We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hi”
Review of Langstars

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Langstars
Ranked #13 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Zurich
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    33
    28
    11
    12
See reviews for
1
8
59
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I stayed here as part of my working-trip to Switzerland. The bedding was clean, but I recall having red spots on my arms and legs a few days after arriving in the hostel (potentially bed-bug bites, although this is not definite). The hostel is located along "Langstrasse", a street which divides opinion. Some feel this is lively, and has lots of things happening. I feel it is sleazy and has an edgy, dangerous vibe about it. Loud music can also be heard from within rooms, which is non-stop on Friday and Saturday nights. On the negative side, I had my laptop stolen in this very hostel, when having a buffet breakfast. The doors are open in the summer, and many weird people walk into roam the bar area. Upon alerting staff about my missing laptop, the reaction was surprising. They were not too bothered and advised me to report it to the police. They were not inquisitive, didn't ask about how it went missing etc. This was very disappointing. I cannot recommend this place based on my experience, but for a hostel, it was clean and is in a central location. If you are into the clubbing scene, and can look after yourself / are not too afraid of rough neighbourhoods, then this place is fine. If you are travelling alone, or return to your room late at night, I would probably avoid this place, and stay somewhere along Neiderdorfstrasse (other side of river), which is far more friendly, safe, and has many other tourists/travellers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesredmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tain-l'Hermitage, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Noisy Noisy Noisy and Noisy. The Hostel is Rubbish, Located in the middle of what must be a red light district, with drunks and beggars walking the street day and night it not the best location to encourage Travellers to stay.One would think. The music down stairs is thumping till 3am I could hear every song chance very clearly and I was on the third floor. No curtains means the rooms are like day light al nigh.t With one toilet and one shower per floor in the same room, which could be used by up to 12 people, Time your showering and rest times carefully. The Kitchen is not worth mentioning it consisted of one glass and a microwave

Room Tip: Stay else where
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skiptripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Zurich hotels

Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

not a bad location. The street is probably the dirtiest in Zurich. The beding sinks!.on the other hand, the staff are really friendly and helpful and the freedrinks are great (although the main sellers seem to be smartly priced?)

Not a bad hotel if you really want something rock bottom.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lordwheelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

WAS SOOOO GOOD STAYING HERE! Loved the street (bohemian party-district) and the great staff. Met some cool locals at the bar. Several times a week live concerts and crowded bar. Rooms were basic (logically, for it’s the cheapest option in town) but everything you need is there. Everyday good cleaning.

Only can recommend it! Thought Zurich will be a bit boring, but this place is in the middle oft the coolest area. Multicultural, Party-mile. Some prositutes and drog people on the street, but still super-safe, still Switzerland. Saw two beautiful concert in the hostel bar which was crowded with a good mix of backpackers and locals.

Langstars, thank you so much! Was only here for one night, but had such a good time! Was drinking with locals and other backpackers at the Hostel-Bar. Hostel staff was such good fun and very lovely.. Was even participating at the jam session with other professional musicians. Rooms were clean and much better then expected for that cheap price.

Had such a good time in this Hostel. Especially loved the house-own-bar! Several concerts and DJ’s on the weekends and jam session on Wednesday. Lovely staff, very good vibes!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tvedestrand, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

This were the cheapest I could find in Zurich so thats way I got there. The staff is nice and sleeping in a room with 10+ strangers isn´t really that bad either. You get to know them well and have fun together. The problem for me here was as many others the location. The street outside isn´t the best Zurich have to offer. A lot of scary people, I was threatened to by drugs right outside the entrance by a very scary man, happy that I got loose. And the street was never quiet during the night. But the sleeping facility itself is really good compared to the price, I really liked the bar area at night downstairs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vetle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2013

This backpacker's located in the middle of the party street of Zurich. It's an interesting bohemian area (red light, multicultural, arty), but not dangerous at all.. Zurich's massively overpriced and therefor it's not cheap staying there, but I guess you can't find anything cheaper which is inclusive breakfast.
Staff is great, met locals at the bar and saw some cool live acts there. If I'm ever in Zurich again, I'll for sure be staying there!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraPoppins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Langstrasse
easyHotel Zurich
easyHotel Zurich
#114 of 139 in Zurich
409 reviews
Hotel Rothaus
#123 of 139 in Zurich
165 reviews
Hotel St. Gotthard
#31 of 139 in Zurich
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Langstrasse
25hours Hotel Langstrasse
Hotel Montana
#45 of 139 in Zurich
894 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#19 of 139 in Zurich
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langstars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langstars

Property: Langstars
Address: Langstrasse 120, Zurich 8004, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Langstrasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Langstars 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New hostel at the party mile of Zurich with free breakfast and concerts in the hostel-bar.We offer 26 beds at the famous Langstrasse near the main train station. By now we offer 3 dorms (6-bed female only / 8-bed & 12-bed mixed) and a cool cafe-bar on the ground-floor for a moderate price. Soon we will offer some more roomsLangstars is a nice place to know Zurich. You have the chance to meet locals and other travellers at the cool bar downstairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Langstars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing