We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little hotel, good location”
Review of Coronado Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coronado Hotel
Ranked #24 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is a smaller hotel in a quiet neighborhood. Right across the street from a tram station (Milchbuck); 20 minutes from the airport and about 7 minutes to the Hauptbahnoff / center of town, with trams every minute or so (every 7 1/2 from the airport). Not much in the immediate neighborhood - a couple of restaurants and a grocery store - but you'll probably be eating in the old town and taking the tram.

Room was nice, clean, modern. Windows open so lots of fresh air. I chose a room on the back and it was super quiet even with the windows open at night. Breakfast is quite adequate - nothing hot except you can make soft boiled eggs. Staff was excellent and very helpful. They have tram tickets if you don't want to mess with the automatic ticket machines (useful if you don't have a credit card with pin/chip) and printed my boarding passes on departure.

There is a small lobby which always has tea/coffee available.

This is a great location if you're going to ETH (the Hongerberg main campus) as the shuttle bus stops at the tram station across the street. But there is a nice 50 minute walk, mostly on wide paths through the forested hillside, right into campus (the paths have names and signs, and if you search online for a while you can find a map at a bicycle touring web site which shows you both). I found this to be a great way to get some exercise on the way to/from meetings.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mojave_ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your lovely and detailed comment! We appreciate your feedback and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay! We will forward your compliments to the team and hope to welcome you again in future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (438)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 438 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

The hotel is a friendly, comfortable and relaxed base whilst spending a weekend in Zurich. Very helpful staff, comfortable rooms and good facilities including free internet access.
A pleasant breakfast room with a good basic selection of self service breakfast food including fresh fruit but no restaurant for other meals.
Very convenient as trams stop right outside the hotel to allow easy and quick access to the city centre or the airport, also across the road is a lovely park with walks and a small lake.
All in all a very pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: Traffic/trams not an issue in our front facing room as the double glazed windows (which did open) do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiverHuw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your lovely comment! We appreciate your feedback and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay! We will forward your compliments to the team and hope to welcome you again in future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Rooms we recieved two interconnecting rooms, very good breakfast, excellent cleanliness, nice staff and helping all our questions, excellent wireless in the rooms. Hotel location just 10 minutes from the city center tram Highly recommended!

*No Swimming Pool

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AssafPelrmna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your lovely comment! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us an will make sure to forward your compliments to the team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Located on the Schaffhauserstraße, through which the public transport brings you to both the airport and the city centre (10-15 mins). A medium sized hotel with a clean large (recently renovated) room with a wide bed and spacious bathroom. Staff is friendly and will help you with information around town. Breakfast is good, with a decent choice of things to eat and drink. Price/quality is okay (all inclusive package with breakfast an public trasport tickets for €160).

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vingi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your lovely comment! We appreciate your feedback and are delighted that you had a nice stay with us! We hope to welcome you again in future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Great hotel in Zurich. Easy access from the airport via the tram. Connects to the city center easily. Rooms are small but has a very comfortable bed and pillows. They serve a buffet continental breakfast for CHF15, which is reasonable with great coffee and fresh eggs. There is a supermarket 5 minutes away and several restaurants nearby. Would choose it again for my next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your lovely comment! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Real American-style air conditioning! Not just a fan systems most have. Cleanest room I ever stayed in! Rooms are a little small but they all are in Europe, has everythign you need. I have a bad back and the beds were extremely comfy, great pillows, clean clean. Excellent private bath. Very friendly staff! Not located in the center of the city which is good, quiet! Tram right across the street! Short ride to the city center and the main train station

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gpcollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for that amazing comment on TripAdvisor! We are happy that we could offer you an adequate standard what you exected.
We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again at Hotel Coronao in Zurich.
Kind regards,
You Coroando Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We arrived in Zurich to be met by a heat wave (39ᵒ C., 103 F). To our relief we found that the Coronado Hotel, not only has a free parking and a free Internet, but it has air-conditioning, which is quite rare in Zurich. There is a tram station in front of the hotel, which is very convenient. Our room was very comfortable and clean, especially the bed, though quite small. The stuff was very helpful and breakfast, surcharged, was nice. If I will ever come back to Zurich I’ll be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: Buy a daily ticket, which provides a whole day free transportation in all the available facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hava C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your nice feedback and we are delighted you had a memorable stay with us! See you soon again.
Kind regards,
Your Coronado Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
#18 of 138 in Zurich
854 reviews
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Swissotel Zurich
#34 of 138 in Zurich
2,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#40 of 138 in Zurich
1,050 reviews
Seefeld
LADYs FIRST Hotel
LADYs FIRST Hotel
#14 of 138 in Zurich
650 reviews
ibis Zurich City West
#52 of 138 in Zurich
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coronado Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronado Hotel

Address: Schaffhauserstrasse 137, Zurich 8057, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Zurich
#17 Family Hotel in Zurich
#50 Business Hotel in Zurich
#51 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $116 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coronado Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Coronado is situated centrally: 10 minutes from the airport and Zurich main station and near the University Zurich Irchel. The trams nr. 7, 9, 10 and 14 stop right in front of the house and enable you to enjoy your ride throughout the whole city. Shops, restaurants and the Irchelpark with a small romantic pond to relax are in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Coronado Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronado Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing