We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (698)
Filter reviews
698 results
Traveler rating
223
308
104
44
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
223
308
104
44
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold towngreat locationcobblestone streetstrain stationrestaurants and barshotel is locatedbreakfast roomair conditioningcold cutsyogurtstayed nightsjunior suitereception staffwonderful hotelbreakfast was includedfonduestreet noise
Filter
Updating list...
440 - 445 of 698 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2009

This hotel is located in the middle of the old town section of town. We were there for the Street Parade and the hotel was close to the parade route. It is an easy walk to the train station and most other central attractions.

The bed was large and comfortable. Since there is no air conditioning, we had the windows open at all times. Even though our window overlooked the square, we did not have any trouble sleeping. The front desk was polite and efficient. Due to our currency shock (bad exchange rate), we had the complimentary breakfast every morning and considered it a valuable service and it was expansive and delicious.

Our only complaint was the lack of free Wifi.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2009

Great location and helpful staff, but the hotel decor is rather tired. When we were there the air con was switched off because the reception was being refurbished - something we were not made aware of in advance (temperatures hitting 30 C plus) and no discount offered. The hotel begrudged leaving a bottle of water in the room, ran out of English Breakfast Tea and had no fresh milk (UHT only). There wasn't a single manager in sight to complain to. This hotel might make an average 3 star, but it is misleading to say it is 4 star.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chr1spy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2009

This hotel has a pretty location facing a square of the old town and directly on the main old town pedestrian street. The area is very lively at nights which in Zurich is a plus, considering the dull cementery atmosphere of the city after work time and weekends.
Although the hotel has no lobby, for its cathegory the rooms are comfortable, the breakfast buffet is very good and the breakfast terrace is atractive and relaxing.
Room's furniture is of typical swiss excentric modernistic style ( not for every taste ) but everything works perfectly and conveniently for a business trip.
The big drawback of this hotel in summer is that they have no air conditioning, which is unacceptable for their pretended cathegory and rates. Only suites include an internal roll-away small air conditioner which never manages to lower the room temperature below 26 centrigrades.
Resuming : a nice location, a charming little hotel, conveniently outfitted but too hot in summer to sleep and work comfortably.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guillermohoter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2009

Good location, Good rooms, Good breakfast. As a European traveler who goes to centrally located but not ridiculously expensive hotels, this was one of my best stays. Near food, shopping, nightlife.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeoBeraCai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2009

The Wellenberg is a nice hotel in the middle of Zurich’s Old Town. The location is superb, with many restaurants and bars located within a few minutes’ walk. Travelers can easily walk to the major tourist attractions and Zurich’s business district.

The hotel is in an old building that has been well maintained and the interior has been renovated. The Wellenberg is rated as four-star but is by no means luxurious and, in my view, would be more attractive to tourists than to business travelers. The lobby is tiny and workmanlike, having only two small easy chairs, which makes it inconvenient to meet any visitor at the hotel. The hotel is located in a pedestrian-only zone, so it is impossible to drive a car to the hotel to unload luggage. Parking is available in the area. The receptionist guided me to a parking garage on Uraniastrasse, about a brisk five-minute walk from the hotel. That was not particularly inconvenient for me, as I had only two small rolling cases, but family travelers with children and lots of luggage might struggle.

The rooms are small (my standard room was about 20 square meters) but well-equipped and clean. The bathroom was compact but modern. Internet access is available, but at an extra charge (one of my pet peeves).

The breakfast, which is included in the room rate, was somewhat disappointing. Unlike the customary largesse that one finds at many hotels in German-speaking areas, the breakfast offerings at the Wellenberg were limited. There was a limited selection of fresh fruit and the fruit salad came from a can. The cheeses were individual packets in shrink wrap containers that are a struggle to open. There was a decent selection of breakfast meats, but few bread offerings. Cereals were offered, but only boiled eggs (either hard-boiled or soft-boiled eggs); to be precise, one could order fried or scrambled eggs for an extra charge (9 or 10 CHF). The breakfast room was comfortable and in addition there is a charming outdoor terrace with a bubbling fountain in the middle. During my stay in Zurich, the weather cooperated and I enjoyed having breakfast on the terrace.

Travelers should note that the hotel is not air-conditioned. In Zurich’s normal temperate climate, that is not a problem, but I suspect the rooms could be uncomfortable during warm and sunny weather.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silverbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews