We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweltering night in Zurich”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Astor Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Ranked #12 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Zurich
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Good points first: easy tram ride from Zurich HB, very pleasant receptionists, two sinks, bath & shower in bathroom; 'kitchenette' -ie a windowless, small cubicle/ cupboard placed between the bedroom & the windowless bathroom. We only used the coffee machine as the thought of putting the hotplate on in the heat of the room was unbearable...

The rest: it was a sweltering day (32 degrees outside) but this smallish double room had no fan and windows that only opened a tiny bit. By having them open at all, the screeching noise of the tram brakes/other traffic made sleep impossible. It was so unbearably hot when we returned to the room after a meal in Zurich, that we ran totally COLD baths & took turns soaking, to cool down enough to sleep... fitfully...
Never so glad as to be out of there the next morning...
Unbelievable that no fans supplied by reception. We would have been happy to have paid for one, as would most visitors. A complimentary bottle of water in the mini-fridge would have been nice too. The local co-op sells gigantic bottles of this very cheaply, so come on Astor...

Room Tip: Can't think that any room situation would make room cooler/quieter..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gypsyinme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 135 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed here while attending a wedding over the August bank holiday. The location is good - 5 mins walk down the hill from the central station and easily accessible from the airport (we got the number 10 tram). The receptionists are friendly and helpful, providing us with a plug adaptor and more than willing to advise on directions.

However, as described here by others, these apartments are let down by the heat and noise within the rooms. There is a fan provided in the room but the room remains uncomfortably warm. And the noise? Wow! We were told to book a room facing away from the road which we did. Unfortunately, our room was subjected to unbelievably loud noise coming from the local church. Do not expect a lie in in these rooms!!

Expensive too, as everything is in Zurich!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Rorski1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed here for two nights over the week-end.

It is decently priced, but there are quite some down sides to it.
If you have a room facing the street, the noise outside of cars and trams make it diffcult to sleep through. It also gets extremly stuffy so the choice of heat or noise is not easy.

I can't understand why they don't invest in airconditioning.

The room was ok, the bed comfortable, enough space, with a small work desk, good choice of tv channels. Coffee machine is a nice touch too.

The carpet was all stained, as was the ceiling, but apart from that, very clean.

The bathroom was fine, with space and a decent shower.

An average hotel in all and good for budget travellers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This hotel is next to tram lines so its really difficult to sleep until midnight and after that mosquitos would not let you sleep. Room was ok but it was really warm. No table fan provided. Opening the window will make you feel as if sleeping on road.

Room Tip: Try to take the room which are not facing the road, dont know if they have such rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Ayushi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The room is clean, comfertable, good free wifi, short distance from old town
But, we recieved front rooms in the first floor and its un bearable
Tram, sirens, cars etc
Cant recomend it!

Room Tip: From the main train station its a long up hill walk, take tram no 7 or 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PurpleLadybug_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

The hotel is located close to Zurich Bahnof and the lake. Rooms are having kitchenettes, Nespresso machines and free Wi-Fi. Very close to the main part of town with the tram right out side our door if needed,which is both good and bad.There is no Air-conditioning or Fans in the rooms and if you open windows in night trams' noise will make if difficult to sleep. But more positive than negative and excellent staff made up for any downside.

Room Tip: Try to take room on where noise can be less.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prasoon_munich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Excellent location, very good value. Close to many restaurants, but with its own kitchenette and very near to two supermarkets. Can be a little noisy, especially if you are facing the street (and are on the first floor). Nonetheless an excellent and very reasonable choice. staff were very friendly and did their best to help, look up places and arrange any thing you need. Overall, an excellent choice for budget travellers, business people who like some additional space and families.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the front are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Visitor931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
0.1 mi away
Bristol Hotel Zurich
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#42 of 138 in Zurich
1,040 reviews
4.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Zurich-Airport
3.8 mi away
ibis Zurich Adliswil
ibis Zurich Adliswil
#1 of 1 in Adliswil
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
NH Zurich Airport
NH Zurich Airport
#5 of 10 in Opfikon
985 reviews
2.1 mi away
Swissotel Zurich
Swissotel Zurich
#35 of 138 in Zurich
2,303 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hilton Zurich Airport
Hilton Zurich Airport
#2 of 10 in Opfikon
2,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor Hotel & Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor Hotel & Serviced Apartments

Address: Weinbergstrasse 44, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Zurich
Price Range: $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Astor Hotel & Serviced Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Astor Hotel & Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Hotel And Serviced Apartments
Astor Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing