We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, great price - perfect for an overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arlette Am Hauptbanhof Hotel
Ranked #103 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Monmouth
Level Contributor
130 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Good location, great price - perfect for an overnight stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Arrived at 11pm on a Friday wet night, hotel was a easy walk from the Train station. I had a room at the rear - smaller but quiet as the front street seemed a bit busy with cars using it as a shortcut.
Clean and air con was a bonus. It's a bit dated but well maintained.
I overslept so had no time for breakfast - the receptionist (one of the family I think) promptly ushered me through to select items to take away.
Free wifi too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tig121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    74
    26
    4
    2
See reviews for
11
37
35
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff Wales
Level Contributor
219 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stayed one night in this hotel in December went to see the Zurich Christmas market in the rail station which is well worth a visit. The hotel is in a great location a short distance from the railway station and city centre. Zurich is an expensive city and this is reflected in the hotel price.
Our room was clean, comfortable and quiet which is all you can ask for. The staff were friendly and helpful. As with many city hotels of this standard the breakfast was basic.
Would stay again if we return to Zurich.

Room Tip: We had a room looking out onto the road on the first floor, no real noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tafftraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

I used to have people book my hotels for me. Times are difficult and I am in charge of my own travel arrangments. In booking this hotel I booked the wrong dates. This did not bode well as I had a very important meeting first thing on Monday morning with one of the Swiss regulators. However the man at the reception told me it was not a problem as he'd lots of spare rooms. I got a single room from the 1970s. Wonderful. During the night I was kept awake by the thought of the meeting with the Swiss regulator being booked wrongly. The breakfast was gentle nudge towards thrift and economy but again all the better for it. The meeting was correctly
arranged and everything turned out well. The stairs to the first floor has a large rope attached to the wall instead of a banister. Good idea this I am going to change t rope banisters at home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John1234Paphos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Great location. 5 minute walk from train station and old town. Outdated rooms but were fine. Tv fine and free wifi. The average rating comes from the works hotel continental breakfast we had on the trip. Just a few basic things offered. Very nice front desk staff. Would stay here again for a short stay or if the price was a little lower than neighboring hotels.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

I used an internet booking site to get a fair price for my 4-night stay in expensive Zurich. When I travel to Europe each year I usually stay away from the chain hotels because I want my experience to be as close to typical as possible for the city I'm visiting. Having said all that, I found the Arlette to be a great choice for someone who is traveling solo like I did this time. Yes it is old and dated, but I found the Arlette quite homey, its staff very helpful and pleasant, and a clean room and bathroom. And what a bonus to see the elevator in the lobby, air conditioning in the room, and wifi service...even a computer with printer for guests' use. I did discover a wet carpet on my 2nd day but they moved my things so meticulously to another room while I was out and about. The included breakfast was enough to jump start my day of sightseeing. I couldn't ask for more than the basket of good bread with butter/jam and a pot of good coffee with steamed milk on the side.

As for convenience, the nearby rail station has an underground network of shops and food options for take away. The Central Plaza was the hub of numerous tram lines and a few blocks farther was the terminal for the sightseeing coaches. The old town was a short walk as well; there you'll find all kinds of Swiss and international restaurants if you prefer sit-down service. Despite all this, I found the hotel to be quiet and conducive for a restful stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank REA-WashDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

From the friendly reception to the comfortable room with all facilities this was a great find.
It is a very easy walk from the main station, the famous Bahnhofstrasse and the old town area. Although close to the action it was quiet. Good wifi was available at minimal cost.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ruthpbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
124 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

We only stayed there for one night before catching our plane the next day and one night was enough! The only positive things I can think of are: location (5 min walk from train station) and price. Other than that, we couldn't wait to get out of there. it's unfortunate because it has potential but everything is so old.

The room was not very clean, the carpet was stained really bad (it looked like water stains; maybe the A/C system leaked at some point?). There was a bad "grease + cigarette" smell that was really disgusting. The decoration is so old. The window had mold on it. Amenities were poor, everything was extra such as Internet or a simple hard boiled egg for breakfast (CHF 2.50!!!). To top it off, even though the staff was helpful, the only time I saw the manager smiling is when I paid my room before leaving...

I see that a lot of people only stay there for one night just before catching a plane or a train. Just do that, don't spend more than one night there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NebuCad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Limmathof
Limmathof
#87 of 138 in Zurich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Walhalla Hotel
#33 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#44 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Leoneck Swiss Hotel
#49 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arlette Am Hauptbanhof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arlette Am Hauptbanhof Hotel

Property: Arlette Am Hauptbanhof Hotel
Address: Stampfenbachstrasse 26, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Arlette Am Hauptbanhof Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Arlette Am Hauptbanhof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arlette Am Hauptbanhof zürich
Hotel Arlette Am Hauptbanhof

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing