We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of Sorell Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sorell Hotel Rex
Ranked #37 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2014

The hotel is very colse to the center. The room was pretty quiet located on the fifth floor with a nice view. Inside the room there was a coffee machine espresso, a real plus for an Italian. The staff was very friendly and helpful

Room Tip: Better the last floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank brunocapo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RM_Hotel_Rex, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2014

Dear brunocapo

We would like to thank you for the good comments that we were able to receive.

We are very glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay.

We hope that you will continue to recommend us, and we thank you kindly.

Best wishes
Team Sorell Hotel Rex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (380)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 380 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2014

This is a good small hotel, walking distance from the Central Tram Station, if you do not have bulky luggage. Else, Tram 7 stops literally a stone's-throw distance away.
Room are well appointed but small. Beware of the ones facing the street: traffic noise is quite distracting if one happen to be in the hotel on a summer night, which obliges one to open the window for much needed fresh air.
The reception staff is friendly and helpful and the breakfast buffet is adequate.
Once negative in an otherwise comfortable stay: in 5 nights' stay, bed linen was not changed even once, nor were bathroom supplies replenished or in-room tea facilities cleaned or replenished. A polite reminder to one of the house-keeping staff also did not elicit the required result!

Room Tip: Try to avoid ones facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank APJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RM_Hotel_Rex, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2014

Dear Mr APJS

Many thanks for your feedback.

We are doing our utmost to continually improve our service. Your feedback helps us to check standards and to adapt these if need be.
We will do our utmost to improve our service in your interest.
It would be nice if we could prove ourselves during your next visit and to show that we can be better than the last time.
Best wishes
Team Sorell Hotel Rex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

The hotel can't be beat for the money, a short 10-15 minute walk from Zurich main station made us feel right in the middle of everything and at the same time it was in a very quiet area. There is a supermarket about a block away north for all your needs, just up the street. The all you can eat continental breakfast got us started right every morning and the staff was always very helpful and professional. There is a bakery across the street, don't miss out it it's amazing.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sixstring2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RM_Hotel_Rex, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear sixstring

Many thanks for taking the time to give some Feedback and we would like say thank you for the good comments.
We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with our Hotel and with our area and we are looking forward to welcoming you again as our guest soon.

Best regards
Team Sorell Hotel Rex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Very friendly staff and nice breakfast every morning. Close to public transportation. A little noisy at night, but fine if the window was shut. I would definitely stay there again if I'm back in the area!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shawna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RM_Hotel_Rex, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Shawna M

Thank you very much for your nice Feedback.
We are very glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay.
We hope that you will continue to recommend us, and we thank you kindly. We hope we will see you soon back.

Best regards
Team Sorell Hotel Rex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

After our drive from Milan to Zurich we arrived at the Sorell Hotel and parked across the road in our reserved parking spot. The receptionist was most helpful, explaining the tram tickets which you can buy from the hotel and even put them on you bill. Our room was at the front of the hotel and I thought we would be disturbed by the trams but as the room was triple glazed so no problem. When we came down to breakfast in the morning it was very busy but nobody had to wait and the waitresses were topping the buffet constantly. We also received a personal email when we booked to thanks for booking and confirming our parking space a nice touch I thought .

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tvrpieman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RM_Hotel_Rex, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear tvrpieman

We would like to thank you for the good comments that we were able to receive
and we are very glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay.
We hope that you will continue to recommend us, and we thank you kindly and we look forward to welcoming you again as our guest soon.

Best regards
Team Sorell Hotel Rex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Excellent hotel, very comfortable bed, nice location and connection to the center/main station, nice view, good breakfast... It was also perfectly clean, and I had the surprise to find a small wooden balcony with table and chairs ! Also I could borrow an iron and ironing board, very convenient. The room feels completely both modern and comfortable. I would come back there any time !

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaZurichoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RM_Hotel_Rex, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear LaZuricho

Thank you for your good Feedback. We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with your stay in our Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you again as our guest soon.

Best regards

Team Sorell Hotel Rex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

It is close to the tram station, and it is convenient to go to Zuerich HB with your big bags. Hotel staffs are very helpful and made me very pleasant during the 5-day stay. Actually, on the final day, I had to check out at 6:00 a.m. to get early flight, which was the time out of service, but a staff lady kindly accepted my earlier checking out.
Breakfast was also very good. I really recommend you to stay here, in stead of taking the hotels in the busy central area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank state1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RM_Hotel_Rex, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear state1224

Many thanks for taking the time to give some feedback. We are glad
to hear that you were satisfied with our service.
We hope that you will continue to recommend us, and we thank you kindly.

Best wishes
Team Sorell Hotel Rex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
0.4 mi away
Bristol Hotel Zurich
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#40 of 137 in Zurich
1,049 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Montana
Hotel Montana
#46 of 137 in Zurich
966 reviews
1.8 mi away
Swissotel Zurich
Swissotel Zurich
#34 of 137 in Zurich
2,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
#18 of 137 in Zurich
853 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel
0.9 mi away
Coronado Hotel
Coronado Hotel
#24 of 137 in Zurich
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorell Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorell Hotel Rex

Address: Weinbergstrasse 92, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Zurich
#37 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#56 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $138 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sorell Hotel Rex 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small but intimately managed house, a real gem in the heart of Zurich, right next to the ETH and the university. This has already impressed a lot of guests: the Sorell Hotel Rex scores with its 4-star ambience at 3-star prices. And in the perfect location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sorell Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rex Swiss Quality Zurich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing