We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel St. Gotthard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel St. Gotthard
Ranked #26 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

My mother and I stayed here for a brief (30 hour) stay in Zurich 3/9-3/10. The hotel space was very modern and the room was large and well-appointed. Check-in was quick and easy and the receptionists were very friendly and helpful. At night, one of the dimming lights in the room was giving us trouble and someone was there to fix it within 2 minutes of us calling. Our flight the following day was not until 5pm and the staff at the hotel allowed us to have a late check-out at 2pm. Besides being an accommodating hotel, the location of this hotel is excellent. It is extremely close to the train station, has several bus lines right in front of the entrance, and is on Banhofstrasse with great sights and shopping within walking distance. The cafe on site was also nice. Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephanieD311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msa821, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear StephanieD311,

thank you very much for your kind comment on Tripadvisor. We are very glad that you liked our service and location.

with our best regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    289
    120
    38
    25
See reviews for
161
256
48
290
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fulda, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Whilst staying in the hotel for business reasons I definitely would consider the hotel for a private trip as well as the location is absolutely central but still reasonable priced. I had a quite small room, however, it appeared new, was absolutely clean and had a nice bathroom. Being just a few steps away from the main railway station the hotel is a very good starting point for any kind of business meeting or for exploring the city when being there for leisure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msa821, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Peter A.

thank you for your kind comment on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you liked our location and the new refurbished rooms and bathrooms and we hope to welcome you again during your next trip to Zürich.

with our best regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
305 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

We selected St. Gotthard hotel for our short stayin Zurich for two reasons. First location , second their quick response for our request for bigger room to accommodate three persons because we were traveling with the kid.
The price was not small but it was not a rip off.
We were not disappointed by our choice. Room was big, overlooking central Bahnhof strasse.
Lo ation was perfect. Breakfast was more then sufficient. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oleg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msa821, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Oleg K,

thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you liked our service and location and hopte to welcome you during your next trip to Zürich again.

with our best regards

M. Santschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in February. Conveniently located near train station, city centre and restaurants. My room was on the first floor above a lively restaurant/bar with noise until late in the evening. Not a good experience.

Hotel has limited facilities. No gym which in my view is a major shortcoming nowadays. Trying to find out from the hotel website what the facilities are though was not easy.

Staff were reasonably helpful but not the friendliest in the world.

Overall, I will try somewhere else next time unless I am staying for one night and want to be near the train station.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank humean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msa821, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear humean,

thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor. We are glad to know that you like our location. Unfortunatelly we have no gym, but several contacts of gyms near the hotel, where our customers can get the access.

We hope to welcome you during your next trip in Zürich, when we locate you with pleasure in a calm room, not above the busy "Manzonibar".

with our best regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Second stay ,,, and upgrades now completely finished. Nice! A good buy in Zurich where hotels can be VERY expensive. Special kudo to F&B manger, Andras, for very personalized service. Bar atorangerievery special.

Room Tip: 331..double twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarryEncinitas_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msa821, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Harry Encinitas,

thank you very much for your kind comment on Tripadvisor. We are very pleased that you likes our hotel and specially the service of our F&B Manager Andràs Papp!

we hope to welcome you soon again in our hotel and with you all the best.

with our best regards

Martin Santschi & the St. Gotthard Team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband and I had a business trip to Zurich for 3 days. We decided to stay in St. Gotthard, the location is excellent and from the web page it looked very good. But, when we arrived there was a terrible welcome on the reception. We were offered a room on the first floor, but we never stay on the 1st floor, cause of the previous experineces. Then they insisted we take a look at the room, the room was ok, but there was no views...We have asked to change the room, the girl on the reception started critisize us in german, thinking we dont understand the language, I asnwered in Egnlish that the client choose the room not the opposite. Nobody informed us about breakfast service, we did not know what does the hotel offer, if there is any gym or pool! I think its not acceptable in the hotel like this. When we were done with our meetings, we had changed the ticket and have left it one day before.In the end, we had to wait taxi to the airport more than 15 min, did not know that for the hotel in the center it might be problematic to find a taxi. The final part was really funny, the old man, who was carring our luggage, did not even asked us to come when the taxi was there, he made such a face like we were in his house without an invitation. Finally,I would never recommended this hotel to anyone of my clients. The hotel Staff should be more polite with their clients, even if they look young!!!!!!!!!Thanks to all of you for the horrible stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anastasia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msa821, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Anastasia A,

thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor and we are very sorry, that you did not like our service. You are right, as business hotel we do not have any gym or pool.

Your comments about the poor service helps us to give better training to our staff, thank you.

with our best regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

My favorite suite in my favorite hotel in Zurich - Park Hyatt was booked, so I've decided to try St.Gotthard. This hotel is famous because of it's very well known Hummer Bar and a great location in the city center.
But in case you would like to have a nice sea food dinner, you don't have to stay here. The hotel design is poor, it looks more like a village bad &breakfast accomodation then a 4*hotel in Zurich.
Some rooms and restaurants have been redecorated, but - OMG, I have not seen such a lack of taste for a long time. In a recently redecorated suite most of the technical things were not in function, and when I have asked them for help - guess what - the technician went home as he works only daytime. A confused reception clark came to my room to help, but she was less technically educated then me.
Early in the in the morning I woke up due to the in-house works performed by theri contractors. Check-out was slow and I almost was late for my flight. At the end - important to know - it's expensive. Avoid.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dilondvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msa821, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Dilondvik,

thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor. We appologize that our technical service was not efficient. We wil do all the best to improve it and hope to welcome you again during your next stay, as you liked the location.

with our best regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
#53 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Hotel Glockenhof
#32 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Adler Zurich
Hotel Adler Zurich
#17 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Central Plaza Hotel
#43 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Gotthard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Gotthard

Property: Hotel St. Gotthard
Address: Bahnhofstrasse 87, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#27 Family Hotel in Zurich
#31 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#38 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Gotthard 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel St. Gotthard, built in 1889, has been owned and managed by the Manz family for over a century. Recently refurbished, modernized and enlarged with great attention to details, it can be considered a true architectural achievement in itself and one of the leading business hotels today in Zurich. The five-floor building provides a free Wireless Internet access for all 143 spacious rooms, including 11 Suites. With its three restaurants and the newly designed Lobby and Front Desk area, the Hotel St. Gotthard meets all the expectations of the demanding traveler. The Hotel lies directly in the heart of the city, located on the world famous Bahnhofstrasse, within 10 minutes walk from sightseeing, the business district and Lake Zurich. Caspar Manz, the founder’s grandson, established the famous Lobster and Oyster Bar in 1935 and since then it has been a culinary institution amongst gastronomic circles. Pleasant piano live music will welcome you for your aperitif at the Lobby Bar and will accompany you through the evening. The hotel also has 5 state of the art conference rooms with a capacity of up to 100 people for successful meetings and elegant receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel St. Gotthard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Gotthard
St Gotthard zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing