We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Understated Elegance” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Opera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Opera Hotel
Ranked #46 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Understated Elegance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

Although we only stayed for one night in this lovely hotel it was a very pleasant experience. The reception staff made us feel very welcome even offering a glass of refreshing lemon water. The room was elegant with a large very comfortable bed with quality linen. The bathroom was outstanding - spotlessly clean, spacious, with a walk-in shower and lots of good toiletries. Breakfast was delicious with a large choice of hot and cold dishes and all overseen by an efficient smiling lady. The hotel is 2 minutes from the lakeside so ideally situated. All in all it was a great place to stay. We would definitely return to Hotel Opera and next time aim to eat in the hotel restaurant across the street.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CDL3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudolf_Zehnder, General Manager at Opera Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear “CDL3”.

Wow, thank you very much for this great comment and the top score! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our welcoming reception staff. Moreover it is pleasing to read that you liked the elegant room, the spacious bathroom and our buffet breakfast. Thank you as well for mentioning our location and that we are a “great place to stay”.

I truly look forward to greeting you in the future!

Rudolf E. Zehnder / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    120
    33
    5
    2
See reviews for
32
80
33
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

While on a break from some work in Oberammergau, Germany my wife and I stayed at the Opera Hotel. Our experience was simply pretty good. Over all we enjoyed our stay.

The hotel has a very nice ambiance and is in good repair. Our room was rather large and was clear. The bathroom was large and clear as well. As I was only at the Opera for one night I can’t tell you too much about it, but I will say that the staff was friendly and the buffet breakfast, while a little pricy, was good.

This is a pretty good hotel for Zurich and if I were back in the city I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rogerl251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudolf_Zehnder, Geschäftsführer at Opera Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear “Roger L”.

Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated the clear room and the large bathroom. Moreover, we are delighted that you were satisfied with the buffet breakfast and our friendly employees.

Kind regards from Zurich

Rudolf E. Zehnder / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

We chose this hotel because it had great reviews in Trip Advisor and the reviews were all correct. This hotel is centrally located near the old part of town, the Opera house, the Lake, and an easy Tram ride to the Banhoffstrasse for shopping, and the train station. We also chose this hotel because we had tickets for the Opera. The hotel is close to many good and excellent restaurants and cafes. The rooms we had were very comfortable, air conditioning works very well, and modern bathrooms with stall showers which was very welcome. The staff was friendly, very helpful, who were always willing to take time to give us information about Zurich and other parts of Switzerland we wanted to visit. The buffet breakfast was well worth the extra we paid for the room. It included all kinds of cheeses, fruit, breads and rolls, meats, and for Americans it even had scrambled eggs, potatoes, bacon, etc. All of the food was delicious and they put a pot of coffee on the table for each person. It was good for about 2 cups but if you wanted more they will bring it to you. The young woman who managed the breakfast nook was also the one waited on the tables and she was very friendly and accommodating. The Opera Hotel was a great find and if I return to Zurich I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d28drk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudolf_Zehnder, General Manager at Opera Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear "d28drk".

Many thanks for your time to post this nice comment about our Hotel Opera and giving us this excellent rating. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our location, your room including the air conditioning and the shower, as well as the buffet breakfast which has a lot of regional products. Thank you for the comment about the friendliness of our staff. We are of course delighted to pass this to our employees. We truly hope to welcome you once back with us for an Opera show or to visit the city.

Rudolf E. Zehnder / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

Returned to the Opera Hotel for the 5th time! it really is a lovely Boutique Hotel with great proximity to everything I came to Zurich for... the lake, The Opera House, the old part of town, shopping, Stadelhofen (transport to airport)...
The staff are always welcoming and helpful!
Can't wait to return.... when Ballett Zurich are next performing Romeo und Julia!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lochness18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudolf_Zehnder, General Manager at Opera Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear “Lochness18”.

Thank you very much for this 5-star rating! It is a pleasure to read that we had the chance to welcome you for the 5th time at our hotel and that you are satisfied with our location. Furthermore, we would like to thank you for your kind comment about our welcoming and helpful employees.

We are looking forward to your next visit!

Rudolf E. Zehnder / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

I have stayed at the Ambassador many times and now at the Opera, it's sister hotel. Both offer a good level of comfort for business visitors, and the location could not be better, right opposite the Opera House, next to the lakeside & a few minutes from Bellevue & Bahnhof Stadlehofen (with direct trains to the airport). Single rooms are not too small. Reception & restaurant staff are welcoming, and the free late night tea-making facilities in the lounge are a welcome bonus. Good choice on the breakfast buffet & coffee was good enough for 2nd helpings (I'm not usually a fan of hotel breakfasts). Good fish restaurant in the Ambassador Hotel plus there are numerous places to eat nearby.

Room Tip: Single rooms available but get snapped up by business travellers. Inner rooms are less noisy than t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JossM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Opera Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear “JossM”.

Many thanks for your comment. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with our central location, the tea-making facilities in our lobby, our Swiss breakfast buffet and our Restaurant Opera. Moreover, it was a pleasure to read that you appreciated our welcoming employees.

It would be great to welcome you soon back with us!

Rudolf E. Zehnder / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

In one of Zurich's most desirable locations -- behind the Opera House and close to lake, shopping and multitude of restaurants---public transportation including airport trains within walking distance ---Well run and excellent and friendly service -- highly recommended -- and free wifi !!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Opera Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear “timbing”.
Wow, thank you very much for this 5-star comment! It is a pleasure to read that you appreciated our great location in Zurich’s city centre, the free Wifi and our friendly service.

We are looking forward to your next visit!

Rudolf E. Zehnder / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
365 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

Our last visit to this hotel was almost 10 years ago. Our only concern at that time had been the smaller room at 22sqm. This time there had been a few renovations and we knew to book a larger room- 24sqm. I was happy with the size of this room, although there are also 28sqm rooms available. Our room was clean, spacious, quiet, pleasant and warm. Breakfast was served across the road at a related hotel during our stay but this was pleasant and there was plenty of choice. The hotel is in a very convenient location close to a tram/metro interchange, although we actually chose to walk most of the time into the old town and around the main shopping district. There are some good restaurants locally and the opera house is, of course a stone's throw away. Zurich is an expensive city for accommodation. This is a good 4 star hotel. I will stay here next time we return this lovely city.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beetrootears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Opera Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear “Beetrootears”.

Many thanks for this great comment and the 5-star score! We are delighted to read that we had the chance to welcome you again after 10 years and that you appreciated the room size, the breakfast buffet and our location.

It would be great to welcome you soon back with us.

Rudolf E. Zehnder / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#13 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seefeld
Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac
Seefeld
Lady's First Design Hotel
Lady's First Design Hotel
#14 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Hotel Wellenberg
#56 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera Hotel

Property: Opera Hotel
Address: Dufourstrasse 5, Zurich 8008, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Zurich
#28 Family Hotel in Zurich
#34 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#58 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Opera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL OPERA, a name that will be music to your ears! Our private boutique hotel with a traditional atmosphere harmonizes perfectly with its classical surrounding. Located next to the famous Opera house, just a few steps away from the lake of Zürich, which is the perfect place for an early-morning jog, and the shopping mile „Bahnhofstrasse“, offering shopping at its very best. The airport and business centers are quickly and easily reached by public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and ACCOR so you can book your Opera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing