We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at a very nice hotel”
Review of Coronado Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coronado Hotel
Ranked #25 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I have chosen this hotel based on ranking on this site and also for its location. The tram station (Milchbuck) is right across the hotel, ideal for those coming by plane, the centre of the city also accessible by tram (10 min). And UniZurich is 5 minute away by foot. The price was correct for Zurich area.
The staff was friendly, especially the receptionist at check-in, in the evening, was very helpful and with a solid sense of humour (in English!). The lobby is very cosy to meet a friend to have a tea cup or some tasty cinnamon-lime-apple jus prepared in house.
The room was small, but indeed of regular size for Switzerland (I've been in way smaller rooms in Geneve!), everything is extra clean and the bathroom (with a huge bathtub) was great. The breakfast assortment was good (eggs, several kinds of cheese, meat products, fruits - raw and in salad - , Muesli and cereals, croissants, various jams, teas and coffee (can't say if good, I'm a tea person) and so on).
I had a room in the right wing with a view to the backyard and in the early morning I could hear the traffic on the street (the hotel is close to a crossroads), still not too noisy.

Room Tip: Rooms in the right wing are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana_Irina_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear Ana,
Thank you for the time taken to write such a nice comment.
We are open for any kind of feedback; but prefer, of course the positive comments we are getting from our guests.
We are delighted you had a memorable stay with us and will make sure to forward your compliments to the team.
See you back soon at Hotel Coronado, greeting to Cluj-Napoca!
Your Coronado Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 435 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

We chose the Coronado Hotel because it was reasonably priced for Zurich, it offered on site parking and was conveniently located for central Zurich. The room was small, but comfortable and very clean. There was a tramstop directly outside the hotel, with very frequent trams and just 10mins into the centre of Zurich. The staff couldn't have been more helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weekenderpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear Paul,
Thank you very much for your honest feedback. We appreciate real statements, so it makes it easier for prospective guests finding a good value hotel in Zurich.
It would be a pleasure to welcoming you soon again!
Kind regards,
Your Hotel Coronado Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I picked this hotel because tram no. 10, that stops outside the hotel, runs to the international airport in 20 minutes. Rooms are very clean and the decor is very nice, probably the nicest of all the hotels I've stayed in during this trip. My kids love the big LCD TV (which was a nice change compared to the 14 inch CRT TVs in some of the other hotels). There's also a very nice university park across the road, great place for a stroll.

However, do note that it's a 10 minutes tram ride to the city centre so some may prefer to stay in the city itself and just walk to and from the hotel.

The staff are very friendly, professional and very helpful. The only complaint I have is that breakfast at SF 15 is slightly spartan, especially after the great spread we had at Neuhaus hotel in Interlaken. However, this is Zurich so guess it's a more expensive city.

Room Tip: Attic rooms for family have great views !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Daniel,
Thank you very much for your rating and your comment on TripAdvisor. Nice to hear that you and your kids had an amazing time at the Hotel Coronado. The mentioned directions are very helpful for future guests, so they hava an reasonable view of the location.
Referring the breakfast, we are checking several new standards and are grateful for all kind of inputs, thank for the hint in Interlaken.
Just drop by, when you next time visit Zurich, it would be our plesure!
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed 3 nights here for sightseeing in Zurich.

Pros: It takes only 7-10 minutes tram (no 14) between hotel and station Bahnhof HB. Where you can enjoy your walk in Bahnhof-strasse, Burkli-platz and the old down. The hotel is very clean, quiet with home feel. Free wifi. Service is good with free apple supplied. Room rate should be economy in Zurich.

Cons: The room is comparatively small. Room door is not automatically locked that you have to bring room key outside.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nakaaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for rating us and TA and your comment. Thank you for your inputs, too, we appreciate it. We are looking to welcoming you soon again at Hotel Coronado.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed at this hotel during a business trip do Zurich. I actually picked it based on the location of my business meeting. It's a bit far from the center, you will need to take a tram to reach it, however, there are several and they are very frequent. The room was very small, bed was OK, mini bar was full. Actually sleep quality could have been much improved if they simply had a normal set of bedsheets instead of simply the down comforter inside a duvet. So it was either too hot or too cold (w or w/o) and I kept waking up during the night...
It was clean, breakfast was very basic (and 15F a day).
Overall, considering the prices of the hotels in Zurich I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mia2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Mia,
Thank you very much for your comment and the rating on TripAdvisor. Your inputs are very helpful so we can regularily improve our standards and the guest's comfort.
Hope to see you soon again in Zurich if you drop by in Hotel Coronado!
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is a clean, efficient, conveniently located hotel with very friendly and accommodating staff. We were guests of the University of Zürich and did not see the bill so we can't comment on value, except, it seems others are content with the price.

Typically sturdy Swiss windows (that can be opened for fresh air), and a sound and light resistant electronic shutter system, helped make sleeping easier. The living area and bathrooms were not large, but certainly satisfactory, and the shower was excellent!

I would like to single out a man named Remo in particular; he works at the desk in the evenings. The fellow has a great sense of humor and was able to joke and kid in English; I'm sure he can pull this off in other languages too. He loaned us a power converter, a special pillow for my wife, and helped us navigate the super convenient tram system. I wish I knew the name of the woman who serviced the breakfast buffet because she does a spectacular job! The offerings were quite good and fresh too! This was far more than a simple continental breakfast, and included an assortment of fresh breads, croissants, pastries, jams (including Lite), yogurt, fresh fruit, Birchermüesli, nuts, boiled eggs, cold cereals, meats, cheeses, coffee, espresso, and a variety of teas.

Room Tip: Our room was #308 and we were very happy with it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear Gregory,
Thank you very much for your nice words and your rating on TA. We will give the kudos forward to our staff, that puts suddendly a smile on their face. Thank you also for the detailled information about the hotel and breakfast, it is a valuable help for future guests, what they can expect.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Hotel Coronado.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The Coronado Hotel is a very nice hotel; clean, and on the tram line-great for travel ease! Our room did not have air conditioning, but my brother's room across the hall did-strange!! Our room did have a nice floor fan and that was wonderful-didn't miss the a.c.!! Our room was very nice and the bed, very comfortable! The hotel staff is kind and helpful! We enjoyed the lemonade and coffee provided in the lobby! The outside doesn't reflect the inside so don't worry when you first see the hotel front-not that it is bad, but it could use a little freshening up!!!! Stay here, you won't be disappointed and the price pretty good for Zurich!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJMBtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Coronado Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your rating and your nice comment. Referring the a/c irritation unfortunately we need to renovate some of the a/c's in the rooms normally and latest for your next stay, all rooms are well equipped with airconditioning.
Thank you for your inputs and we are looking forward to welcoming you soon again at Hotel Coronado.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
#17 of 137 in Zurich
842 reviews
Swissotel Zurich
#34 of 137 in Zurich
2,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#41 of 137 in Zurich
1,040 reviews
Sternen Oerlikon Hotel
#37 of 137 in Zurich
407 reviews
Seefeld
LADYs FIRST Hotel
LADYs FIRST Hotel
#14 of 137 in Zurich
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coronado Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronado Hotel

Address: Schaffhauserstrasse 137, Zurich 8057, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Zurich
#17 Family Hotel in Zurich
#50 Business Hotel in Zurich
#51 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $114 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coronado Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Coronado is situated centrally: 10 minutes from the airport and Zurich main station and near the University Zurich Irchel. The trams nr. 7, 9, 10 and 14 stop right in front of the house and enable you to enjoy your ride throughout the whole city. Shops, restaurants and the Irchelpark with a small romantic pond to relax are in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Coronado Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronado Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing