a capacity of up to 100 people for successful meetings and elegant receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cancelon, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel St. Gotthard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Gotthard
St Gotthard zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing