We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great location”
Review of Hotel Wellenberg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Wellenberg
Ranked #56 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in July. It is located in the center of old town close to shopping and lots of different restraunts. The rooms are very large and have a modern decore. I found the hotel very clean and the staff was friendly and accommodating. The only issue I had was no air conditioning, it made the warm July night's a little uncomfortable. The outside terrace with the fountain made up for the lack of A/C. If your coming from the train station with heavy luggage you will need to take a cab. If your travelling lite then its only a 10-15 minute walk. All in all, the hotel is a very nice place to stay. I would recommend it for anyone's trip to Zurich.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christoph1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (639)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

283 - 289 of 639 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have stayed here many times and love it. It is situated in the old part of town which is full of character and packed with interesting shops, good restaurants, and lovely art galleries. We were lucky with weather which was sunny during the day but not too hot at night. Staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel was clean, clean, clean! Love it. Anywhere in Zurich is expensive by English standards, but worth saving up for!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Overpriced poor service Tea never replaced no airconditioning and extremely noisy rude staff esp in breakfast room showers are tiny ,rooms are old tired and wifi is like in most ofCH third worldish This hotel gives itself 4 Stars I would give it Negative 10 Stars It is also very overpriced for mediocre poor quality accomodation I just arrived from Hilton Tel Aviv which is 5 Star and much cheaper my suite which was a free upgrade was 5 times the size and MY RATE INCLUDED THE EXOTERIC HILTON BUFFET BREAKFAST FOR 2

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Con B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philipp B, Manager at Hotel Wellenberg, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear guest
Thank you very much for your honest feedback.
First of all I would like to expressmy most sincere apology regarding the missing tea replacement in the room and of course the mentioned unfriendly service what both is not our standard in any way. Please rest assured that I will talk to my staff reagarding their behavior.
In additional I would like to let you know that we (hotels in the old part of the town) are not allowed to use air condition due to environmental reasons by the city of Zurich. Reagarding the noise in the center of the city, I think it is quiet "normal" if you stay in the most touristic area of a city?! You booked through a booking portal which is one of the cheapest ones on the market and in addition there was the summer special where you saved 33% but not for nothing Zurich is one of the most expensive cities in the workl.
Dear guest, once again I would like to excuse me that we did not meet your expectations.
All the best.
Philipp Bode; Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This hotel is in a great location for all the restaurants and bars, old town and river. Its a short walk from the Banhoffstrasse, and great too for the lake. All in all, a good location, but if the weather is hot then the noise from the street below is disturbing during the night as the bars below finish late and deliveries start early in the morning! The addition of air con would make this place ideal!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrishersCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Very Central with ease to get around.
CHECK-IN: Fantastic! Karen at Reception could not have been more helpful. We were welcomed as soon as we walked in. We were immediately assisted with our bags and even though we were a little early, we were taken straight to our room. Smooth, professional and super efficient.
LOCATION: Excellent! Restaurants, supermarket, fruit store and so much more all on your door step.
ROOM: We advised that we would be 2 adults and 2 small children. Our room was plenty big enough for all four of us. The staff did not mind that we asked to push all the beds together and were very happy to accommodate whatever we needed whilst there. Very clean and well-equipped.
BREAKFAST: Although a small selection, everything was very nice. The croissants were wonderful, the coffee machines allowed you to select whatever coffee in whatever combination you liked.
CHECK-OUT: Again, very efficient and very friendly.
OVERALL: Very positive and very happy with our stay here. Staff were all very pleasant. The short stroll to the lake was absolutely stunning. Would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sim0011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel a number of times and it never disappoints. My sister and brother-in-law were with us this time and we were spending a weekend as a pre-Christmas treat. The staff are lovely and prior to our trip we asked them to book us into 2 particular restaurants as we knew it would be difficult to get tables as these restaurants are always booked up. Within 5 minutes of asking they emailed confirmations through. Extremely efficient!! The hotel rooms are large with big comfortable beds and well appointed bathrooms. As you can expect in Switzerland everything was spotless. The breakfast buffet has plenty of choice. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Wellenberg which is situated in the old town and well located for visiting the sites and shopping in the Banhofstrasse. Tip: visit Sprüngli at Paradeplatz and have a cup of their wonderful hot chocolate and buy some of their lovely chocolates. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swissgirl1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Absolutely perfect location! Situated in a square, with many restaurants, small supermarket and various shops. It is in the old town so it is very picturesque. It is a three minute walk to the lake for some beautiful views and a ten minute stroll to the main train station and the tour trolley car. 10-15 mins to get to the main shopping street with all of the beautiful designer stores and a department store. The room was lovely, the beds extremely comfortable and there was plenty of room for our family, 2 adults, 2 kids. The staff were wonderful and the breakfast very good. The only thing missing for us was air conditioning but we had a fan and slept with the windows open which gave us a lovely breeze. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Zurich.

Room Tip: We were in room 412 which was on the fourth floor and the on the back side of the building which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Embreys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 137 in Zurich
890 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#19 of 137 in Zurich
824 reviews
Hotel St. Gotthard
#31 of 137 in Zurich
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Marktgasse Hotel
Marktgasse Hotel
#62 of 137 in Zurich
178 reviews
Hotel Glockenhof
#25 of 137 in Zurich
490 reviews
Hotel Alexander
#44 of 137 in Zurich
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wellenberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wellenberg

Address: Niederdorfstrasse 10, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#43 Family Hotel in Zurich
#55 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $212 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wellenberg 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Wellenberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellenberg Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing