We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stay in Zurich”
Review of Sorell Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sorell Hotel Rex
Ranked #41 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Santiago, Chile
2 reviews
“A nice stay in Zurich”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The best of this hotel was its staff, everybody was really friendly and helpful, then the breakfast was the second best of this hotel: fresh fruit, excellent expresso coffee machine, juices, yogurt, different kind of breads, fillings and swiss cheese.

The room and bathroom were nice and clean. The only problem was the room's temperature: it didn't have AC and the room was extremely hot during night (I stayed there at the end of the summer, in September). So, you need to decide between sleeping in a hot room or hear the street noise the whole night.

WiFi is free using codes given at the reception, they didn't have any issues in giving my more than one code for my cell phone and laptop. Also umbrellas and international plug adapters are available for free at request.
The hotel is located in a quiet neighbourhood with little nightlife, but the old city is at a 15 minutes walk away. There are also 2 tram stops really close to the hotel, the location is not a great issue.

This hotel isn't cheap, but it seems there's no such thing as a cheap hotel in Zurich, so I think it's a fair value for the money and if I return to Zurich I will definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms looking directly to Weinbergstrasse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badger_cl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRieprich, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear badger_cl,
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about your stay in our Hotel. We always try our best to make everyone feel comfortable and offer a lot of services in order to do so.
You are right; most of our rooms do not have air condition so it is necessary to open the windows throughout the hot time of the year. Fortunately we do not have a lot of very hot days here in Switzerland. If you come back to our Hotel you can ask for a room with mobile air condition which cools down the room throughout the day so you can have a good night's sleep.
We are looking forward to receive your next reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    170
    48
    9
    2
See reviews for
74
111
33
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We have had a very enjoyable 5 day stay in this fine hotel garni only 10 minutes from the Main Railway Station and city centre. It is a very clean, modern furnished and comfortable place. Each room has air-con which we needed in the hot weather we experienced and has its own nespresso coffee machine.
Breakfast was a wonderful buffet.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRieprich, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Brian S,

Many thanks for your feedback.
We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with our services and amenities. I just like to point out that not all our rooms have a/c and coffee machine; only the comfort, superior and family rooms have those amenities.
We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

It is an average 3 star hotel. The staff are correct but no one goes out of their way to be particularly pleasasnt. The situation is excellent. Breakfast has a good buffet. Expresso machine was highly appreciated.. Free wifi and rooms very clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adler_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRieprich, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear adler_9,
Thank you for your Feedback.
We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. But we are also taking your advice to improve our service so not only the location gets full points but also staff. We hope to welcome you back again to show you that we can do even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed only one night at this hotel. We found the 2 baby cots we asked for, and had a very clean and comfortable room. Nothing luxurious, but very practical as it was very close to Zurich downtown. Good place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ignasi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRieprich, General Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Ignasi M,
We would like to thank you for the good comments that we were able to receive.
We always do our best to make our guests feel welcome and at home with everything they need.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Excellent value in Zurich with courteous staff. Very clean and spacious rooms for European hotel. Great breakfast. We were traveling with 3 children and the hotel provides us with cots at no additional charge. A 10 minute walk from central Zurich (although uphill).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRieprich, General Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Liza,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice comment about your stay in our Hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.
We hope that you will continue to recommend us, and we thank you kindly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed with my family and another friend's family with children. Very centrally located. few steps away from the tram stations - front and back. sumptuous breakfast. very clean rooms. staff very accommodating. free wifi. free parking. lifts available.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonGayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRieprich, General Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear LondonGayle,
Thank you very much for leaving a comment about your stay in our hotel on tripadvisor. We always love to hear when our guests left the Sorell Hotel Rex with good impressions and are sharing them with others. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solomons, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We were only in Zurich for 1 evening before an early morning flight. This location was easy to reach via a tram from the main train station (#7 - which passes right in front the hotel with the stop less than a block away) and also easy to reach the airport (either #7 back to the train station for a train to the airport, or #7 tram north with a change to #10 tram - very easy to do). only caution - the website indicates the hotel is 15 minutes from the airport, perhaps driving it is - however, if using the 2 trams, plan on 30 minutes door to door. We were there on a very warm evening, so the reduction in a star is because the hotel doesn't have A/C - but the front desk was very happy to provide us with a fan when requested, and the WiFi use in the room was quite complicated.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRieprich, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Kathy M,
First of all thank you for the time you spend on leaving this nice review about our hotel on tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your short stay with us. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.
Regarding the internet access I would like to leave a short note. it might be a bit more complicated than in other places but for security reasons it should be done via SMS Login. For guests without cell phone we also have another login via voucher so everyone can use it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#43 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
#22 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Hochschulen
Hotel St. Josef
Hotel St. Josef
#20 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leoneck Swiss Hotel
#45 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Coronado Hotel
#28 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Seefeld
Lady's First Design Hotel
Lady's First Design Hotel
#16 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorell Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorell Hotel Rex

Property: Sorell Hotel Rex
Address: Weinbergstrasse 92 | 8006 Zürich, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#41 Family Hotel in Zurich
#56 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sorell Hotel Rex 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small but intimately managed house, a real gem in the heart of Zurich, right next to the ETH and the university. This has already impressed a lot of guests: the Sorell Hotel Rex scores with its 4-star ambience at 3-star prices. And in the perfect location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sorell Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rex Swiss Quality Zurich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing