We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“We returned to the Coronado Hotel because of the reasonable prices, convenient location, clean rooms and wonderful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coronado Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coronado Hotel
Ranked #32 of 133 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Georgetown, Colorado
Level Contributor
254 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“We returned to the Coronado Hotel because of the reasonable prices, convenient location, clean rooms and wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

we really enjoy the Coronado due to its proximity to the Univ of Zurich, excellent hiking/running trails, close to our favorite Catholic Church, excellent tram access (to city center and airport), and just six stops from the main train station (10 min) and city center.

The staff makes every effort to provide the quality of service every seasoned travel comes to expect. Our room was on the back side of the hotel (we like quieter rooms) and it was maintained to the high standards we have for cleanliness and comfort. The price is very reasonable and the size is typical for a european room.

We like the restuarants in the area (Kern Tea Room and Pastry Shop [local's treat shop] and Restaurant Kreuzstrasse [Italian]) are wonderful and the grocery Coop) are a short walk from the hotel.

The Catholic Church is two short tram stops from the hotel and they have a 5:30pm Mass. Tram 10 is a twenty minute ride from the airport and the stop is right across the street. There are several trams choices to access any part of the city. The current day pass is 8.20CHF and the cost to the airport was 2.90CHF (change or credit card are your two choices of payment).

Even though we have never tried the hotel restaurant for breakfast or dinner, but other guests have been positive in their comments.

We will return to this excellent lodging facility is the future.

Room Tip: We like the back side to avoid some of the traffic and tram noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your lovely comment! We are indeed happy to read that you are satisfied with your second stay at Hotel Coronado. Thanks for all the details regarding the hotel and the surrounding area.
We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again at Hotel Coronado!
Kind regards,
Your Coroando Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    141
    41
    7
    5
See reviews for
72
115
36
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bra, Italy
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Don't be let down by the unremarkable facade of this hotel in a very quiet, residential area of Zürich, as the reception area will lift your spirits. The lobby looks like it has been recently renovated, and the check in process was quick and easy.
We were welcomed by a very kind girl who gave us all the information we needed on how to get to the old town by tram. Lines 7 and 10 stop Milchbuck is just across the street, and a ten-minute ride will get you to Bahnhofstrasse (walking distance to the railways station, the Town House, the Old Town, etc.) Tram tickets are also available at the reception desks, as well as maps of the city.
As to the room, we were assigned to 403. It was large enough for the two of us, simple but nicely decorated, very clean, and overlooking Irchelpark. There was a king-size bed with two warm duvets, and both the pillows and the mattress were very comfortable. The bathroom was a bit on the small side and the toiletries are essential - the usual bath towels, towels, shower gel and hair drier - but again, there was everything we needed.
There's also a brand new flat-screen TV in our room, with a lot of foreign channels. Wi-fi connection is available for free, you just need to ask for the password.
Since we were traveling by car, the parking lot at the back turned out to be very useful. There are also some parking spots just in front of the main entrance.
Our internet rate didn't include breakfast, but you can have it added to your room charge for 15 Swiss Francs per person. There was a good selection for breakfast: from cereals to croissants, from from yoghurts to fruits, as well as the usual eggs, ham, and toast.
We would definitely recommend the Coronado Hotel to anyone planning a break in Zürich, as it is a very good deal for a reasonable price. And thank you to the staff for being so helpful!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Silviademick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your lovely comment and your excellent rating. It is very valuable for us and for future guest, thanks for all the details about the breakfast, rooms and the area.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you soon again when you visit Switzerland. See you soon! Kind regards,
Your Coronado Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We live in the neighborhood (just behind the hotel) and have had many visitors stay in the Coronado. They have all been delighted with their experience.

The Coronado is located at the Milcbuck tram and bus stop. The hotel is 15 minutes from Old Town and the Lake, 20 minutes from the Airport on the #10 tram, and a quick bus ride to a lovely forest with many, many miles of walking trails. And, you are across the street from the wonderful Irchel Park, about 100 acres with a pond, jogging path, tennis courts and very nice and inexpensive cafes on the University campus, just above the park.

There are several great places to eat right in the neighborhood, including the Bakery Kern and the Spanish Restaurant Gonzalez. There's a terrific Italian restaurant within walking distance, Restaurant Scala. Make a reservation at Scala on the weekend!

The hotel itself has been remodeled and all rooms are very nice, especially for the price. Service is great. The top floor rooms are bigger and well designed, and cost a bit more.

All in all, we are happy to have the hotel nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Bill,
Thank you very much for your comment on Trip Advisor. I was very happy to read, that even locals write some words about our Hotel Coronado! I appreciate it and thank you as well for the great tipps and hints about the area and restaurants, I just can agree with , the Restaurant & Pizzeria Scala is worth visiting, it is very popular among locals.
We are very happy to be your place to be nearby, hopefully for another 20 years. :)
Best regards,
Your Coronado Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt am Main
Level Contributor
369 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Hotel Coronado is a 12 - 15 minute tram ride from the city center (min. three different trams run to the city center, direct to main station and Bellevue/Lake Zurich/Opera, there also is a direct tram to the airport, aroung 20 minutes). Take a day ticket for the tram (city not airport). It costs a little as two normal tickets. They offer very reasonable prices via the main booking sides especially compared to the high prices in the middle of Zurich. Price/What you get Relation is also very good. They have enough parking space for cars.

It's a (modern) three star hotel. Nothing fancy. But You don't need more on a sightseeing trip. Rooms look quite new. They are big enough for two people to stay comfortable. Bathrooms are a little bit to small, but all in all okay. No aircon. Madresses are soft, but still oaky. Breakfast is 15 Swiss Franken a person, for Zurich a fair price. We didn't have breakfast. We - it's our second visit at the Coronado - took a room to the back. At the frontside the trams are running. But - to be fair - we can't say anything about the noise on that side. Back side is very calm.

We'll come again, definitly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TundB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your nice words, all the useful directions and naturally the recommendation, we like!
It helps future guests extremly to find an adequate hotel in a city of dozens of hotels.
We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again at Hotel Coronado!
Your Coronado Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrie, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Wow! Stayed 1 night at Coronado hotel (last night of a 4 week European holiday) with our 2 kids aged 6 and 9, we were weary and looking forward to home. Getting into our room was a lovely surprise, top floor with beautiful big windows looking out over the park across the road. The room was spotless and spacious. The kids loved the blue lighting and heated floor of the bathroom! So easy to get there from the tram even with all our bags, it stops right across the road. Excellent service from the front desk staff morning and night, maps and directions given very helpfully! I was very Impressed the the amount of in room information supplied, this is a hotel that has thought of everything possible to make your stay easy and enjoyable, from free fresh fruit at the front desk, restaurant recommendations complete with which tram and the name of the stop to offering to print boarding passes for further travel. Someone has been thinking! Breakfast was ok, meats and cheeses were dried out and uninspiring but good range of other items to select from. Tea and coffee available in foyer as desired (self serve) would be nice to see maybe some hot chocolate too as my kids felt they were missing out when we had a cup of tea after a winter walk. A great family accommodation option, would recommend!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Amanda,
Thank you very much for your nice comment on Trip Advisor! We are happy to hear that we could offer you an amazing end of your European Trip. Thanks for all the honest and helpful inputs, for us and for future guests, we appreciate it.
Hopefully, you and your family had a good journey back home and the kids are well. See you soon, Europe and Switzerland is worth a second visit!
Kind regards,
Your Coronado Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is a great hotel, if you want to be close to the center of town, but not right smack in the middle. It gives you a sense of how the 'natives' live. From the train station it is about 10 min. with the tram and only one so hop on, sit, and you're there.

The hotel is very clean. The rooms are a nice size for Switzerland. It has everything you need, hair dryers, TV, phone, soaps & stuff and more. The front desk is run by two people 8morning & night shift) and they like their jobs, which you'll get to feel. Breakfast is good.

Restaurants nearby as well as the main tram station directly across the street. The reception will aid you in anyway they can.

A nice middle class hotel for both vacationers as well as business tripers.

Room Tip: buy your tram or city tickets at the front desk...than you don't have to collect all that change...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fleddi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your honest feedback and the rating, we appreciate it! Naturally we share the kudos with all our staff.
Thanks for the exact description of the area and the hotel, it helps future guests for sure to find an adequate hotel in Zurich.
See you soon!
Kind regards,
Your Coronado Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
163 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The staff at this hotel is fantastic. They will do anything to help and they speak multi languages including English and French (and German of course). The breakfast was nice and quiet, small but good choices. Rooms are very clean and easily accessed through the elevator.
First small "hickup" is that the bathroom is very small, but manageable; Second "major hickup" is that the bed is like a trampoline. Whenever one of us moved the other one moved up of down a lot; and it is not a water bed. Major improvement required in that bedding. Downtown Zurich is very accessible (and not affordable!) with the tram right across the street. That was very convenient. Get a day pass, a city pass or a museum pass and you'll be in business. Parked the car in front with no problem.Very nice hotel, but they have to fix those beds.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heloguy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your nice comment and your rating. nice to hear that you had a memorable stay with us. Referring the beds, you can put your mind at rest, we are indeed changing the beds. There will be modern and healthy new pattern, you might test it the next time you visit Zurich? It would be a pleasure to welcome you again at our place.
Kind regards,
Your Coronado Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Sternen Oerlikon Hotel
#26 of 133 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Mercure Stoller Zurich
#38 of 133 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 stars 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#16 of 133 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 563 reviews
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
#19 of 133 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 stars 655 reviews
Hotel Montana
#39 of 133 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 stars 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coronado Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronado Hotel

Property: Coronado Hotel
Address: Schaffhauserstrasse 137, Zurich 8057, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Zurich
#34 Family Hotel in Zurich
#49 Business Hotel in Zurich
#50 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coronado Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Coronado is situated centrally: 10 minutes from the airport and Zurich main station and near the University Zurich Irchel. The trams nr. 7, 9, 10 and 14 stop right in front of the house and enable you to enjoy your ride throughout the whole city. Shops, restaurants and the Irchelpark with a small romantic pond to relax are in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelBookers and Priceline so you can book your Coronado Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronado Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing