We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely comfortable room and friendly staff :)”
Review of Coronado Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coronado Hotel
Ranked #22 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Although my room was small, it was perect for me as a single traveler. It looked like it had been recently refurbished and i was lucky enough to have a balcony! There were lots of TV channels and the bed was comfy. The area where the hotel is a small distance from the main centre of Zurich, but there is a tram stop opposite the hotel and trams run very reguarly and the hotel staff will give you a day ticket everyday if you ask at the reception - this means you dont have to try and figure out the ticket machines :) The staff were really friendly and helpful. They booked me two excursions - a sightseeing trolley bus tour of Zurich and a day trip to Lucern - both of which Id recommend.Thank you Hotel Coronado for a lovely comfortable stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlyinbangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your friendly comment on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and ar pleased to welcom eyou soon again at our place. We are happy if we can assist our guest in every way!
Kind regards,
Your Coronado Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 427 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in a triple room whilst visiting Zurich for the weekend.

Location is very handy for public transport with a tram / bus stop right across the road (15 mins from Airport on the tram, and another 5-10 into town).

Staff very friendly and helpful, and the room was more than adequate for our needs.

There's also a nice park just across the road for morning / evening stroll.

Would definately recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mushu75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely comment and your recommendation, we appreciate it!
See you soon again at Coronado Hotel:
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I visited Zurich to do some work at the university and they arranged the hotel, the campus where I worked is across the park in front of the hotel. I couldn't have been happier with it. It is impeccably clean, my room was small by US standards but perfectly adequate, and the staff was friendly and fluent in English.

Some more tips. Switzerland was never cheap but with the Swiss Franc recently appreciating against all major currencies ($, Euro, Yen), you may be in for sticker shock. Start fighting it right away: forget about getting a cab which would be muchos dolares, instead step outside the airport terminal and take tram #10. It leaves every few minutes and it drops you off directly in front of Hotel Coronado after 20 minutes. The station is called 'Milchbuck' and stations are announced in the tram and there are also screens that show the upcoming stops. Make sure to buy the tram ticket before boarding the train and get it stamped in the same machine, you can do neither in the tram itself.

Milchbuck is a stop for 4 different tram lines so it is easy to get downtown and elsewhere. Tram #14 goes directly to the train station and Lake Zurich, some of the other lines go there, too, but on a slightly longer route.

The second money-saving trip is to get the breakfast in the hotel. It costs SFr 15.-, it is very good, and a bargain if you look at the food prices in Zurich. A single coffee (no refills) will set you back several francs even in simple establishments.

My room was on the 4th floor unto the street. With window closed and the A/C going, you could barely hear the trams. If you are very noise-sensitive, try to get a room on the back of the house.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel is probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ErnestFromBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your detailed and particularised feedback, it helps us and future guests a lot, to get a great view over our product and hotel.
See you soon again if you visit Zurich area, it's our pleasure!
Kind regards,
Your Coronado Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Good location, tram station is across the street. Takes 15 minutes to train station and 22 minutes to airport. Clean, simple/modern hotel. Good shutters and curtains on windows in rooms. Complimentary safe and chocolate. Fresh and clean linens and towels. Complimentary tea and coffee in the lobby. Helpfully staff with recomendations. Room was ready before check in time. They provided umbrellas, when we asked.
Bathroom is small, shower is very powerful, bathtub curtains are annoying. 3 rd bed mattress is too firm.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your detailed comment on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your point of view and I am sure our future guests as well, since your informations are very helpful.
See you back soon when you visit the Zurich area again.
Your Coronado Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Good location, not directly in center but excellent tram connections
Friendly staff
Excellent breakfast
Spotless cleanliness
Free car parking, which is a real plus in Zurich, where there is just no free public car parking.

Room Tip: Rooms on 5th floor are large and very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rmillen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Coronado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely words and your rating. Nice to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed the time in Zurich. Thank you for the kudo!
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Hotel Coronado just drop in, your are warmly welcome!.
Kind regards, your Coronado Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

As we had hoped, our room, 203, was clean, comfortable and quiet eventhough we faced the street. The tram, across the street, had us to the train station in 15 minutes. The staff were always helpful with advice and directions. Remo was especially helpful and had a great sense of humor. Breakfast was good, but not included in our plan. There were 14 in our party and not one complaint was heard. Coffee and tea are available in the lobby free . The bathtub was a bit treacherous to use: slippery and small. We put towel down so as not to slip. Be especially careful when using.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RONMIEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Coronado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Dear guest

We would like to thank you for your kind words and your time you have taken to share your impressions with other travelers and thank you for your kind comments about our breakfast and specially about the staff (Remo!). I am please to share your positive feedback with all our team members and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We found the staff to be very helpful in helping us find places to eat and how to use the tram. The hotel is right outside the tram so it's convenient and a short 5-10 minutes from downtown. Wifi and parking is included which is rare in Zurich. Rooms are a little small but the hotel is very nice!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krischem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Coronado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Dear guest

We are very happy our team was able to make your stay an enjoyable one and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
With kind regards from Zurich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Swissotel Zurich
#35 of 137 in Zurich
2,264 reviews
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
#18 of 137 in Zurich
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#43 of 137 in Zurich
1,016 reviews
Seefeld
Lady's First Design Hotel
Lady's First Design Hotel
#14 of 137 in Zurich
626 reviews
Langstrasse
25hours Hotel Langstrasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coronado Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronado Hotel

Address: Schaffhauserstrasse 137, Zurich 8057, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Zurich
#35 Family Hotel in Zurich
#50 Business Hotel in Zurich
#51 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $113 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coronado Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Coronado is situated centrally: 10 minutes from the airport and Zurich main station and near the University Zurich Irchel. The trams nr. 7, 9, 10 and 14 stop right in front of the house and enable you to enjoy your ride throughout the whole city. Shops, restaurants and the Irchelpark with a small romantic pond to relax are in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coronado Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronado Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing