We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value, comfort and location”
Review of Hotel Montana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Montana
Ranked #47 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is a great hotel a few minutes walk from the main railway station in Konradstrasse - its a very quiet street with a few hotels and cafes. If you walk down Konradstrasse to the end you will come to the former industrial zone with an electic mix of cafes and restaurants but go relatively early as the swiss seem to eat out early... which means a table can be hard to find. The Hotel breakfast was the usual buffet style - all you can eat and freshly cooked. At night you can enter the same rooms as the breakfast rooms for tea/ coffee if you wish... all free - the rooms dont have tea /coffee. We were on the left hand side of the hotel as you look at it from the front. I wasnt in any of the other rooms but the left hand side of the hotel is very modern and simple in decor... glass walls for bathroom design for example. The other side of the hotel design is different - you will see the two designs as you go up a central atrium in their glass lift Beds made every monring and sheets changed and towels refreshed if you wish - flat screen tv with usb so you can plug in your ipod in if you wish. All in all great value for money - it is Zurich after all ! There is a good range of restaurants nearby including a nice italian one if you keep walking on down Kronradstrasse! Zurich is very expensive... a cup of coffee in mcdonalds seemd to be around 7 swiss francs which is about 6 GB pounds. At the river end of Kronstrasse there is a good Starbucks. We were there in Dec so a great christmas market in the railway station ! Recommend the trolley tour of Zurich... its just at the end of Konradstrasse to the left a few metres from the railway station... there is a little booth where you can buy a ticket just beside where the trolley goes from - they dont like you bringing coffee on board but as it was so cold we did and just similed sweetly and they said to be careful. There is a major tram interchange in and around the railway station so you can get to anywhere in the city from there - tickets can be bought in cash at the tram stop from a machine (Tip: all transport in switzerland goes exactly on the second of the clock ..good if you are there on time but bad if you are a few seconds late) I found the staff at the Montana very helpful = all rooms had free wifi... ask for code at reception. The tourist information at the railway station are amazing. They can actually do all the bookings for you and print tickets - we went to Mount Rigi for the day and they booked everything through...even the train staff and rack railway staff had never seen the tourist office tickets booked through ! Dont forget to do Zurich at night... its beautifully lit and a good vanatge point is Lindenhof above the river on the left bank. If can be reached by starting at Urianiastrasse at the corner with the craft works shop ...head along the boardwalk part of the river and you will come to a little park with steps either side go up the steps and you will see the view. All in all I wouldnt stay elsewhere in Zurich for the money ! :-)

Room Tip: We were right at the end of a corridor and on top floor (5th so no rooms on one side or above ) very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pupumann0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiebke K, General Manager at Hotel Montana, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Mr. Pupumann0

thanks for your time to took an review of our hotel. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and in Zurich. Based on your detailed description the benefits of our hotels are easy to see and I am proud that my team and I reached our goal to satisfied you as our guest.
I would be very happy if we could welcome you again in our hotel.

Greetings from Zurich
W. Kuhlmei
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (978)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

486 - 492 of 978 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012

I spent a few nights at this hotel and was pleasantly surprised as it it surpass my expectations. I actually quite liked the location of the hotel, I had thought it would be more remote, but within 5 minutes of walking one is in the close proximity of all important venues in Zurich, which is a pretty compact city for sightseeing purposes.

The hotel's building is rather unremarkable on the outside, but it has quite a bit of interesting and imaginative eclectic decor on the inside. I had a room on the fifth floor, and the room had a nice view of Zurich. While my room overlooked the street there was no disruptive street noise at all. My room was rather spacious and functional, so was the bathroom. The hotel was very clean. The wi-fi was dependable.

They offer a very good breakfast, with a variety of choices. This being Switzerland, they also had a great variety of cheeses available. In the evening, I was able to bring tea up to my room, which was handy. They acknowledged by being a Best Western Diamond member, and sent up a bottle of champagne and nuts, which was a nice touch.

To find the hotel from the train station, one should walk along Track 18. A neighboring building has a gigantic lit up sign showing direction for Hotel Montana.

The hotel is very close to the Swiss National Museum (Landesmuseum). Unlike other cities, the main train station in Zurich is an attraction for locals as well, as it has many store stalls, the Bahnhofstrasse ends at the station, and it is attracting many locals. While I stayed out late most nights, and was alone, I felt quite safe in the area. However, on Saturday night there were lots of drunk young people in the area, but that was only on Saturday night. Also, other reviews reference the sex shop, but it is a couple of buildings down from the hotel and is very discreet, so it poses absolutely no problem at all. I should note that while the hotel is near the train station, it is also within a residential neighborhood. Overall, it is a very nice hotel, and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JasmineMarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Good thing about the hotel is the location and the staff... It's 10 mins walk across the zurich main station... rooms are small but convenient. facilities are there..bt theres a need of tea/coffee maker in the rooms. All the Zurich and nearby tours starts at a walking distance from the hotel. Breakfast was simple n good. Staff was helpful...can get a bit noisy on weekends due to the love shop nearby...otherwise a decent hotel near the station and the main streets...

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raj1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Location, location, location - the hotel is at walking distance from Zurich central station. The rooms are ok and food is decent too. But consider this place if a central location is what you are considering

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BSourav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

It's cookie cutter but very clean and comfortable. Excellent location around the corner from the main train station and only about 10 minutes walk to the river and old town for dinner - plus a place I felt quite safe walking back to at night. The staff were friendly and helpful, the internet wi-fi connection good and the breakfast was sensational. We only stayed one night on our way through, really quite comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank now__voyager_melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Good thing is it is very close to the railway station. In Zurich one would like to travel far and wide & take rest in the hotel. This hotel serves the function perfectly well.The breakfast for vegetarian can be informed well in advance so that you don't get disappointed. The tour & travel day excursions start very close to the hotel so it is convenient to take excursion tours.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drdilipdshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Like other reviewers we were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the hotel. The reception were very helpful. Breakfast was included and the food was varied and very good.
The hotel was within walking distance of the railway station and all transport. Only complaint was that there were no facilities in the room to make tea and coffee. You could request room service, but when we asked for an early cup of tea/coffee we were told they were too busy serving breakfast. That meant we had to wait until we went down for breakfast to have our first coffee/tea of the day! They probably don't realise how important that first cup of tea/coffee is for some people before they wake up!!

Room Tip: Our room looked out over the road frontage. A little noisey but acceptable. Ask for tea/coffee mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BevR4414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casgmp07, Manager at Hotel Montana, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear BevR4414,

thank you very much for your review of the Best Western Hotel Montana and we are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay.

In regards to the coffee and tea, we are very sorry that the service to your room did not work out in the morning. This is clearly not our standard and we will make sure to improve this.

We hope we can welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Daniel Zygmunt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#37 of 138 in Zurich
1,061 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#18 of 138 in Zurich
879 reviews
Swissotel Zurich
#35 of 138 in Zurich
2,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leoneck Swiss Hotel
#34 of 138 in Zurich
664 reviews
Sorell Hotel Rex
#40 of 138 in Zurich
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montana

Address: Konradstrasse 39, Zurich 8005, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Price Range: $124 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montana 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Montana Zurich is located 300 metres from the Zurich Main Station, in a quiet side street close to the Sihl River. It offers stylish rooms and free Wi-Fi. All rooms feature elegant, modern furniture, a flat-screen satellite TV, Tea,- Coffee Kettle, a safe, a direct-dial telephone with voice mail, and a bathroom. The restaurant serves a hearty breakfast buffet . The Hotel Montana also features an underground car park and a 24-hour reception. The centre of Zurich and the Bahnhofstrasse shopping street are only a 10-minute walk away. All sights and attractions of Zurich can be easily reached on foot or by public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Montana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Montana
Best Western zürich
Best Western Zurich
zürich Best Western
Hotel Montana Zurich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing