We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic stay in Zurich thanks to our friends at St. Gotthards”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel St. Gotthard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel St. Gotthard
Ranked #25 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
1 review
“A fantastic stay in Zurich thanks to our friends at St. Gotthards”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The hotel is very well located and rooms are simply very very comfortable.
Everything is set up to ensure you have a great and restful stay.
The staff is very welcoming, nice and ready to give you very good advices on where to go. We received a lot of advices (especially by our friend Mahmoud) and we never got disappointed.
Higly reccomended.
Sergio and Mohammed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msa821, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Sergio P,

thank you very much for your kind comment on Tripadvisor. With pleasure we will inform our staff and specially Mohammed about your satisfaction.

we are looking to welcoming you soon again in the Hotel St.Gotthard fo Zürich.

with our best regards.

Martin Santschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    288
    120
    38
    25
See reviews for
160
256
48
290
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Platres, Cyprus
2 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2013

After the renovations, upgradings, and refurbishments, it is the Best hotel in Zurich. Very Clean, nice decorated rooms, excellent staff and very helpfull. i will definetely come back again and I will recommend it. Location is also perfect. Direct connection from the Airport . You can reach everything within walking distance. It is the place to be in Zurich. The staff makes you feel at home.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the Bahnhofstrasse are perfect. No noice at all as the windows are double .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newhelvetia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed here again and will return in april 2013. .
Rooms are great, desk staff are the most patient , polite and extra helpful..
Location is perfect. Close to shopping , the lake near by a great place for walking everywhere.

Room Tip: do stay here so convient an area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marden12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msa821, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Marden 12,

thank you for your kind comment on Tripadvisor and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in April.

with our best regards

Martin Santschi & the whole Hotelstaff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
181 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Zurich is a costly city and Zurich hotels are the costliest in Europe but that being said, one still expects at least some little frills for the exorbitant prices; the hotel St. Gotthard offers free internet but that is about it. The bed is very comfortable but the room is actually quite small and I banged my head on the wall mounted television set while moving about in the room. The rooms and bathrooms seem to have been recently renovated and that is the saving grace for the hotel. It is also well situated in front of the main train station and other public transport options are all very near.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GDSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msa821, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear GDSK,

thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you liked our location, the bed and the free wi-fi service.

with our best regards.

Martin Santschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
71 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The best thing that I can say about the hotel St. Gotthard is its proximity to the train station. The hotel is so plain that I walked right past the entrance. I was there for one night and really it was so average that I can only say just that. It was fine for a quick overnight stop in Zurich if you want to be close to the main shopping street and the train. Not a hotel that you want to spend anymore time then that in.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyer_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msa821, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Nyer9,

thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor and we are glad that you liked our location on the world famous Bahnhoftrasse.

with our best regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

The Hotel is in the heart of Zürich city, just 2 min from the main train station on the main shopping street. Rooms are spacious and clean, maidservice each day. Great little Italian bar downstairs. I was impressed by the fact that the porter did carry my bags :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ireland2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msa821, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Ireland2010,

thank you for your kind comment on tripadvisor. We are glad, that you liked the location and the new Italian Bar "Manzoni". We hope to welcoming you during your next stay in Zürich.

with our best regards

Martin Santschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern california
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed at the St. Gotthard after a long flight from LA and it was fine for a night. No thrills, small lobby with a very funny little bar. Beds were fine but the linens were fairly minimal and you could see through the bottom sheet to the mattress cover. As was the case everywhere we went in Europe there was no top sheet, just a duvet but they were clean and comfortable. The room was very small and we had informed them that we had three children in the second room but when we arrived there was only one bed and absolutely no room for a rollaway. We were exhausted and made do but it was not what was promised. The location is excellent. Quick walk to the train station and the area around the hotel was beautiful for strolling around the night we were there which was the day after Christmas. Zurich has done a lovely job with their holiday lights and we all enjoyed it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Igetaroundconb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msa821, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Deare Lovethelux65,

thank you for your kind comment on Tripadvisor. Wer are glad that you liked the location.
We checked again your reservation, we received through a reservation system, and unfortunatelly the information of 3 children was missing. We appologize this inconvenience.

with our best regards.

Martin Santschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
#53 of 138 in Zurich
358 reviews
Hotel Glockenhof
#28 of 138 in Zurich
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Adler Zurich
Hotel Adler Zurich
#17 of 138 in Zurich
722 reviews
Central Plaza Hotel
#43 of 138 in Zurich
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Gotthard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Gotthard

Property: Hotel St. Gotthard
Address: Bahnhofstrasse 87, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#27 Family Hotel in Zurich
#31 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#38 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Gotthard 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel St. Gotthard, built in 1889, has been owned and managed by the Manz family for over a century. Recently refurbished, modernized and enlarged with great attention to details, it can be considered a true architectural achievement in itself and one of the leading business hotels today in Zurich. The five-floor building provides a free Wireless Internet access for all 143 spacious rooms, including 11 Suites. With its three restaurants and the newly designed Lobby and Front Desk area, the Hotel St. Gotthard meets all the expectations of the demanding traveler. The Hotel lies directly in the heart of the city, located on the world famous Bahnhofstrasse, within 10 minutes walk from sightseeing, the business district and Lake Zurich. Caspar Manz, the founder’s grandson, established the famous Lobster and Oyster Bar in 1935 and since then it has been a culinary institution amongst gastronomic circles. Pleasant piano live music will welcome you for your aperitif at the Lobby Bar and will accompany you through the evening. The hotel also has 5 state of the art conference rooms with a capacity of up to 100 people for successful meetings and elegant receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel St. Gotthard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Gotthard
St Gotthard zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing