We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel - loved it!”
Review of Opera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Opera Hotel
Ranked #41 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel - loved it!”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Beautiful hotel, great service, wonderful restaurant - this was a highlight of our recent trip to Europe. Location is perfect - close to the city parks, lake, shopping, great restaurants, and . . . of course, the opera. The area is full of life and energy and is a short walk to many of the city's sites. I would highly recommend the Hotel Opera to anyone wanting to enjoy the comfort of beautiful bedding, handsome furnishings and a perfect location in a city full of art, cuisine, culture and history. No complaints - we loved the hotel and the complimentary breakfast was the best! Plus, it is only two blocks from the train station so it is easy to get around the city or to get to the airport reasonably without having to take a cab. 10 minutes to the airport.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CThrasherUsher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Opera Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
We would like to thank you for your great comment about our Hotel Opera! It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our service, our restaurant Opera and above all our location next to parks, lake, shopping, restaurants and public transportation. Many thanks also for your comment that you highly recommend us!

It would be great to welcome you soon back in our Hotel Opera.

Kind regards from Zurich,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    125
    34
    5
    2
See reviews for
34
87
34
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Very nice place located close to the lake and shopping area. Friendly stuff. Lot of nice restaurants around. It was my third visit and I liked it! Railway station is also very close to the hotel. There is free wifi, cosy lobby with free tea selection.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Askar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Opera Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
We would like to thank you for writing this comment about our Hotel Opera. We are pleased that you enjoyed your third stay with us and that you appreciated our location close to the lake, shopping area and railway station.

We would be delighted to welcome you once back in our Hotel Opera.

Kind regards from Zurich,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Totally enjoyed my stay here, nice large quiet clean room, friendly staff, good location near trains, nice breakfasts. Very charming old world feel but all the new facilities. Made me very relaxed while on a business trip. Could not recommend more.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tuffguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Opera Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
We would like to thank you for your nice comment about our Hotel Opera. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us in a nice, large, quiet and clean room. Furthermore we are delighted that you appreciated our location next to the train station Stadelhofen, that you liked our breakfast and that your stay with us made you very relaxed.

It would be great to welcoming you soon back again in our Hotel.

Kind regards from Zurich,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHB, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The hotel is well located in Zurich, but the bathroom was very small. Renovation took place during my stay which did not influence my review of the hotel. The breakfast was basic, but the service made up for it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L0veCr0atia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Opera Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Many thanks for your comment about our Hotel. It was great to read that you appreciated our location in Zurich and that the renovation taking place during your stay did not influence your review of our hotel. Concerning your comment about the size of the bathroom: our Hotel disposes of different room categories with different bathroom sizes. Our reception would be pleased to help you at your next reservation to find the convenient category for you.

It would be great to welcoming you soon back in our Hotel.

Best regards from Zurich,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for two nights on business. I was upgraded from the single room to another with a queen size bed, which was a nice surprise. The room overlooked an internal parking space that serves the whole block so it was really quiet and nice. Bed was very comfortable. Shower excellent and a great hair dryer (essential for the ladies). As they are making some works, the breakfast room was closed but coffee, tea, juice and croissants were offered at a room next to the reception (those who opted for full breakfast had to cross the street to the restaurant). Room service was very good. Reception staff was efficient, friendly and always ready to help. All in all, great experience. I will be certainly coming back next time I go to Zurich.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CeciliaGVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Opera Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Many thanks for your comment about our Hotel Opera. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated the upgrade in the queen size bed room. Furthermore we are delighted that you were happy with the comfortable bed, shower, hair dryer and room service and would like to thank you for your comment about our efficient and friendly staff.
Due to renovation work we had to close our breakfast room for a few days but we are happy to inform you that in the meantime our guests may enjoy their breakfast again in our breakfast room.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon back in our Hotel.

Kind regards from Zurich,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This charming Hotel in the Opera district is a perfect example of what can be achieved when the management and staff care. It is set in a quiet street beside the opera and one street back from the lake. It is a fair hike to the main station and main shopping area but the regional train line runs a street behind it and the tram a street in front of it.

It is pricey, but for special occasions or when you have had enough of roughing it, it is worth every penny (or Euro or Frank as the case may be).

This is our third time at the Opera and if in Zurich again, we'll be back.

The room was large, clean and beautifully furnished. The bathroom was spotless. The public areas are furnished to a high standard and the staff are friendly, efficient and make you feel that you are the only person that matters to them at this time.

Beware their restaurant across the road is expensive and the service patchy. The breakfast is one of the best you will find in Europe.

Room Tip: The front rooms are best but you pay a premium for them
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanley18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Opera Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
We would like to thank you for your great comment about our Hotel Opera. We are delighted that you appreciated our location next to the opera house, the lake and the regional train line stations. Furthermore, it was a pleasure to read, that a stay with us is “worth every penny” and that you will be back for your fourth time in our Hotel.
Concerning your comment about our Restaurant: please accept our apologies for the patchy service you experienced. This is of course not our standard and I immediately informed the responsible department to avoid such service in the future.
Many thanks also for your comment about our room, our breakfast and staff. We are pleased that you appreciated our friendly and efficient staff which made you feel that you were the only person that matters to them at this time.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon back in our Hotel Opera.

Best regards,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This boutique hotel is the perfect place to stay for those wanting to explore Zurich on foot. Due to an early flight we arrived to the hotel at 8am. They had our room ready within 2 hours (which was wonderful since we had been traveling for close to 20 hours). The room was large, beautiful, and refreshing (loved the striped wallpaper). The bed was incredibly comfortable... almost to the point of not wanting to leave the room. I loved the design of the bathroom, very functional and modern with a dual shower head. Breakfast was delicious, fresh, and had great variety; however, it was quite pricey (about $25 per person). We loved how central the location was as we could walk everywhere and the train station was 1 block from the hotel. Although the hotel is pricey, I highly recommend it to tourists wanting to explore beautiful Zurich! If we ever get the chance to visit again, this is definitely where we would stay!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmily J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Opera Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Wow! Many thanks for this nice comment about our Hotel Opera. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our central location so that you could explore Zurich by foot. We are delighted that you liked our large, beautiful and refreshing rooms with its comfortable bed and that you loved the design of our bathroom. Furthermore, it was great to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast with its fresh variety.

It would be great to welcome you once back in our Hotel Opera.

Best regards from Zurich,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#13 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seefeld
Lady's First Design Hotel
Lady's First Design Hotel
#16 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Seefeld
Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera Hotel

Property: Opera Hotel
Address: Dufourstrasse 5, Zurich 8008, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Zurich
#28 Family Hotel in Zurich
#33 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#58 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Opera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL OPERA, a name that will be music to your ears! Our private boutique hotel with a traditional atmosphere harmonizes perfectly with its classical surrounding. Located next to the famous Opera house, just a few steps away from the lake of Zürich, which is the perfect place for an early-morning jog, and the shopping mile „Bahnhofstrasse“, offering shopping at its very best. The airport and business centers are quickly and easily reached by public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Opera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing