We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well-appointed room without a view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Opera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Opera Hotel
Ranked #47 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well-appointed room without a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

I came to Zurich for it's excellent hospitals, for the evaluation of a rather serious health condition. Perhaps because I traveled alone, without my family, and was already feeling a bit lonely, plus sad and anxious about my health, I felt disappointed that my room had a view of only a parking lot and adjoining buildings--though I could see the sky if I looked up (I was on a lower floor) . A glimpse outside of even a little greenery or of passersby would have cheered my stay considerably. (I must add that perhaps it was my fault that I got "stuck" with this view. I arrived late at night and couldn't see out the window. By morning, I had already unpacked and arranged all my things, and so decided against asking for another room, as I didn't want to repack.)

However, except for the day I was feeling too ill to leave my room, I did get out and immediately was cheered by the lake and the beautiful views of Zurich. So, that compensated for the dreariness inside my room.

As other reviewers had mentioned, the hotel is in an excellent location, very near the lake, near to shopping for essentials, and near to the trams and train station, making it extremely easy to visit shops and restaurants some distance away. For those who prefer taxis, taxi service is available almost immediately at this hotel. Everyday I requested a taxi to get to my medical appointments, and I never had to wait more than ten minutes from the moment I called the receptionist to order one for me. (For those unfamiliar with Zurich, the taxis all felt very safe and were very clean. Of course, the entire city seems to feel safe and clean. No wonder so many people love Zurich, as it is beautiful, peaceful, well organized, clean and safe, and has everything one might want. It's not the least expensive city to visit, but I feel it's costs are reasonable for the quality and enjoyment you will experience here--many other less attractive cities in Europe are more expensive.)

At least my hotel room was very clean and had everything needed, although it was the tiniest room I've ever stayed in, but it did feel cozy. The decor was adequate, though nothing special. Yet, I probably shouldn't expect much more from the least expensive room category (single bed) in a four star hotel--if I'd wanted something more "deluxe," I should have booked at a more expensive hotel.

My room was very comfortable. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable, the bed was also conveniently adjustable, with a control to raise the head and feet, and the room was exceptionally quiet, despite having hotel neighbors with three children. I didn't hear a sound.

The bathroom, despite its tiny size, was well designed and didn't feel cramped. The corner sink was large enough even to wash out some personal laundry, and the shower size was very comfortable for me, despite the fact that I am not slim. The shower controls were very convenient and the water temperature adjusted immediately. Also, the shower has a retractable clothes line, for those who wish to do some of their own laundry. Irons and ironing tables are available upon request. I requested these. The iron looked quite old, but functioned well and didn't leak. But the ironing table was tricky to adjust, as it was also old and perhaps not functioning as well as it had originally. I found the controls needed strength and manipulation, to open and close the board.

The level of service at this hotel is very good, and the staff were invariably helpful, pleasant, respectful, and friendly toward me. That is important to me because, as a visible member of a religious minority group, I have sensed discrimination and a frozen "politeness" or worse, at some hotels in Europe. (However, I do find the Swiss normally tolerant and helpful, which is one of the reasons I chose to come here for my medical issues. It is upsetting enough to be ill, without also feeling humiliated by being treated as unwelcome and inferior.)

My husband and I travel very frequently, I monthly and he perhaps 4-6 times per month. I don't know if he would like this hotel, because he usually frequents 5-stars, plus, the Ambassador's room service menu does not have a wide selection--though perhaps because it is a smaller hotel. But their restaurant is very good, and I found their fish and other dishes very well prepared and delicious. They must have an excellent cook. (I should add that the kitchen prepared some off-menu items at my request, which made me very happy. I am sincerely grateful.)

I, myself, would definitely stay here again, because of the hotel staff's excellent service and helpfulness, the cleanliness and quiet of the rooms, the availability of everything needed from the hotel, including wifi that worked very well, and the Ambassador's proximity to the lake, walking paths, essential shops, trams, and train. Also, the area the hotel is very quiet and feels safe.

Other than the view, the only other problem I had with my room was an unpleasant smell in the corridor. Perhaps I was beside a utility closet, where cleaning supplies are kept? Or, perhaps someone was smoking in a nearby room? I had a non-smoking room, but perhaps they allow smoking in some of their rooms? (I would prefer a non-smoking floor.) The odor I experienced smelled almost like cigar smoke. However, it is my fault that I didn't bother to mention it to the hotel staff. The odor was only a momentary unpleasantness, in the corridor just outside my room; the other corridors, lobby, and restaurant had no unpleasant odor.

Otherwise, thanks, Hotel Ambassador, for a comfortable stay and very good service. If I ever come alone to Zurich again, I would like to stay again with you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an outside view, if this is important to you. For five days (six nights) I staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amiddleagedlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Opera Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear amiddleagedlady

Many thanks for your detailed comment about our Hotel. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with our location, the clean room, the free wifi, the pillows and our helpful and respectful employees. Moreover, we are delighted that you appreciated the service and menu in our Restaurant Opera.

We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you all the best for your health!

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    120
    33
    5
    2
See reviews for
32
80
33
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

There's a saying in german that goes: "Klein aber Fein" - small but good. That applies to Hotel Opera as it does to Zürich.
As many other reviews pointed out, the rooms are rather small, as is the "business center' (one computer on the corner) and the breakfast room. But it's very cozy and well taken care of.
The location is one of the main highlights: right next to the Opera, and by the lake (Zürich See) - and also pretty close to the Bahnhofstrasse with all the great shopping!

Room Tip: Watch out for the summer festivities around the lake! We stumbled upon ZürichFest, which happens onc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSchlaad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Opera Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear JSchlaad

Thank you! It was a pleasure to read that you were happy with our central location next to the lake, the opera house and the shopping districts. Concerning your room tip: You may find information about all festivities taking place in our city on the official Zurich webpage.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you soon back with us.

Best regards from Zurich,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Good locaton close to the lake, but easy access to the rest of Zurich. Good quality hotel and good breakfast. Rooms are somewhat on the small size, but this is true of many swiss hotels, so i do not consider it an issue. Its also a very good price compared to many other Zurich Hotels. I had a very good deal at 188CHF including breakfast, but its easy to pay up to 400 CHF elsewhere. Friendly staff as well, in all an excellent choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pollygonner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Opera Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Many thanks for your comment about our Hotel Opera Zurich. We are delighted that you were satisfied with our location, our breakfast and that you appreciated our friendly employees. Concerning the room size: our Hotel disposes of different room categories with different room sizes. Our reception would be pleased to help you at your next reservation to find the convenient category for you.

We are looking forward to your next visit!

Best regards from Zurich,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Outside noises seem to penetrate more than average, one night I was awaken by people returning to their room (on the 1st floor) and could hear every sound they made. As RichardDixon pointed out, rooms are tiny, and there were no coffee maker inside. Front desk staff was very helpful, but the place could be better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefanek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Opera Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Concerning your comment about the noise: Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience you experienced with the outside noises.

Regarding your comment about the coffee maker: Please inform our Reception at your next reservation that you would like to have a coffee maker and we will be pleased to equip your room with a Nespresso coffee machine.

It would be great to welcome you once back with us to show you that we can do better.

Best regards from Zurich,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Mont
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Very practical if one assists at an opera the evening; just about 200 m walk from Opera to Hotel. Reception very friendly, professional. Relatively small, but pleasant room on the fifth floor, functional, with a balcony with splendid view over the city and part of the lake. Nice bathroom, would be perfect if it had handles over the bathtub for elderly people that we are. We got an invitation to take our apéro on the rooftop of the sister hotel Ambassador close by but did not use it being late. Seeing a dozen people on this rooftop from our balcony we got the impression that they had fun up there.

Room Tip: Higher floors have view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FedorLeMont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Opera Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you very much for this kind comment about our Hotel Opera. We are pleased that you were satisfied with our location, your room with balcony and that you appreciated our friendly and professional employees.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Best regards from Zurich,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

The hotel is centrally located, just behind the Opernhaus and close to Bahnhof Stadelhofen and Bellevue. It's great for business in town and/or city tourism.
Although the neighbourhood offers an abundance of restaurants, I dined at the hotel's restaurant which is actually across the street. I was not disappointed.
My room was next to the elevator. However, the room was spacious and insulated, so that I was never bothered by the elevator or street noise.
Hotel Opera is a small, but it seems well-managed and very hospitable. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Opera Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Many thanks for your comment about our Hotel Opera Zurich. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with our location, our Restaurant Opera and the spacious room.

It would be great to welcome you soon back with us in Zurich.

Kind regards,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
173 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

So, it's not massively roomy, neither a boutique nor a 5-star. But for the price and location in a very pricy city, this was fine. Breakfasts good, rooms small but impeccable, good wifi. And the staff were incredibly hospitable always. Gathered from colleagues that some rooms were quite noisy (best avoid the ones either side of or opposite the lift).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kingsgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Opera Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
We are delighted that you appreciated our location, the breakfast, the free wifi and our hospitable employees.

It would be our great pleasure to welcome you once back with us.

Best regards from Zurich,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#12 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seefeld
Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac
Seefeld
Lady's First Design Hotel
Lady's First Design Hotel
#15 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera Hotel

Property: Opera Hotel
Address: Dufourstrasse 5, Zurich 8008, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Zurich
#28 Family Hotel in Zurich
#34 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#58 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Opera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL OPERA, a name that will be music to your ears! Our private boutique hotel with a traditional atmosphere harmonizes perfectly with its classical surrounding. Located next to the famous Opera house, just a few steps away from the lake of Zürich, which is the perfect place for an early-morning jog, and the shopping mile „Bahnhofstrasse“, offering shopping at its very best. The airport and business centers are quickly and easily reached by public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and ACCOR so you can book your Opera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing