We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A wonderful little hotel, well located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Wellenberg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Wellenberg
Ranked #55 of 133 Hotels in Zurich
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“A wonderful little hotel, well located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

One last night in Zürich before returning home to New York. I had found this hotel on a booking website (I had a credit to use) and the price was very correct for Zürich. It is located a block from the Limmat river directly in the beautiful old town and less than 5 minutes walking distance to the Bahnoffstrasse. I arrived in the morning and a room was available right away. The staff was very welcoming and wonderful especially the front desk manager (sorry I forgot your name).

The hotel has recently renovated rooms but not yet all of them so make sure you know which type you are booking. The room had a wonderful cozy feel, loved the bright colors, free internet, free breakfast (though I didn't use it). The bed and beddings were very comfy. One critic for the hotel that can easily be addressed with some training is that twice, two different employees (minibar and housekeeping) opened my door without knocking first.

I know one business reviewer mentioned not finding enough outlets in the room and wonder if he was in an older room. My room and especially the desk was loaded with outlets.

Overall I really enjoyed my very short stay at the Wellenberg hotel and would recommend it to my friends and clients (and will feature it in my upcoming app about Zürich).

Room Tip: The hotel is still in the process of renovating all the rooms, the one I pictured is the room I ende...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fromNYtoLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philipp B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Wellenberg, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear guest

Hope you had a safe trip back home to New York!
I would like to thank you so much for your wonderful feedback! It was a pleasure to share it with all the staff.
Please rest assured that I also talked to the housekeeping department to avoid the inconvenience caused of them.
I also would like to let you know that in all rooms (Standard and Deluxe) we have the same outlets.
Hope welcoming you back soon!
Best regards. Philipp Bode
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    241
    73
    38
    14
See reviews for
121
196
40
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is a very good hotel in a central Zurich location; the hotel has a very Swiss feel to it and whilst the rooms are small they are perfectly formed. Breakfast is great and the only diappointment was that the in hotel bar was closed as it was the staff night off...no problem though as the receptionist directed me to a nearby hostelry where the beer was good and the locals were friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nickg450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philipp B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Wellenberg, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Grüezi

Thank you for your kind words! It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. In additional I would like to excuse me again for the "bar situation", but as you already mentioned the bar team had their "staff getaway" at this date. Thank god we're located in the center of Zurich, therefore the variety of bars and restaurants around us is quiet huge.
Kind regards. Philipp Bode
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The Hotel has the best Location in the Old town. Friendly Service, stylish Roms (although some are quite small) The only negative thing: my Bathroom was Not really clean... Overall a positive experience. When going back to Zürich, I would chose this Hotel again, but only if the renovated Deluxe category is available. Price/ value is quite Good too. ( Consider the included breakfast and Free wifi)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Yes, the location at the Wellenberg is perfect. But if you're traveling on business, beware! I must have had the smallest room in the inn! No desk! No place to work except the bed. And I had to get help to find the one available outlet in the bedroom. In the morning I went to the business center but it was locked. I went downstairs to see if I needed a key and they told me the center was reserved for the day!! There were other little annoyances (like no light in the shower, no clock in the room, and a phone with dead batteries). That said, everyone was very nice! So if you are looking for a moderate place to stay in the Old Town of Zurich and you'll be out touring most of the day with no need to work, the Wellenberg is OK!

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eek2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philipp B, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Wellenberg, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear guest
First of all I would like to thank you for your reservation with us and your honest feedback.
I would like to let you know that the most of our rooms (42 of 45 rooms) have a desk in there.
Please let us know the next time that you need a desk to work. We would be happy to asign a perfect room for you. Regarding the busines center I also would like to tell you that it is always locked due to the fact that there is technical equippement in there...
Dear guest, I do not know in which room you stayed but all our rooms have light in the bathroom!!! Our rooms also provide a clock radio with automatic time and date indication on the bed table. Concerning the telefon and the batteries I would like to express my most sincere apology. Please rest assure that I already talked to the houskeeping department to avoid such inconveniences in the near future. Last but not least I would like to thank you very much for your kind words regarding our staff!
Hope to welome you once again to our hotel.
Best regards, Philipp Bode, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Agree with recent true reviews by Andreas K, GeoHL and GrantLapping. We loved our all-too-brief stay in this idyllic spot. Our room was pure luxury! Manager and staff exemplary. Hairdresser at front door - yay! And snow on cue!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aus49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in Jan 2013. Perfect hotel in the centre of old town. A short walk to restaurants and bars as well as the main shopping district across the bridge in new town. The room had good views and was well appointed. Also reasonable for Zurich and breakfast inclusion is a must before having to pay up for everything else outside the hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andreas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located just 5 minutes walk from most of the major sites in Zurich. The hotel is right next door to a small Christmas market, and just a few minutes from the major market at the main train station. The staff are friendly and helpful, and were happy to assist with our early check-in. The rooms were very large and the beds were comfortable. At night there was a little bit of noise from the market and restaurants in the street below, but this was hardly a disturbance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#15 of 133 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 564 reviews
Old Town
Marktgasse Hotel
Marktgasse Hotel
#52 of 133 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Hotel St. Gotthard
#21 of 133 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 stars 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#9 of 133 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 750 reviews
Hotel Alexander
#29 of 133 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 stars 406 reviews
Hotel Glockenhof
#26 of 133 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wellenberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wellenberg

Property: Hotel Wellenberg
Address: Niederdorfstrasse 10, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#43 Family Hotel in Zurich
#53 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wellenberg 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Wellenberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellenberg Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing