We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Middle of the road hotel in Zurich with very helpful, friendly and efficient staff”
Review of Hotel Wellenberg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Wellenberg
Ranked #54 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Montreux, Switzerland
Level Contributor
142 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Middle of the road hotel in Zurich with very helpful, friendly and efficient staff”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Randomly picked for its location, ti served its purpose very well. It strength is its staff at the reception particularly Kathrin and Humma. Some of the rooms are a little tired but the basics are properly catered for, clean towels, soap, toiletries. Breakfast is adequate in variety and plentiful in quantity and the coffee machine works well. The location is far enough without being too far from the centre which makes for a really nice walk into town. Worth considering for its location and the helpful staff. Rooms are being upgraded and need to be so. Also lower floor rooms tend to be a little noisy on a Friday night but that will apply to all hotels in the area. A nice touch is the plentiful supply of apples at the entrance and the water fountain. Taxis do indeed come straight to the front door.

Room Tip: ask for the newly refurbished rooms on the fourth floor. ask for room on high floor as it can get n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LEONIDAS L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Wellenberg, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Leonidas
Thank you very much for your terrific feedback and kind words.
We have shared your feedback with the entire team and Kathrin and Huma in particular want to thank you very much and are sending their best regards to you. You were very plesant guests and it was a pleasure to them to assist you last weekend.
We hope to welcome you back in the future and want to let you know that we are continuely doing renovations in order to present you the hotel in the most comfortable way.
We wish you all the best in the meantime.
Best regards from Zürich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    279
    85
    42
    15
See reviews for
147
221
46
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I am staying at this hotel as we speak. I was lured there by the professional photos on their website and on TripAdvisor. Unfortunately, my room looks absolutely NOTHING like the photos shown. The website shows colorful, modern suites smartly decorated; my room reminds me of my Italian aunts' apartments in downtown Newark from the 1970s - color scheme and all. Although I'm on a non-smoking floor, the hallway reeks of smoke and my room smells musty and, actually, like stale cigarettes. Luckily, I'm only here for a night and, luckily, the hotel has a great central location, free Wi-Fi, and an amazingly appointed library. I only wish they decided to extend the modernity beyond the library walls.

This hotel is a testament to "you get what you pay for". It's priced lower than average and the experience is lower than average.

Room Tip: Get a big room; the small ones look like they're out of a cruise ship.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Wellenberg, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Joel
First of all I like to thank you for your honest feedback.
As you saw alreday on our webpage and on Tripadvisor we do have different categories in our hotel. As more rooms are already refurbished our online presence shows more Deluxe than Standard rooms. We are in the continous process of renovation and I will check with the agent that the pictures related to the reserved rooms willl reflect these as best as possible. We are a very individual hotel and our rooms are all very unique.
Despite we did not meet your expectaitions this time we hope to welcome you back in the future in one of our renovated Deluxe rooms and want to apologize for any inconvenience caused.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We chose Hotel Wellenberg through our travel agent and were pleasantly surprised. The breakfast at the hotel had the standard spread, but the quality of the food was higher than what you would usually expect (I would recommend the bircher muesli and the eggs). The room was fairly spacious with a king size bed and a fold out sofa. The bed quality and the linen was luxurious. If I could I would have taken the bed and linen home with us. The hotel is within 10 minute walk from the train station, there are several eateries in close proximity. Adlers Swiss Chuchi is next door, which does great fondue. The general area isn't a family area (more for couples and business people), but our five year old was fine and staff were very welcoming. While we would usually feel insecure in foreign cities, the general area felt very safe. We walked from the train station to the hotel at 8pm in the dark and it was fine.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JonnyRocks25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin W, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Wellenberg, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Johny and family

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback and kind words.

We are more than happy to share it within the entire team and also with the management. We appreciate that you could see, feel and taste the quality of our products.

We hope to welcome you one day back and send our warmest regards from Zurich to New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This hotel is very well located. The Christmas markets were open while we were there and they were literally right outside. The hotel was clean and rooms were good. It was an easy walk to the station and the bahnhofstrasse.
Despite other reviews indicating that taxis don't drive up to the hotel, our taxi dropped us at the front door and collected us there again at the end of our stay.
The breakfast buffet wasn't the best we've had but it was ok. The staff weren't hugely efficient and helpful.
Basically good value in a good location.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya Christie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin W, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Wellenberg, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Tanya Christie W

First of all we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your stay and taking your time to give us this valuable feedback.

We are sorry to hear that our breakfast buffet and the service did not meet your expectations. Please be assured, that we do train our staff to be helpful and as efficient as possible.

Once again thank you for your comment and clarifying that taxis can drive up in front of the hotel :). We hope to welcome you again in the future and wish you all the best.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conception Bay South, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed at the Wellenberg from Oct. 14 to Oct. 18, 2013. This hotel, an excellent location in Old Town, is within walking distance to many attractions and the train station. What we loved about this hotel is that it is very very clean. The room (junior suite) was spacious and had comfortable furniture (bed, sofa, chairs, etc.) The hotel also had a spacious library where we used to sit and relax after touring around. They also provided a great breakfast every morning. I can not say enough about the staff at the front desk. They were professional, friendly and very helpful. When our flight was delayed due to a strike in Rome, they contacted the airlines and hotel in Rome to get information for us. Very helpful indeed. A special thanks to K and H at the front desk. Hopefully we will see you again soon on our next visit to Zurich.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin W, Manager at Hotel Wellenberg, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear guest
We would like to thank you for your kind words about your stay with us and wish you a happy new year belately.
Of course we shared your feedback with all of our team (especially with K and H) to encourage us every day!
Hope we see us soon back in Zurich. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

The location was great for exploring the older and central parts of Zurich. We had a room for four (2 adults and 2 teenagers) which was one of the reasons we went for this hotel as getting a two bed room suite is cost prohibitive on family budget so value I think is very good for this city having spent many hours looking. There are cheaper but further out of town. All staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast very nice with a good variety and options. While TV viewing was not what we came here for and I get English is not the major language but there were over a 100 channels on offer and not one in English not even one movie channel or BBC news or the like.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor and had a window with a lovely terrace right outside. Not bad in winter as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin W, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Wellenberg, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Andrew
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay in our hotel. We are happy to hear that you and family enjoyed your time in Zurich.
Regarding the TV channels we like to inform you that we do have around 20 englisch speaking channels for news and leisure. We would have been happy to assist you with these as they are starting after the german speaking ones. In total we are offering channels in more than 10 languages for our international guests.
We hope that we can welcome you and your family back soon and wish you for the meantime all the best!
Kindest Regards - Your Hotel Wellenberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

The hotel is located in the heart of the old town and many sights are nearby. Trendy stores surround this hotel and good cafes and restaurants nearby. However, do note that you can't drive up to the hotel as it is situated along a walking street. If you have heavy luggages, I would suggest that you deposit the luggage at the railway station and just bring along what you need. To push your luggages on the pebbled street is a toll on your arms.

We arrived very early in the morning (around 8am) and the room was not ready but the receptions were very kind to let us know of a fabulous cafe round the corner and they will call us when the room was ready to check in. It was drizzling but the hotel loans umbrellas to guests for free.

The room we stayed was recently re-furnbished but the room size was a little tight. Bathrrom was very small and you will get water everywhere when you shower. Since it is located in the old part of town, buildings are really close. Therefore it is important to draw the curtains before you sleep or change as the neighbours have a good view of what's going on in the room.

Breakfast menu is comprehensive and the food quality is good. Fruits are also offered at breakfast.

Room Tip: The hotel offer quads. The quad room has 2 double beds and one is converted from the sofa beds. For...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peitoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin W, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Wellenberg, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Peitoh
Thank you very much for your kind feedback and being our guest.
We just want to inform you that cars and taxis can drive in front of the hotel for check in and unloding. There are taxis at the train station available or the tram which brings you in a couple of minutes close to the hotel as carrying the luggage is often a struggle. Thank you for the thought.
We hope to be able to welcome you back one day and wish you the best in the meantime.
Seasons Greetings from Zurich - Your Hotel Wellenberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#17 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Old Town
Marktgasse Hotel
Marktgasse Hotel
#52 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Hotel Glockenhof
#27 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Hotel Alexander
#40 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Hotel St. Gotthard
#33 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wellenberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wellenberg

Property: Hotel Wellenberg
Address: Niederdorfstrasse 10, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#43 Family Hotel in Zurich
#55 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wellenberg 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Wellenberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellenberg Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing