We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Was woken up by an almighty noice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Montana
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Konradstrasse 39, Zurich 8005, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 133 Hotels in Zurich
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Was woken up by an almighty noice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The receptionist, whom I later found out was the manager, welcomed us to the hotel, took our details, my companion provided his credit card I had my passport handy gave it to her. She scanned it. Standard procedure, all good. She was charming. Had dinner retired early to bed as we had a busy schedule ahead.

The hotel was fine, I particular remember the bed linen was crisp and inviting. The dinner was good and the waitress was particularly nice and friendly. BUT...

At about 11ish, we were woken up by an extremely loud knock on the door. It was the night manager, demanding very rudely to see our documents, threatening me with the police. I gave him all the information required, half asleep, not understanding what the problem was.

It transpired that the receptionist-manager should have scanned the passport of the credit card holder. By not doing so, the police could have turned up!

That is absolutely fine. I have no problem with that. My disatisfaction lies on the way the matter was handled by the night manager Mr. Rozas Rinaldo. He was unapologetically rude, challenging and inconsiderate to his guests. I could not sleep at all after that. So it was not good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mlmena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiebke K, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Montana, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear mlmena
thank you that you give us your feedback on your stay. Even if your feedback, unfortunately, in some aspects is not positive, but it helps us to constantly improve ourselves in our work. According to your feedback, we have reviewed our internal processes. I'm very sorry that my employee wanted to discuss the situation on the same evening with you. Because of your helpful objection we will now communicate missing data directly at check out. This guarantees a carefree stay at our hotel.

I very much hope that we may welcome you and your husband on your next bike ride through Europe in our hotel.

Best Regards and many greetings from Zürich
Wiebke Kuhlmei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    359
    145
    30
    25
See reviews for
132
257
78
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denbigh North Wales
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Selected by our travel agent because of proximity to the Hofbahnhof. ( turn left at end of platform out onto Museum street. Left till you get to some bike sheds then cross the road leaving the trams on your right. Turn Left by a restaurant and carry on down the street past sex shop and it is on your left.
Warm welcome, good room, notice to say that tea and coffee available 24 hours from reception they will bring up if they are not busy. As it happened did not avail ourselves of this service. Would prefer own kettle.
Noise from street in evenings only problem, (we had arrived in sudden heatwave.)
Buffet brekfast with hot bacon eggs and sausages, and cold meats and cheeses, breads croisants, cereals, fresh fruit, unlimited coffee.
Main snag was that the restaurant was not open Sunday evening
We had two nights on the way to a reunion in the mountains and wanted to see Zurich

Room Tip: May be better to ask for one on the back of the hotel. Away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrTimW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiebke K, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Montana, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Mr. DrTimW

Thank you fo taking time to rewiev your stay. I am very happy, that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and in our beautiful city Zürich.
I hope to welcome your again and wish you all the best

Best Regards

Wiebke Kuhlmei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is a lovely renovated hotel...their breakfast is great..The location is good too (right behind Zürich Hauptbahnhof) its a great place for a one night say for the sake of convenience. finding the hotel is a little bit of a challenge (if you walking from the station) ....theres a big sign on a building saying hotel montana 3 stars followed by 3 arrows....which at the first glance makes you think thats the hotel...only to find out the hotel is just around the corner...(you have to follow the arrows)

Room Tip: ask for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenise211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
86 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Very well located, just steps away from the train station, bus station and a starbucks. Rooms r small as usual in europe, and no airconditioning or fan. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast with veg options. Overall would recommend this hotel. Had gone to Zurich to attend a one direction concert and really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suruchisethia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Malaysia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was an ok hotel for a 1 night stay. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the breakfast was very good - hot food included.
The rooms were very small (and expensive for the size) and hot - we had to have the window open to cool it down.
We walked from the train station.
We really enjoyed the day in Zurich, it was easy to catch the tram and walk around the old part of town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mandocc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We used this for a one night stop over. It was very organised,clean and reasonably priced compared to other hotels we had looked at in this proximity . Room was hot but windows could be opened. we had a triple room for 3 adults and there was plenty of room.We were slightly confused finding the hotel as we could see (from the station) a large painted sign advertising the hotel which we followed - only to discover it was on top of a Chinese restaurant (slight panic) but they then pointed us around the corner to where the actual entrance was.
The staff were exceptionally helpful and wi-if access in the rooms. . The restaurant looked empty and we expected to be told that food was limited but to our amazement everything was available and it was delicious. The waiter using his English language skills to explain the menu to us.
Breakfast was good , although busy, but things were replenished and tea brought to the table or help yourself to coffee .
Excellent place for a stopover.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank micksmith9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Walhalla Hotel
#24 of 133 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 stars 535 reviews
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#44 of 133 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 stars 784 reviews
Old Town
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
#35 of 133 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel du Theatre
Hotel du Theatre
#59 of 133 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 stars 436 reviews
Gewerbeschule
Walhalla Guest House
Walhalla Guest House
#84 of 133 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#14 of 133 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montana

Property: Hotel Montana
Address: Konradstrasse 39, Zurich 8005, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 133 Hotels in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montana 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Montana Zurich is located 300 metres from the Zurich Main Station, in a quiet side street close to the Sihl River. It offers stylish rooms and free Wi-Fi. All rooms feature elegant, modern furniture, a flat-screen satellite TV, Tea,- Coffee Kettle, a safe, a direct-dial telephone with voice mail, and a bathroom. The restaurant serves a hearty breakfast buffet . The Hotel Montana also features an underground car park and a 24-hour reception. The centre of Zurich and the Bahnhofstrasse shopping street are only a 10-minute walk away. All sights and attractions of Zurich can be easily reached on foot or by public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Montana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Montana
Best Western zürich
Best Western Zurich
zürich Best Western
Hotel Montana Zurich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing