We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located”
Review of Hotel Montana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Montana
Ranked #46 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
90 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Well located”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Very well located, just steps away from the train station, bus station and a starbucks. Rooms r small as usual in europe, and no airconditioning or fan. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast with veg options. Overall would recommend this hotel. Had gone to Zurich to attend a one direction concert and really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suruchisethia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    434
    175
    33
    26
See reviews for
156
313
113
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Malaysia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was an ok hotel for a 1 night stay. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the breakfast was very good - hot food included.
The rooms were very small (and expensive for the size) and hot - we had to have the window open to cool it down.
We walked from the train station.
We really enjoyed the day in Zurich, it was easy to catch the tram and walk around the old part of town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandocc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We used this for a one night stop over. It was very organised,clean and reasonably priced compared to other hotels we had looked at in this proximity . Room was hot but windows could be opened. we had a triple room for 3 adults and there was plenty of room.We were slightly confused finding the hotel as we could see (from the station) a large painted sign advertising the hotel which we followed - only to discover it was on top of a Chinese restaurant (slight panic) but they then pointed us around the corner to where the actual entrance was.
The staff were exceptionally helpful and wi-if access in the rooms. . The restaurant looked empty and we expected to be told that food was limited but to our amazement everything was available and it was delicious. The waiter using his English language skills to explain the menu to us.
Breakfast was good , although busy, but things were replenished and tea brought to the table or help yourself to coffee .
Excellent place for a stopover.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micksmith9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located adjacent to the train station and the tour bus depot -- and for runners -- the running trail alongside the Limmat River. The room was a bit tiny for two but clean and adequate. The Wi-Fi really bogged down in the evening so much that we gave up using it, but it ran perfectly well in the morning. Breakfast was good and staff friendly. This is certainly fine for a couple days and a good way to economize in an expensive city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, Usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Located at Konradstrasse 39, 8005 Zürich. This hotel is short walking distance from the main railroad station, all level ground. But it is very quiet. Because most everything centers around the main railroad station this made it very convenient for us. It is very near a tram stop. And we enjoyed our stay here very much. The people behind the desk were very friendly, and very helpful. The breakfast that is included was also very good. When we return to Zürich, we will stay here again. It is a hotel that although close to everything is off the beaten path. Very convenient!

Room Tip: Avoid top floor - it is under the eaves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed on 2 separate nights on 14 May and 27 May. This was our transit hotel as our flights were from zurich. This hotel is very near to the railway station. If you knew where to walk , it was a short walk after crossing the road from one of the exits of the Zurich HB railway station.

The first night, we stayed in room 206, it had a modern decor. A bit spartan, and lacked a coffee/tea maker. This was quite a standard inclusion in other countries that we visited before, and we were suprised that it wasn't there. The safe didn't seem to be working and the mini bar was sealed with a sticker, we were not sure if this meant it was not available for use or what.

The second night, we stayed at room 115, this was not so modern style(not sure what style its called), anyway, the cupboards were of the old wooden standalone type. Again the coffee maker was not there.
This room 115 had very bad ventilation. I feedback to the reception and they brought me a portable ventilator, apparently the hotel didn't have air conditioning. Though I noticed a temperature control on the wall by the toilet, turning it didn't have any effect. At night, the toilet filled up with a cigarette smoke smell. I am not sure where it came from, but I suspect it could have drifted in from the ventilation blower in the toilet, which didn't seem to be functioning. We couldn't stand the smell and had to aim the portable ventilator at the toilet door.

The staff were friendly and helpful.
The breakfast was good. Though on both days, I had to pour my own coffee and there was no refill when it ran out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yclum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

A sort 5 minute walk (with luggage) from the Hauptbahnof. A real advantage if you only have a few days to visit Zurich. Easy walking distance of the old town on both sides of the river and to the main shopping streets.
Rooms are reasonable size (for Europe) with king bed, chair & table, desk and free WiFi. Spotlessly clean. Good bath and shower.
Staff are very friendly and helpful.
Included breakfast gives choice of European and/or full English (American) with the best croissants!
Three minute walk to several tour options which we do when time is limited. Only spending 2 days here in Zurich.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#44 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Walhalla Hotel
#35 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Gewerbeschule
Walhalla Guest House
Walhalla Guest House
#90 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leoneck Swiss Hotel
#45 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#17 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
#21 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montana

Property: Hotel Montana
Address: Konradstrasse 39, Zurich 8005, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montana 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Montana Zurich is located 300 metres from the Zurich Main Station, in a quiet side street close to the Sihl River. It offers stylish rooms and free Wi-Fi. All rooms feature elegant, modern furniture, a flat-screen satellite TV, Tea,- Coffee Kettle, a safe, a direct-dial telephone with voice mail, and a bathroom. The restaurant serves a hearty breakfast buffet . The Hotel Montana also features an underground car park and a 24-hour reception. The centre of Zurich and the Bahnhofstrasse shopping street are only a 10-minute walk away. All sights and attractions of Zurich can be easily reached on foot or by public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Montana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Montana
Best Western zürich
Best Western Zurich
zürich Best Western
Hotel Montana Zurich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing