We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (698)
Filter reviews
698 results
Traveler rating
223
308
104
44
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
223
308
104
44
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold towngreat locationcobblestone streetstrain stationrestaurants and barshotel is locatedbreakfast roomair conditioningcold cutsyogurtstayed nightsjunior suitereception staffwonderful hotelbreakfast was includedfonduestreet noise
Filter
Updating list...
341 - 346 of 698 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at the Wellenberg. It's central location, one block from Zurich's phenomenal tram and river taxi services meant we could be anywhere in Central within 15 minutes. The windows were excellent, and when closed kept out the noise of the tourists below remarkably well. The same could not be said of the doors (our neighbors down the hall let their shrieking children run the halls at 6:30 each morning). The rooms were clean, but the carpet padding had seen better days and the carpet was coming up in places. The beds are comfortable, but the pillows were very thin. The complimentary breakfast was phenomenal, and included select cheeses, pastries, eggs, granola, fruit, and a machine to make fresh-ground espresso, cappuccino, and lattes. We didn't eat breakfast anywhere else during our stay. Overall, this was a nice experience, with a few minor hiccups.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed here for two nights. It's the old part of Switzerland, and it is might cute and quaint. The hotel is very clean, the room was a nice size, and the hotel itself was perfectly located. The breakfast is very basic, but it is just perfect if you are embarking on a day of sightseeing and shopping - not gluggy or oily or anything like that. Tip to travellers: The shops and restaurants that are located on this side of the river deal in Swiss Francs. This is good if you carry them. If not, you could be up for a lot of money if it's only Euros that you are carrying!!!! This includes your cab ride from the airport too. Be wary of this little snag!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlackIceMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Very kind staffs in reception ,excellent location near to city center and central train station. We stay in one of their best room as view and light.
lobby and elevator are small but you can forget it easily because of very good location, professional and kind staffs

Room Tip: high floor with city view
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khoeiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at the Wellenberg for two nights on vacation in September 2012 at the end of the summer tourist season.
We selected the hotel based on good reviews on Trip Advisor.
We experienced the good reviews as the hotel is within easy walking distance of Zurich Central Railway station, is easy walking distance to many attractions in Zurich, the rooms are clean, well appointed, comfortable and quiet. We had a top floor room overlooking the roofs of the adjacent buildings and Church spires whgich was really nice. The breakfast, included in the rate is very good. àWe would recommend the Wellenberg and would stay without hesitation again. Great restaurants close to the hotel; especially the Swiss restaurant across the street from the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JnJ_Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Nicely appointed, friendly hotel with fab smoking bar and good cigars!

The rooms are really nicely presented, with comfy beds and excellent bedding. The staff a really attentive and made sure we had everything we needed. For example our check out was at 5am hours before breakfast was due to be available. Recognizing this the front of house staff had organized a take away menu of fresh fruit, croissants, orange juice and yoghurts which was just what was needed to kick start my day!

The bar id very accommodating, and again the staff are very friendly and attentive. We enjoyed two cigars each, sipping famous wines and brandies.

The reception and public areas have some interest display of art, which is worth a look also.

If you are in Zurich I would heartily recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over the courtyard
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesSharpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews