We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay and amazing location”
Review of Coronado Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coronado Hotel
Ranked #23 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great stay and amazing location”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I went to Coronado hotels with my Parents. We had a triple room accommodation. Firstly, the location of the hotel is ideal. The tram stop is 2 minutes away and gives direct access to the city center as well as the airport. There are plenty restaurants near the hotel and department stores. Secondly, even though the room was triple sharing, we did not feel even once that it was small and Finally, the hotel staff was wonderful and extremely helpful. I forgot to ask the name of the guy who was at the reception in the evening but, would like to say a special thank you to him. He even went till the tram stop to show me how to buy tickets.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is planning to visit Zurich.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aditi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Aditi,
Thank you very much for your lovely feedback and your nice rating-we'll forward it to the team.
It's wonderful to hear you've really enjoyed your stay with your parents at the Hotel Coronado. To have satisfied guests is our passion.
Do you visit us again? We're looking forward to welcoming you again!
Sunny regards from Zurich,
Your Coronado Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    163
    48
    7
    5
See reviews for
92
143
40
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

- Cheerful, helpful service
- Pricey for what you get compared to elsewhere in Europe, but probably very good for Zurich - especially when taking free parking into account
- Room was small but functional and comfortable
- Tram stop right out the front for easy access to main part of city
- Breakfast was CHF15 each, we gave it a miss - there was a nice bakery nearby
- Free wifi

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biggie_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comment and your rating.
Your statement you would stay here again is lovely!
We're looking forward to welcoming you again.
Kind regards,
Your Coronado Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

We arrived early today and were warmly created. We left our luggage in the holding room and with great instructions headed out for a very short tram ride to Old Zurich. The station is right across the street and our room faces the station. While we can hear the tram it is not overly loud. Just a little rumble.
It is also located a short walk up beautiful paths to the Univ of Zurich. I had a nice, but hilly run there in the evening. Miles of paved,gravel and dirt trails.
Don't hesitate to book this hidden gem. You will be treated royally.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pameatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Guest;
We'd like to say thank you for your wonderful comment and your nice rating. It's lovely to hear you've really enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Coronado.
Do you visit us again? It would be great!
See you soon and kind regards,
Your Coronado Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Nice hotel, but a bit outside the main downtown area. We didn't mind the 5-10 minute train ride to get downtown, trains rain very frequently. Breakfast was not included with our stay, unfortunately. Clean hotel, helpful staff. Good value.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback and your rating-we really appreciate it.
We're looking forward to welcoming you again at the Hotel Coronado!
Kind regards from Zurich,
Your Coronado Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Enjoyed our stay for one night in Zurich,had booked after reading the reviews in Tripadvisor and were not disappointed.Very clean room and spotless bathroom,though alittle small but you can't ask for more in Zurich at this price.Best thing is that it is located right across a tram stop which takes you to the old city in 10 mins and also to the airport which is around 30 mins away. The calm neighbourhood was an added bonus.People at the reception were very friendly and helpful.Got our tram tickets from them and also helped print out our boarding passes. Thankyou for making our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tora_Chaudhuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Guest,
We'd like to say thank you for your rating and your great feedback. Especially the fact that you booked due to the rewievs here on Tripadvisor is very delightful. It would be great to see you again in Zurich. We're looking forward to welcoming you again!
Kind regards,
Your Coronado Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2014

it was a nice place with very friendly and helpful staff. clean and easy access to the center, only 10 min by tram which has stop in front of the hotel. we enjoyed our stay at hotel Coronado. one of the best option for us was free parking.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eli G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Eli,
Thank you for your visit and your nice feedback. We'll forward it to the team and appreciate it!
Hopefully you'll visit Zurich and especially the Hotel Coronado again-it would be great!
Kind regards,
Your Coronado Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
#18 of 138 in Zurich
785 reviews
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Sternen Oerlikon Hotel
#30 of 138 in Zurich
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seefeld
Lady's First Design Hotel
Lady's First Design Hotel
#16 of 138 in Zurich
597 reviews
Swissotel Zurich
#36 of 138 in Zurich
2,215 reviews
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#43 of 138 in Zurich
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coronado Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronado Hotel

Property: Coronado Hotel
Address: Schaffhauserstrasse 137, Zurich 8057, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Zurich
#35 Family Hotel in Zurich
#50 Business Hotel in Zurich
#51 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coronado Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Coronado is situated centrally: 10 minutes from the airport and Zurich main station and near the University Zurich Irchel. The trams nr. 7, 9, 10 and 14 stop right in front of the house and enable you to enjoy your ride throughout the whole city. Shops, restaurants and the Irchelpark with a small romantic pond to relax are in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coronado Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronado Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing