We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“professional, not personal”
Review of Sorell Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sorell Hotel Rex
Ranked #38 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel in February 2013. I was booked here by my hosts from ETH, so I did not put too much thoughts into alternatives. The hotel is a good 20 minute walking distance from the train station, and uphill, so if you come with luggage, the tram is a better choice, and it stops very close to the hotel. I arrived on the first night at 11pm, and the hotel was closed. I had to buzz someone, who gave me the instructions of where to get the key. There was, of course, no one at the reception, so I had no clue, for example, what would be the password for the wireless internet. Breakfast was decent, and the room was big enough and certainly clean. One thing that bothered me (and I found it later also in other hotels in Switzerland and also in my friend's house), was that the toilette paper was very rough compared to what I would consider acceptable. I guess you have to get use to it from young age...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YigalM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRieprich, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear YigalM,
Thank you for writing a positive review about your stay in our hotel.
I am sorry to hear that you had problems with detailled informations because you checked-in after our opening hours. But I am glad that everything worked well with ringing the bell and getting the entrance key out of the box. In the letter which is waiting at the front desk for our late arrivals we explain the important information about location of the room, front desk and breakfast hours and also the wifi log-in. On the desk in the room you also find a guide with all necessary information.
Hopefully we can welcome you personally when you come next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (380)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 380 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

I have been staying in this hotel for 40 years on my visits to Zurich, now under new ownership. I was usually happy but this time the new owners probably re modeled the rooms. Double simple room was acceptable but the single room occupancy we were assigned was not fit for occupation. Seems they realized it and gave us a nice rooms 5th floor that apparently are the best 3 rooms in the place (501-503). You will have to fend for yourself for non 5th floor rooms. Besides this, the hotel gives fair value for money: Location, breakfast, parking, public transport, helpful staff. Just insist on the room. Breakfast is good and plentiful, no restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JosefLav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRieprich, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear 358Joe123456
Thank you for the time you took to write a review about our hotel.
We are happy to hear that you are coming to stay with us for a long time now. And we are sorry that you were not happy with the rooms you received when you checked-in. Those rooms haven't been remodeled in the last 5 years but they are well-appointed. Those are standard single and double rooms, the rooms on the fifth floor are superior double rooms which are bigger and better equipped than the standard rooms but also more expensive. To make the best out of your stay in our beautiful city you should reserve a superior room and enjoy a large room with wooden floors, coffee machine and balcony with a great view over the city.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in Zurich.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This small business-style hotel is handily placed for Zurich centre being on a main tram route. The double room we had (no 502- right at the top of the building) was clean, large, well-appointed and comfortable, with a balcony and great view over the city and mountains. The room had a Nespresso machine with plenty of pods, renewed daily. Breakfast was good. Only gripe was the somewhat tortuous method of accessing the free wi-fi (you need to send yourself an SMS- which obviously is no good if you don't have a mobile phone with you). There is no lounge or central meeting place other than the small lobby and there is no restaurant service so you would need to go back into town to eat. But, the B&B room rate was very reasonable for a hotel so close to Zurich centre- so all in all I would strongly recommend it.

Room Tip: No 502 is a large room with balcony and is located in the attic roof (might be very hot in summer bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRieprich, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Jim,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
The wifi-access through SMS log-in is for security reasons but we also have vouchers available for guests who do not have a mobile phone.
Our restaurant unfortunately only serves (a rich) breakfast but to have lunch or dinner we have some restaurants nearby so our guests do not need to go back to the old town, in the summer time we also offer some snacks to enjoy on our terrasse or lounge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The hotel is clean, efficient and offers a good breakfast. Location requires 3 stops (5 minutes) with the tram (number 7 and 15) from the Zurich main station. The hotel did not have a restaurant open in the evening, however, there is a very authentic and simple italian restaurant a 2-minute walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: Chose a room away from Weinbergstrasse as the noise is bothering by early morning trams.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canvazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRieprich, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Canvazz,
Thank you for leaving a comment about your stay in our hotel on tripadvisor.
As you wrote we do not have a restaurant at the hotel but we do have some good restaurants in 5-10 minutes footwalk or you could take one of the trams to the city center (3 stops) and enjoy a stroll through the old town. We might not be right in the middle of the city but very conveniently located on a main tram line in a quiet area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Nice small hotel, very friendly and helpful staff, free parking and wifi. Breakfast was simple but ok. Location convenient, very close to a tram stop, few stops away from the center. We spent two nights here and really enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ainur_kaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRieprich, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Ainur_kaken,
Thank you for your positive comment on tripadvisor.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would be happy to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I chose this hotel for free internet and parking at a low price for Zurich. parking is first come first serve with only about 8 spots but I had no issue as most people arrive by train. The hotel is clean and the rooms relatively spacious. Staff is helpful. Breakfast is lacking a little as there is no hot food but the rolls and cheeses were delicious. Location is optimal as downtown and Hauptbahnhof are only 1-2 km. The tram service runs just in front of hotel Value for Money.
As others have said, it can be quite noisy. I heard the cars and people on the street very late into the evening.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WaywardTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRieprich, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear WaywardTravelor,
Thank you for the positive review which shows that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Parking spots around the hotel are free of charge but limited (9 places), to have guaranteed parking you can reserve a spot in advance for which we charge CHF 10.-
Since we are located close to the city centre we have a major tram line running past the hotel but we do have new sound proof windows so you do not hear the traffic noise when the windows are closed.
Hopefully we can welcome you again in our hotel in the future. We are looking foward to it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Nice clean rooms, brightly lit, relatively spacious and clean bathroom.Friendly staff. Nice location - just 1 km by walk from the central station of Zurich. The tram service runs just in front of hotel door and after 2 stops you reach the central station. Complementary Breakfast and free internet add to the value provided by hotel at around 170 usd. Zurich is expensive for lodging. Nearby attraction to hotel include Zoological garden and swiss national museum. Efficient staff for a quick check in and check out. Business Like. Value for Money.

The only problem that I faced was to eat dinner late in night outside is a long walk in cold for a decent bite.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PravalUpadhyay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRieprich, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear PravalUpadhyay,
Thank you for the positive comment you wrote after your stay in our hotel. We are always happy to hear that our guests enjoy their stay with us.
To have a nice dinner we have to recommendations in the close vicinity, one is Italien, one European food. Our front desk is happy to help with directions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
1.8 mi away
Swissotel Zurich
Swissotel Zurich
#34 of 138 in Zurich
2,341 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
#18 of 138 in Zurich
854 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Montana
Hotel Montana
#45 of 138 in Zurich
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
Bristol Hotel Zurich
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#40 of 138 in Zurich
1,050 reviews
0.9 mi away
Coronado Hotel
Coronado Hotel
#24 of 138 in Zurich
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorell Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorell Hotel Rex

Address: Weinbergstrasse 92, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Zurich
#37 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#56 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $138 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sorell Hotel Rex 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small but intimately managed house, a real gem in the heart of Zurich, right next to the ETH and the university. This has already impressed a lot of guests: the Sorell Hotel Rex scores with its 4-star ambience at 3-star prices. And in the perfect location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sorell Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rex Swiss Quality Zurich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing