We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stay”
Review of Opera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Opera Hotel
Ranked #44 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very comfortable stay”
Reviewed May 21, 2009

The Opera Hotel, with "Ambassador Hotel" across the street, belong to the same group and both buildings are with history. It is just behind the Opera House and just 2 minutes walk away the metro station. It is also just 12 minutes walk to the major shopping street. Room is not spacious but enough space with all the function s(the TV is bit small). We had a corner room overlooking the Zurich lake. It is really nice to walk along the lake side in the early morning, breathe the fresh air and enjoy the clam before the city becomes buzzy.

The breakfast buffet is with reasonable selection of food, and more importantly, with free flow champion that lift up your day.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jadelulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambassador-Zuerich, General Manager at Opera Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2009
Dear Jadelulu

We appreciate very much, that you took your time to write a comment about our hotel and shared your experience with other travelers.
Zürich is indeed a beautiful city and we have the luck to be located on its best side, next to the lovely lake promenade.
Our hotel has rooms with different shapes and sizes, giving them their personal character. We also thank you for your comment regarding the TV size and will take it in consideration for our future planning.

We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in our hotel Opera and wish you all the best!

Regards

Rudolf E. Zehnder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    125
    34
    5
    2
See reviews for
34
87
34
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cyprus
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2009

We were staying in Zurich just for one evening since we were traveling to Davos the next Day. We left our luggage in the airport and took the train from the airport to Zurich. The trip took us 16 min and the station was 5min walk from the hotel.
The hotel is situated in a very posh and nice area with many nice restaurants around. There is even a Spungli cafeteria in the square just outside the station! One min walk from the hotel you are in front of the lake, next to the Opera House. You can also take the tram, two stops away you are in the city centre!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StefFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambassador-Zuerich, General Manager at Opera Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2009
Dear „StefFamily“

Thank you very much for your comment. It is always a pleasure for us to hear that our guests are satisfied with our services.
Our hotel is indeed located in the best part of Zürich, and by direct train link from station Stadelhofen only 16 minutes away from the airport.
As you said the opera house and the lake are just a stone’s throw away and the city center with the famous shopping mile “Bahnhofstrasse” is near by.

We appreciate very much, that you took some of your time to write your evaluation about our hotel Opera and shared your experience with other travelers.

We are looking forward to welcome you back!

Best regards from Zürich

Rudolf E. Zehnder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2008

This is probably one of the very best deals in Zurich. As Swiss citizen living abroad for the past 20+ years, I go back to Zurich regularly but have not yet found the right place to hang my hat for visits....until now that is.
The hotel staff is very professional and friendly. The lobby, restaurant, and the rooms have an understated elegance I appreciate. The buffet is outstanding, and the location can't be beat. 2 blocks from the train station, and one block from the tram, you are within 16 minutes of the airport by train.
For anyone looking for an elegant hotel in an excellent location, the hotel opera is a great choice!

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
Thank sunnydali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
253 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2008

Thanks again to my fellow TripAdvisor reviewers! I chose the Opera after reading previous reviews and was very happy with my stay. The hotel was across the lake from my company HQ and was also an excellent base for a run around the lake every morning.

There were some complaints in previous reviews about tiny rooms; when I checked in the person ahead of me was given an upgraded room and so was I. I'd never stayed there before so apparently the hotel is generous with its larger rooms when they're available. I got a double room instead of the single room I'd booked. It was large, light and airy with a vew of the street below. I'd been in Bangalore the previous week and in London the previous weekend, so quiet and peaceful is what I needed and that's what I got at the Opera.

Instead of individual soap and shampoo portions, the bathroom is equipped with dispensers that provide Hand, Hair and Body Wash- a single product. This is definitely more ecologically friendly than buying individual bottles and soaps by the gross, but if you prefer to use traditional products you'll need to bring your own.

I didn't try the restaurant but if you want an in-room "picnic" I highly recommend the Coop department store near the Stadelhofen train station. The Food Hall is in the basement. They even sell individual juice boxes with Cabernet Sauvignon in them!

Although I liked the Opera very much, two things would greatly improve it: an in-room coffee maker and a fitness center. Fortunately, the weather permitted running evey day but my last, so that wasn't a serious shortcoming during my stay.

  • Liked — Large, pleasant room at a reasonable price for Zurich
  • Disliked — They need coffee makers in the rooms!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AThena53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2008

Hotel Opera is a good choice for its location near a fashionable residential neighborhood of Zurich. It is also close to the Opera House, the Lake, and the Statelhofen train station(direct service to the airport). Our room was comfortable and modern with a touch of elegance in the high ceiling and the french doors to a balcony. The bath was a trifle cramped; but there was plenty of hot water. The A/C was much appreciated on a hot day in the city. We opted for a room rate that excluded breakfast; and we enjoyed croissants and coffee at a nearby conditorei next to the Tidbits bistro around the corner. Overall, I'd give the Hotel Opera an A- for its level of comfort, its location, and its price/quality ratio.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonGoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2008

This hotel exceeded my expectations. It's not a 5-star hotel and doesn't claim to be one, yet you may find yourself asking whether there's a need to stay in a 5-star hotel when there are 4-star hotels like this one.

We took 2 rooms next to each other on the 5th floor. The rooms were nice, clean, and comfortable. The hotel itself is located within a few minutes walk from the famous Bahnofstrasse shopping mile, and very close to the old town as well.

Since we stayed during the time of the EUEFA games, we were surprised at how close the hotel is to the various Fan Zone sites where big screens are placed and thousands of fans can watch the football games together in the open. One of the screens was literarily a one minute walk from the hotel so it was easy to join the fans and quickly come back to the hotel when we're finished.

The staff of the hotel were very very friendly and gave valuable information whenever we asked them. I'd like to give a special nod to Jeannine and Jasmin, though all of the staff we met were friendly and helpful.

Maybe the only thing I can remember that wasn't very positive was the elevator they have; it's small and won't fit in many people together or even few people with their luggage. However that shouldn't be a big problem to many people.

If you want a nice, clean, & conveniently-located hotel in Zurich that you can just sleep in and go in & out from with ease, this will work for you. Just don't expect to have the luxury offered by more expensive, 5-star hotels in the area.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank BuJaasim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2008

This hotel fulfilled all my needs.
The location is great, just beside the Opera House, around teh corner of the Stadelhofen Train Station , just minutes walk to the Zurich Lake and 15 minutes to walk to the Barnhofstrasse.
The room is nice, newly renovated, modern and clean.
The Staff are helpful and having good knowledge on their city and the attraction in Zurich.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluessette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#14 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seefeld
Lady's First Design Hotel
Lady's First Design Hotel
#16 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Seefeld
Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera Hotel

Property: Opera Hotel
Address: Dufourstrasse 5, Zurich 8008, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Zurich
#28 Family Hotel in Zurich
#34 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#58 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Opera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL OPERA, a name that will be music to your ears! Our private boutique hotel with a traditional atmosphere harmonizes perfectly with its classical surrounding. Located next to the famous Opera house, just a few steps away from the lake of Zürich, which is the perfect place for an early-morning jog, and the shopping mile „Bahnhofstrasse“, offering shopping at its very best. The airport and business centers are quickly and easily reached by public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, ACCOR, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Opera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing