We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Wellenberg
Nearby Hotels
$218
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$281
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bristol Hotel Zurich(Zurich)(Great Value!)
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$271
$198
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$410
$291
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Montana(Zurich)(Great Value!)
$236
$156
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$329
$257
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Alexander(Zurich)
$172
$148
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Baur au Lac(Zurich)
$709
$661
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (663)
Filter reviews
663 results
Traveler rating
209
296
98
42
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
209
296
98
42
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold towngreat locationcobblestone streetsrestaurants and barstrain stationhotel is locatedstay there againbreakfast roomair conditioningcold cutsten minute walkyogurtwonderful hotelfriendly hotelreception stafflarge roomtop floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
272 - 277 of 663 reviews
Reviewed December 24, 2013

The hotel is located in the heart of the old town and many sights are nearby. Trendy stores surround this hotel and good cafes and restaurants nearby. However, do note that you can't drive up to the hotel as it is situated along a walking street. If you have heavy luggages, I would suggest that you deposit the luggage at the railway station and just bring along what you need. To push your luggages on the pebbled street is a toll on your arms.

We arrived very early in the morning (around 8am) and the room was not ready but the receptions were very kind to let us know of a fabulous cafe round the corner and they will call us when the room was ready to check in. It was drizzling but the hotel loans umbrellas to guests for free.

The room we stayed was recently re-furnbished but the room size was a little tight. Bathrrom was very small and you will get water everywhere when you shower. Since it is located in the old part of town, buildings are really close. Therefore it is important to draw the curtains before you sleep or change as the neighbours have a good view of what's going on in the room.

Breakfast menu is comprehensive and the food quality is good. Fruits are also offered at breakfast.

Room Tip: The hotel offer quads. The quad room has 2 double beds and one is converted from the sofa beds. For an asian family, the room size is ample but I think for caucasians, it may be a litle small.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peitoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin W, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Wellenberg, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Peitoh
Thank you very much for your kind feedback and being our guest.
We just want to inform you that cars and taxis can drive in front of the hotel for check in and unloding. There are taxis at the train station available or the tram which brings you in a couple of minutes close to the hotel as carrying the luggage is often a struggle. Thank you for the thought.
We hope to be able to welcome you back one day and wish you the best in the meantime.
Seasons Greetings from Zurich - Your Hotel Wellenberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

While the hotel staff was very friendly the overall appearance and condition of the room was disappointing. Apparently certain rooms have been updated while others are still reminiscent of 1980. My room had carpet that was badly in need of replacing and sea green tile covering the floor and walls of the bathroom. However the location was ideal.

Room Tip: Request an updated room
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin W, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Wellenberg, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Dear Patricia
Thank you very much for your time and feedback.
First of all we appreciated your kind words regarding our hotel staff and are happy to pass it along the team.
Regarding your room we like to inform you that we do have different categories - Standard and Deluxe. You have choosen the Standard category which has not been renovated.
We hope to welcome you in the future in one of our renovated rooms and wish you all the best in the meantime.
Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

The Hotel Wellenberg is in the heart of the Alt Stadt (Old City) of Zurich. It also only a 5 minute walk from the central train station and the trendy Banhoffstrasse. I find that Zurich is an amazing city for walking and people watching and there is no better place for that than the Old City. The hotel is comfortable, reasonably priced and the staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiaOra97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Wellenberg, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear guest
We would like to thank you for your kind feedback and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Zurich with us.
We would be delighted to welcome you soon again at our Hotel Wellenberg.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Yes Switzerland is expensive.

However this hotel is ideally located in the centre of the Old Town very close to a lot of restaurants and bars.

All the staff were very friendly and helpful. My room was quite big, warm, clean and comfortable.

Wifi was ok. Only gripe was that coffee wasn't provided with the tea in the room.

The breakfast was good with hot and cold selections.

Room Tip: There are proper keys to the rooms. Just be careful when you leave the rooms that you lock the door securely.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NigelHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Wellenberg, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear valued sir
Thank you very much indeed for your recent review.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time in Zurich and the hotel depsite the quite high price structure in Zurich. Certainly it is an absolute fortunate location to stay.
We are happy to note down that you missed coffee beside the tea in the room and are happy to discuss it. Regarding the proper keys in the rooms many guests will be thankful for your advice.
We wish you all the best and hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Excellent hotel, very well managed, clean and modern. Staff was always helpful and smiley. Location is great, steps away from many restaurants, nice small shops and central train station. Street is quiet. Breakfast is good. Rooms are nice, very big for European standards and spotless clean. The hotel has a beautiful modern decoration. Definitely recommended! It was the best hotel during my stay in Switzerland.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GPSfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin W, Front Office Manager at Hotel Wellenberg, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear valued family
Thank you for your extremely great review in the name of all the staff.
We are performing daily with passion and are delighted to be recognized of that. Your absolutely kind words are motivating and we are very thankful.
We hope to welcome you and your family back one day and wish you all the best in the meantime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews