We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Adler Zurich(Zurich)
$208
$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$451
$417
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$316
$271
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$175
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $151/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$225
$200
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $228/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$707
$488
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$144
$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$285
$268
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$480
$459
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (405)
Filter reviews
405 results
Traveler rating
151
189
50
11
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
189
50
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationrubber duckminute walkmain stationold townfamily roomclose to the hotelsmall hotelcity centreenjoyable stayyogurtespresso machineother citiesquiet locationnice roomcontinental breakfastsingle room
Filter
Updating list...
192 - 197 of 405 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2012

service is good, reception is friendly, and there's free parking. (for just a few cars).
The breakfast is not special, but good enough with fresh baked bread, cheese, lunchmeat etc. Surprise was the fantastic espresso machine that's free to use!
The room is small, but has everything you need; small desk, minibar, safe, TV.
The bathroom is the only negative, this is just too small. (but clean)

Location is perfect: it's a 15 min walk to a million bars/restaurants and the lake. If you don't want to walk, just take the tram that's steps away from the hotel.

I recommend this hotel, as the price is good for what you get in this expensive city!

Room Tip: if you're a light sleeper, you better ask for a room on the back. (although for me the trams in the street-facing room were no problem)
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rene_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rex8006, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Thank you for your good review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and recommend our hotel.
Our standard double rooms are not huge but do have a decent size for what we charge, the bathrooms are rather small in some rooms but we also have rooms (family, comfort and superior rooms) which have bigger bathrooms. The best is to book directly and let us know your requests.
Maybe we will see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

The hotel was decent enough and the breakfast was good. But the internet was awful. It disconnected every 2 mins. My wife and i both have iphones so we were disappointed. Good wifi is more important to me than good breakfast so that's why I dinged the rating of the hotel. Overall my experience wasn't bad. If wifi worked, easily a 4.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank DLTravelerTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rex8006, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Thank you for review. We are sorry that you were not satisfied with our internet connection but we were aware of that problem and changed our provider. We are happy to tell you and all other future customers that our new provider is working properly and is even faster as the old one was. So you are very welcome to come back and check it out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

I checked in a single room. I was expecting it to be really small, but it was spacious enough. The bedroom, linen and bathroom were immaculate. A good diverse breakfast buffet, included in the single room price. It is only 10mn nice walk to downtown but if you feel lazy, you can always take the tram, which stop is like 200 meters distance. My only 2 negative comments are: the way my room was organized was very weird. When you opened the door you ended up in the bathroom (sink first, then shower and the toilet) and after that you could access the bedroom, but I know that other single rooms are not set up like that. So maybe you can double-check with reception before getting the room. Second negative comment is that the walls are paper-thin, so if your neighbor's tv is on, or he is walking with his shoes, you can hear that. This being said, I really recommend this place, as the price is pretty low for a city like Zurich and it is much more comfortable than a hostel (and some hostels in Zurich are more expensive).

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms that do not open on the bathroom!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grungeful_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rex8006, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Thank you for your positive comment about our hotel. We are happy to hear that you would recommend the REX.
Regarding the type of room you are right; we only have 3 single rooms which are set up like this so usually it is no problem to request another type of room before checking-in but nevertheless the standard is the same in all our rooms: shower, toilet, minibar, TV, radio, free wifi connection, minibar and coffee- and teamaking facilities.
We hope to welcome you another time in Zurich soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Very good value, slightly outside the center of Zurich, but still very central. Well run, tasteful place. Would come back when in Zurich.

Location: not in the center, but still very central in a residential neighborhood. Abt 15 min walk to the city center. Connected by 2 trams lines which go to the 2 locations ones generally wants to go:. One goes to the train station and down Bahnhofstrasse, the other straight to the lake.

Rooms: Medium sized rooms, nicely furnished. Tea/coffee making facility, nice bathroom w good towels, very good lightening in rooms ad free wifi.

Service: very nice Swiss style breakfast, breakfast room very tasteful and light, staff very helpful and hotel sells daily tram tickets, some free parking spaces

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wolrdwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rex8006, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Thank you for your good review, we always love to hear comments from satisfied guests. We are happy to welcome you or friends and family of yours in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
rex8006, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews