We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Krone”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
Ranked #22 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel Krone”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Everything was fine. The stuff is very polite and the accommodation is good. I spent too nice days in this hotel. Only one thing is bothering me. 250 CHF that was withdrawn from my card for room booking and that were promised to be returned immediately after check out are still not on my card. Two weeks have passed!!! I am sorry but I will not stay in your hotel.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Dmytro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
differente, Manager at Hotel Krone Unterstrass, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are happy to hear, that in general you had a pleasant stay in our hotel. First of all, we would like to apologize for your inconvenience concerning your credit card issues. We would like to explain as follows: Before the guests arrival, we make a reservation on the provided credit card as a security for the hotel. This procedure is common in the industry. However, the card is not charged, we are only holding a certain amount. After the guests departure, we inform our credit card company to release this reservation. Normally that is taken care of within 24 hours. In your case, we would need to know your credit card details in order to check what happend with the reservation. We therefore kindly ask you to contact us directly and inform us about these details. We would like to point out, that we never have the intention to block anything on the guests credit card after they have checked out. We would be therefore very happy, if you can contact us directly and we assure you, that we will look into this issue immediately. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    322
    70
    16
    12
See reviews for
110
223
70
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morwell, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel.
We searched high and low for a hotel in a good location that didn't cost too much and I believe we found it. Switzerland is an expensive country and Zurich in particular, but found the room rates good.
Bathroom is big and is the first hotel I've come across with a his and hers sink.

Staff were just fantastic and helped us with all our enquiries. They also have Zurich metro/tram tickets at the front desk that you can charge to your room.

The hotel was a 5 minute ride to the main station so it is really easy to get to from the airport etc.

The restaurant for the hotel is top quality, I had a roast duck brest meal that was to die for.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nalbon83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The hotel was located on tram lines 11 & 14, which was perfect for us since we were attending a concert at Hallenstadion. (It's a good 15-20 min walk to the city centre so I wouldn't stay there if it were only to visit the centre since there are hotels closer by.)

The service was very friendly, both at the reception and at the restaurant. The room was very clean, bright. The bed was quite small and (too firm for my bad back). The bathroom is also tiny(but nicely designed), but it was fine for two young girls travelling.

In the bedroom, I found the umbrella a very nice touch (there is one umbrella that you can borrow - very handy since you never know what the weather will be like), and so was the welcome drink (despite the very late hour, we were served with a smile).

Overall, it was very nice - I guess rather catered for a younger crowd.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarita_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, room is not that big but comfortable and very clean. The tram stop is conveniently located right across the front door. Quiet neighborhood but city center is only 5-min away by tram. A great deal overall.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dtilaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We found that the hotel was very good indeed with two points to make where improvements are needed. We booked a double room and found a very small bed and only one bedside table. We did not say anything about this until we were leaving and were asked if everything was ok. It seems that if we had complained they would have given us a bigger room with a bed with 2 mattresses. Why should one have to complain to get a room with a bed big enough for two?

Service in the restaurant on Sunday was not very good. Other days bright efficient staff on duty.

Room Tip: Check the size of the bed.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 211Marianh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
differente, Manager at Hotel Krone Unterstrass, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you very much for your comment and the time you have dedicated to inform us about your opinion. We are very happy to hear that you were in general satisfied with your stay in our hotel. We apologize again, that you were not accommodated in a room with a bigger bed. As pointed out, we would have been very happy to assign you another room during your stay. Since upon reservation there was not clearly a twin room requested, we have assigned a double room with a queen size bed. Please let us know for you next stay with us, what kind of room you would like and we are happy to cater to your wishes. Have a wonderful summer time and thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Apartments at back of hotel were spacious and quiet, and very nicely set up. Extra facility to self cater if you want. Umbrella provided in room proved very useful!
Hotel located beside tram stop which made getting around very easy. Also within walking distance of the centre of town.
Buffet breakfast excellent with wide choice of foods to suit all tastes.
Very good value in Zurich

Room Tip: Apartments at rear of hotel spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Good Points:-
Friendly and helpful receptionist
Provided us with a nice quiet room at the back of the hotel as requested
Food in restaurant was very good. Ate there on our first night and thought it was a bit expensive but later we found out how expensive all Zurich restaurants are.
Tram stop right outside hotel made for easy access to city centre (or 15 minute walk) and only 30 minutes from airport with one change.

Not so good:-
Design of shower and having a short shower curtain meant we flooded the bathroom each time we used it.
Waitresses in restaurant could smile a bit more.
Girl came straight into our room at 09:45 to check the mini-bar without knocking first. My wife was still in bed! (we're on holiday so allowed to sleep in occasionally). The girl wasn't very apologetic about it. We used the Do Not Disturb sign thereafter.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back. The front can be very noisy from the trams.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalo_Chorio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Seefeld
Lady's First Design Hotel
Lady's First Design Hotel
#16 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Coronado Hotel
#28 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Swissotel Zurich
#40 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,149 reviews
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#18 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Krone Unterstrass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Krone Unterstrass

Property: Hotel Krone Unterstrass
Address: Schaffhauserstrasse 1, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Zurich
#19 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#22 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#26 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Krone Unterstrass 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Hotel Krone in Zurich Unterstrass is a modern city and business hotel with tradition. Top quality, sustainability, outstanding service and hospitality are our core values. Our city hotel was founded in 1720 and has been one of Zurich's most renowned places to stay ever since. Fully renovated and equipped with the very latest services, the hotel offers all the amenities that the discerning guest who wants only the best would require. Ideally located in a fashionable part of the city, our hotel is just a few minutes away from Zurich's main railway station, the conference centre, the Hallenstadion multi-purpose facility, the Zurich exhibition grounds, the university and the ETH Swiss Federal Institute of Technology. The 'Kronenstrasse' tram stop is just in front of our door. The journey to and from Zurich Airport takes just 20 minutes. Zurich's sights, such as the historic town centre, the Grossmünster (Great Minister), the Bahnhofstrasse main street and Lake Zurich, are just a comfortable five or ten minutes away. Our rooms range from the cosy and comfortable through to the top-quality and luxurious. The excellent restaurant, meeting facilities and banquet rooms make the Hotel Krone the ideal place for your next visit to the city. It is the perfect place for an overnight stay after a visit to the Zurich trade fair or for your business event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Krone Unterstrass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krone Unterstrass Hotel
Best Western Zurich
Krone Unterstrass zürich
zürich Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing