We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good comfortable hotel just a few minutes from the railway station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Montana
Ranked #40 of 133 Hotels in Zurich
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
301 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Good comfortable hotel just a few minutes from the railway station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This was my second stay in this hotel. It is only two to three minutes walk away from the central railway station, and there are a number of good restaurants within a few hundred metres. The street it is located in is quiet with no noise from the trains. The room is comfortable with a nice soft bed and duvet and a plasma screen wall mounted TV which has channels in all different languages. There is underfloor heating which cannot be regulated, so the room was quite hot and I had to open the window to cool it down a bit, but I did not mind that as it was nice to get some fresh air. It was minus 5 degrees outside but the room was never too cold. The bathroom was small but had everything you need including a shower above the tub and liquid soap on the wall. I did not have time for breakfast but there was a huge range of items. I did eat in the hotel's Konrad restaurant one night and was very pleasantly surprised at the quality - I had the traditional Zurich speciality of veal with mushrooms in sauce and potato rosti which was excellent. This would definitely be my choice of hotel in Zurich for my next stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolina46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiebke K, Manager at Hotel Montana, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear caroline46
Thank you for your positive feedback. I am very pleased that you enjoyed our stay in our hotel.
I will gladly pass on your positive comments to my team. This encourages us to continue to beautify our guests' stay. I hope to welcome you again in Hotel Montana and best regards from zurich.
Wiebke Kuhlmei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    369
    151
    30
    26
See reviews for
137
262
83
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I was here with my wife for my honeymoon in september .... And it was more like a transit hotel to us because we had to go to interlaken and zurich has the international airport. Its very near to the train station , very nicely built and a complete value for money ... nice and helpful staff and also very delicious food.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dimpy1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiebke K, Manager at Hotel Montana, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Dimpy1990
Thank you for your positive review. I really hope that your round trip through Switzerland will long be remembered as an unforgettable experience. I am glad that we could be a part of this and thank you for your trust. Kindest regards from Zurich
Wiebke Kuhlmei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is to be avoid... Not much to say about it. The only good thing I can say it was clean. Beside it I wouldn't go their. Last but least they charge extra for fried eggs at breakfast! Never saw extra in breakfast. ,,,.,,,,,,,.........

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank 276David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiebke K, Manager at Hotel Montana, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Mr. Nentanya
Thank you for your feedback. I'm very sorry that you have been told that addidionally ordered eggs costs extra. This is not our service concept and I want to apologize for the mistake by my colleague. Based on your review, we have in the last week conducted a training session for our service team and discussed various points on this topic. We are always trying to improve ourselves and thanks to your comments to us, this is surely succeed.

Best Regards
Wiebke Kuhlmei
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Very helpful staff, clean, minimalist room with super shower, quiet during the night, complimentary coffee during the day, free wifi, decent breakfast with bacon and eggs as well as usual European fare of breads, fruit & cheese. Main attractions all within walking distance but area around station late at night no too calm or inviting! Overall a great place for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The Best Western Hotel Montana is one of the ideal hotels in Zurich, its 5 minutes walk to Zurich HB the main train station & the National Museum even for walking distance to the old town with many attractions. Me and my wife were greeted with warm welcome by the smiling receptionist and she was very helpful to us, our room was very clean and tidy, Hotel breakfast was very awesome and we loved it, surely we will come to this hotel again and will recommend this to everyone! from Dishal & Sara (Room #508)

Room Tip: Room 508 was very clean and tidy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dishal-Sara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
709 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 621 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The Best Western Hotel Montana is perfectly located in Zurich, adjacent to the main train station and the National Museum and within walking distance of the old town. The hotel's somewhat nondescript facade doesn't match the inside interior and decor. I took the train and found the hotel fairly easy. Make sure you exit the station on Museumstrasse, where you will turn left a couple of blocks before taking the next street over which is Konradstrasse. An easy landmark is the St. Gallerhof restaurant. The hotel is on that street (you will see the sign of the hotel as you approach).

The lady manning the front desk was very nice and helpful,offering even to help with my bags. There is one elevator that is fairly slow, but can fit several people as long as there is not a lot of luggage. Going up the elevator you will notice that the interior decor is split in half. One half looks to be more modern with red accents highlighting this side. The other side of the hotel looks like a Spanish villa. The wallpaper, pictures and other accessories make it feel like you are at home.

The room itself was large enough as long as you don't plan on spending too much time inside. There is a small table with chair under the window, as well as a desk. The window was angular and had both a blind and curtain. Temperature control was somewhat a problem, as it could get pretty warm inside. Also, you might have to play with the lights to get them to work. They could use more lighting in the room in order to brighten the room up and make it easier to see.

The American style breakfast was really good with both hot and cold choices. You also get to choose what type of coffee you want (black, espresso, cappuccino, etc). Coffee is available throughout the day, however the machine wasn't working and was too confusing anyways to operate. It supposedly is free as listed in the room, but there is a price list next to the machine that says there is a charge. Not sure what the correct answer is regarding the availability of coffee.

I would definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wbullseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

After my husband and I got out of the train, we knew it's not a long way to our hotel. We find the way to via small road to the hotel but it's not the safe way to walk through even in the daytime. Not a love at first sight because the hotel looked old outside. But when got inside, we were greeted with warm welcome by smiling receptionist. She was my angle! She spoke with clear English accent, tried to explain everything we'd like to know and tried to do her best on your request. The room and facilities was rated three stars but the service was four star. The hotel was near the bus stop which could take you to many attractions. On the later day, we found the right way to go to the central station...safer!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank syahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#44 of 133 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 stars 810 reviews
Walhalla Hotel
#26 of 133 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 stars 554 reviews
Old Town
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
#37 of 133 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#16 of 133 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 567 reviews
Old Town
Hotel du Theatre
Hotel du Theatre
#64 of 133 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 stars 445 reviews
Hotel St. Gotthard
#24 of 133 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 stars 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montana

Property: Hotel Montana
Address: Konradstrasse 39, Zurich 8005, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 133 Hotels in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montana 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Montana Zurich is located 300 metres from the Zurich Main Station, in a quiet side street close to the Sihl River. It offers stylish rooms and free Wi-Fi. All rooms feature elegant, modern furniture, a flat-screen satellite TV, Tea,- Coffee Kettle, a safe, a direct-dial telephone with voice mail, and a bathroom. The restaurant serves a hearty breakfast buffet . The Hotel Montana also features an underground car park and a 24-hour reception. The centre of Zurich and the Bahnhofstrasse shopping street are only a 10-minute walk away. All sights and attractions of Zurich can be easily reached on foot or by public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Montana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Montana
Best Western zürich
Best Western Zurich
zürich Best Western
Hotel Montana Zurich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing