We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideally placed for the train station”
Review of Hotel Montana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Montana
Ranked #45 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ideally placed for the train station”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Pleased with the standard of this room. Had been worried about the lack of air conditioning, but on the night we stayed there it was not a problem.
Some street noise during the night from late night revellers.
Had to leave early in the morning to get a train at 7am so we requested a take-away breakfast which was provided.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piedradesol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    449
    184
    37
    28
See reviews for
164
327
119
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stayed twice at this hotel this year. Ideal location for transport, sights and shops. The hotel was comfortable with nice friendly and helpful staff.It could become quite warm in the rooms as there was no air con, we would just leave the windows open.
Plenty choice for breakfast. Everything clean and well ordered in dinning room and bedrooms.
Free wi fi in rooms and safes.
Beds were comfotable.
We will be staying again on our next trip to lovely Zurich.Would very much recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 333Rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

The hotel location is very close to the train station.The neighborhood is OK, although not terrific, and pretty quiet.

The standard rooms have been recently renovated with modern furniture. There is plenty of space to store things and also a large desk for those who wish to work. Wifi is free and works pretty well.

The comfort is excellent. The only drawback is the lack of air conditioning, which could be necessary in Zurich during the summer. It is still possible to open the window to get fresh air but those who need A/C will definitely be frustrated. I have read that it is possible to adjust the room temperature in deluxe rooms, but I have not been able to confirm this.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Otherguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed one night as we had a flight to catch from Zurich. Although it does not come in the league of high category hotels around Zurich, it still makes for a perfect & very comfortable stay. It has all the amenities, helpful staff, clean/cozy/spacious rooms and bathrooms. Tariff not too high and just a 5 min walk from railway station. The surrounding area/location may not be the best but it is trouble free.

We did not feel 'short' of anything while at Best Western Montana. We'd like to call it a Convenient and great value for money hotel.

Room Tip: Book what you get. There is no 'view' fuss at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichieAgarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I stayed there 1 night in transit.
Hotels in Switzerland are expensive and this one is not an exception.
But what a wonderful room. Not very big but really cozy and inviting, very well decorated and appointed. Very conveniently arranged for business travellers with good working table.
Wonderful breakfast with very good service. Very near a train station (OK if you have a trolley, not with suitcases).
What more can I say

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yshargal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

If you can see past the fact this is an area in transition with some sketchy neighbouring businesses (sex toys, drug rehab centre) - the hotel is worth staying at. Wonderful breakfast, friendly staff, very clean rooms, adequate bathrooms, very well situated within 5 min walk of main train station and walkable distance to old section, great parks, the waterways and museums. Within 5 min walk of museum of design. Walking distance to modern art museum, etc. We probably should have used transit to go the botanical gardens since the walk took about 45 mins - and turned out the buildings were closed for renovations - but the gardens themselves were accessible and beautiful. Be advised it is expensive to visit here - I shopped at the local Co-op (10 mins away) and made picnic meals eaten in the nearby park. Lots to see in the old section - within walking distance of the hotel. I am not crazy about heights and so am glad that I wasn't put in a room that you had to use the catwalk to get to. Also the elevator is all glass.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, OR
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

The property is walking distance from the Train Station just past the porn shop. We arrived late to overnight en route from Civitavecchia to Kaiserslautern.

There is no air conditioning, our top floor west facing room was hot! We opened the windows wide which was not a bug, bird or smoke problem and did help the temperature since the sun was done. Unfortunately there are a couple of noisy hangouts on the street below including the Pimpi Bar or at least that is what the sign looked like from the room.

We were hungry on arrival and got a cursory referral back to the train station by the desk clerk.

The complementary breakfast was good and well serviced but the flies entering the open doors and windows killed the ambiance.

We were not impressed with Zurich, nasty big town.

Room Tip: Stay off the top floor and west side in hot weather. Have a dinner plan ahead. Avoid Zurich, u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltree52053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#43 of 138 in Zurich
996 reviews
Walhalla Hotel
#38 of 138 in Zurich
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#20 of 138 in Zurich
788 reviews
Seefeld
Lady's First Design Hotel
Lady's First Design Hotel
#16 of 138 in Zurich
597 reviews
Gewerbeschule
Walhalla Guest House
Walhalla Guest House
#110 of 138 in Zurich
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montana

Property: Hotel Montana
Address: Konradstrasse 39, Zurich 8005, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montana 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Montana Zurich is located 300 metres from the Zurich Main Station, in a quiet side street close to the Sihl River. It offers stylish rooms and free Wi-Fi. All rooms feature elegant, modern furniture, a flat-screen satellite TV, Tea,- Coffee Kettle, a safe, a direct-dial telephone with voice mail, and a bathroom. The restaurant serves a hearty breakfast buffet . The Hotel Montana also features an underground car park and a 24-hour reception. The centre of Zurich and the Bahnhofstrasse shopping street are only a 10-minute walk away. All sights and attractions of Zurich can be easily reached on foot or by public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Montana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Montana
Best Western zürich
Best Western Zurich
zürich Best Western
Hotel Montana Zurich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing