We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, Charming, Central...and tad bit trendy”
Review of Hotel Wellenberg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Wellenberg
Ranked #52 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Southern Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Small, Charming, Central...and tad bit trendy”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I had a wonderful weekend stay at the Wellenberg. It is located in the "good" end of the old Town Walking street. Good being further down towards the lake. In my book the restaurants and even some of the smallish hotels at the begining of the Walking street are a bit touristy and boring. The wellenburg is on a small Square so it gets much more light. And it has 2 lifts so no conking up and down multiple flts of stairs. Updated rooms with all the little things that makes for a nice stay. Give it a try...you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: 508 was good and had a funky view over the rooftops up to the University
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BradleyMrFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    282
    85
    43
    16
See reviews for
150
224
47
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

A very comfortable and well-equipped hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful, breakfasts very good. Room clean and comfortable. It is a short walk down to the river and lake, or uphill to the Kunsthaus. The railway station is within walkable distance if you only have cabin luggage. Lots of cobbled streets and atmosphere. Area perhaps more like Prague, architecturally, than Geneva, or Montreux.

Room Tip: If you overlook the square outside there is a possibility of disturbance from people going home in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlandeWalden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Best for location and cleanliness as well as free Wifi. The room was very comfortable. Lots of things to do within walking distance and trams are close by for visiting further afield. Only downside was that the room was very hot and opening windows allowed noisy party-goers to disturb my sleep

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

In the heart of old Zurich, close to university and uni library. Rooms are a little tired and a bit spartan for international standards (I cannot recognize my room on the photos on the website). My bathroom was so tight that it was difficult to manoeuvre. Breakfast was good, nice choice with more of a Continental European touch (cheese, meats, breads, some fruit). A bit more choice around Swiss specialties would have been nice (joghurts, mueslis.......). Staff friendly throughout, and helpful.

Room Tip: The old quarter is loud - the last open air bars close past midnight - choose the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sol500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Wellenberg for one night at the conclusion of our 8 night trip to Italy and Switzerland. All in my party of four found the hotel pleasant, clean and comfortable...which is to say in keeping with Swiss standards! Our room was spacious, with a wall of windows overlooking a small square. There were numerous shops and restaurants within steps of the lobby, but unfortunately, Zurich seemed to close down just as we arrived. The waterfront was a block or so away, and the entire area surrounding the hotel was was walkable. We enjoyed the full breakfast buffet, which included many hot and cold selections. Checkout was quick and easy.

The only slight issue was due to our arrival via car. It is not possible to drive directly to the hotel, so I had to drop off my wife and our other travel mates a few blocks away. We felt harried as the road had a tram line, and we didn't want to cause a traffic jam. Ultimately, no big deal, but travelers should be ready for it! Also, there was no parking available through the hotel. I found a public lot a few blocks away in what surely was an underground bomb shelter...complete with blast doors!!

Hotel Wellenberg is an excellent choice for staying in Zurich. I wish we had more time to enjoy it!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location, very central. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good with plenty to choice from.
My only complaint would be that they offer tea and coffee facilities in the room but they gave us one tea bag, no coffee and no milk. We did ask if we could have some but we never got any.
We don't think we got a deluxe room as booked the room was quite small and overlooked someone's balcony.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jordy1536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Very fast, efficient check in. Helpful and welcoming receptionist. Hotel was spotless, bathroom was updated and super clean, room didnt have a fridge or climate control but all other facilites - and FREE WIFI! Have free luggage storage, even if you are going on a side trip and want to leave things behind.

Room Tip: Good hotel with good service
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giovani f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#17 of 139 in Zurich
761 reviews
Old Town
Marktgasse Hotel
Marktgasse Hotel
#50 of 139 in Zurich
160 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 139 in Zurich
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Glockenhof
#31 of 139 in Zurich
452 reviews
Hotel St. Gotthard
#32 of 139 in Zurich
923 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#3 of 139 in Zurich
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wellenberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wellenberg

Property: Hotel Wellenberg
Address: Niederdorfstrasse 10, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#43 Family Hotel in Zurich
#55 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wellenberg 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Wellenberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellenberg Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing