We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and helpful service!”
Review of Coronado Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coronado Hotel
Ranked #28 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location and helpful service!”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Well located just opposite the tram station with trams to the airport & to the main train station, the hotel is a neat place to stay for a few days! Value for money with free wifi, the hotel rooms are small but neat! the view from the higher floors are breathtaking in the mornings. Has a couple of restaurants and cafes around for a quick bite as well!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suparna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Suparna,
Thank you very much for your nice rating and your kind feedback-we really appreciate it!
You're right the Hotel Coronado is well located with the tram station on the opposite so we're directly linked with the public transportation. Next time you should enjoy a walk at the nearby Irchelpark as well.
We'd love to welcoming you again!
See you and kind regards from Zurich,
Your Coronado Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    155
    48
    7
    5
See reviews for
83
135
40
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2014

A beautiful hotel in a great location. The rooms we stayed on two different visits were large and comfortable. The checkin was efficient. The rooms are spacious and very clean,the beds are soft and comfy.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Patrick,
Thank you very much for your superb rating and your nice feedback.
It's a pleasure to hear you've enjoyed your stay, your room and your bed as well. By the way we have cozy Box-spring beds in the Hotel.
We'd love to welcoming you again in Zurich-so see you soon!
Kind regards,
Your Coronado Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We had a quick visit in Zurich, thanks to a 24 hour layover with SWISSAIR. We found this nice hotel, although not cheap, definitely a good value for this city, which is expensive whichever way you look at it. It was very easy to get to by TRAM... straight shot on line 10 to right in front of the Hotel. Probably easier than grabbing a hotel bus or Taxi. We also found out that if you book on their website directly, the Tram ticket is included for free. The lobby was very inviting, and we were greeted by Sabrina, who was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are small, but not uncomfortably so. They were very clean, and fitted with high quality materials. Made for a very comfortable stay. If there are two of you, you can ask for an extra blanket, because for some reason the blankets are a little smaller than the top of the bed. Not enough to share, unless you sleep in a tight embrace. We went to the COOP shop down the street and picked up some food, as restaurants are very expensive there. We spent most of our visit traveling in Tram and went to the Dolder Grand, a premium hotel, with a spectacular view of the city and lake. We got a 24 hour pass which included museums and other attractions. We should have bought transportation only tickets as that is all we used. Both are good deals, if you use them.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angiecalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your 5 star rating and your wonderful feedback-we really appreciate it. It's nice to hear you've liked the central position of our Hotel. You're right it's easy to catch the tram there and you're able to visit Zurich in an uncomplicated way .
We love your feedback about our reception and about Sabrina too-we'll forward it!
So hopefully you'll be back soon-it would be a pleasure! Even tough there isn't a layover.
Kind regards,
Your Coronado Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We booked this hotel based on the rave reviews on travel sites so we were more than a little disappointed when we arrived. Whilst the room we stayed in was clean, it wasn't much bigger than a closet and was very basic. However, we had no intention of spending much time in the hotel so we dropped our luggage off before exploring the beautiful city of Zurich. The location of the hotel, opposite a tram station for the number 10 and 14, is its best feature and makes travelling to the city centre, the train station or the airport very easy. The problem with the tiny room became more apparent at night, turning the room into a sauna. Together with the ancient A/C and cheap synthetic bed sheets, it made for a very unpleasant nights sleep.
Check-out was also a bit of a pain and wasn't quite the "express check-out" they boast. There were two receptionists at the front desk and every enquiry seemed to take their combined effort. You may think this would speed up the process, but you would be wrong. At one point both of the receptionists were standing there watching a guy fill out a form whilst the rest of us in the que stood there waiting! After waiting patiently for 10 minutes we then tried to get the attention of one of the receptionists (who was now just standing there watching the other receptionist give directions) who was very rude, she clearly would've preferred to stand there doing nothing than help the que of people. We ended up leaving without so much as a "how was your room?", "did you enjoy your stay?" or "thank you for choosing us".
To summarise, this hotel has a great location and is OK value. However, don't be fooled into thinking it is anything more than very basic and beware of the reception duo sharing a brain cell.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank selcouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your honest feedback-we really appreciate it.
Your impression isn't in accordance with our hotel standard and philosophy. To be a good host is our passion so we'll check this with our reception team.
Kind regards,
Your Coronado Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed in this hotel based on previous reviews, and I'm so glad we did. When you fly into the Zurich airport, you can take the #10 tram directly there (20 minutes). If you get to Zurich via the main train station, you can take the #10 or #14 directly there (10 minutes). If you're driving, there are a few parking spots out front. The hotel is right across the street from the Milchbuck tram stop. There is a Coop grocery a block or so away - closed Sundays, so keep that in mind.

In the hotel lobby there is a small seating area and a coffee/tea station and fruit basket. These were a really nice touch. There is a breakfast area on this floor too, but I didn't take advantage of it. The hotel has free wifi, and is kept up nicely. Our room was a double, and it was pretty spacious. We had two twin beds pushed together, a desk and chair, a tv with English-speaking channels, a minibar, closet, safe, and iron. The en suite bathroom has a tub shower and hairdryer. The tub walls were kind of high, so it was a little hard to get in an out of, but the shower's water pressure was great and the hot water was steady.

I would definitely recommend this hotel. It was clean, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the location was safe.

Room Tip: We couldn't check in when we got there because it was too early, but they will hold your bags fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tifster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your detailed review! We appreciate your time taken writign down your impressions. It helps other people a lot choosing the right hotel for them and we know how you think about our services.
We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again!
Your Coronado Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asten, Österreich
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

The staff is very friendly and helpful. Free WiFi with a reasonable speed is one big bonus for this hotel. If you need to go to Irchel or the Animal hospital, this hotel is really close by (10 min walk through a nice park). The breakfast is good - nothing special, but has everything one needs.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank austroswede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so mcuh for your review, we are pleased to hear that you liked our place and the services provided.
See you soon again!
Kind regard,
Your Coronado Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I have been in zurich and the Coronado hotel for 3 night.
location was really great between the airport and the city center, and you can find a TRAM station right outside the hotel to anywere.
the staff was really nice and helpful, and i even had a very nice chat with one of the receptionist.
we had a twin room, the beds and pillows were really comfy.
the hotel like the city Zurich were very clean, and the rooms were cleaned every morning.
the only bad part was that the room and the bathroom were really small, and it had a feeling like it got designed by Ikea :)
so if you dont mind about the size of the room this is a very good hotel, and everything was great.

Room Tip: take the bigger rooms offered because the regular rooms are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dudu_np
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your lovely comment! We appreciate it and we are happy to read that you liked our stay with us and it would be great to welcoming you soon again at our place. When you drop by Zurich the next time, please do not hesitate and feel warmly welcome at the Coronado Hotel!
Kind regards,
Your Coronado Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Seefeld
Lady's First Design Hotel
Lady's First Design Hotel
#16 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
#21 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sternen Oerlikon Hotel
#32 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Swissotel Zurich
#39 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coronado Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronado Hotel

Property: Coronado Hotel
Address: Schaffhauserstrasse 137, Zurich 8057, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Zurich
#35 Family Hotel in Zurich
#50 Business Hotel in Zurich
#51 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coronado Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Coronado is situated centrally: 10 minutes from the airport and Zurich main station and near the University Zurich Irchel. The trams nr. 7, 9, 10 and 14 stop right in front of the house and enable you to enjoy your ride throughout the whole city. Shops, restaurants and the Irchelpark with a small romantic pond to relax are in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coronado Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronado Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing