We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice for a pricey city”
Review of Sorell Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sorell Hotel Rex
Ranked #40 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for a pricey city”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Very good value, slightly outside the center of Zurich, but still very central. Well run, tasteful place. Would come back when in Zurich.

Location: not in the center, but still very central in a residential neighborhood. Abt 15 min walk to the city center. Connected by 2 trams lines which go to the 2 locations ones generally wants to go:. One goes to the train station and down Bahnhofstrasse, the other straight to the lake.

Rooms: Medium sized rooms, nicely furnished. Tea/coffee making facility, nice bathroom w good towels, very good lightening in rooms ad free wifi.

Service: very nice Swiss style breakfast, breakfast room very tasteful and light, staff very helpful and hotel sells daily tram tickets, some free parking spaces

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolrdwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rex8006, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for your good review, we always love to hear comments from satisfied guests. We are happy to welcome you or friends and family of yours in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    174
    49
    9
    2
See reviews for
75
114
34
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

The location is great, the staff is helpful, the breakfast is fine, and the rooms are nice. But we got a room on the front side. I just could not get asleep because of the noise from the trams running by. The airco didn't work so it was also too hot.
All in all, it was not a pleasant stay for me. But perhaps if you have a room on the other side of the building it is much better.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room on the street side. Even though the view may be nice there is a lot of noise fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annelies79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rex8006, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Thank you for your review.
Due to the complaints (about the noise) we received in the past we just changed all windows which face the street side. Which means that our guests can enjoy a nice view and quiet rooms.
We always do our best to make a stay at the Rex as comfortable as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kleppe, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

A bit thin walls. Nice room. Helpful personell in the reception. Tram 7 and 15 passed often by so it was easy to come home and down to the city center. It was a short walk to the eCho restaurant at the Marriott.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marithbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rex8006, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Thank you for your good review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

I stayed for 3 nights for business and I have nothing to complain about. Small but well organized and modern room, free wireless internet access, nice breakfast included in the room rate, walking distance to University (ETH), tram stop to the city just 50 m away, possible to walk to the city centre (20 mins).

My room was quiet as it faced the small side street. I can imagine that the room on the main street with trams passing can be loud.

I'd go back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria_F111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rex8006, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Thank you for your good review. We always do our best to make our guests feel comfortable. In the next months we will replace the windows so even the rooms to the main street will be quiet enough to sleep without being disturbed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Zurich is such an expensive city to visit. We wanted a less expensive place for just 1 night. we trusted TripAdvisor reviews and chose the Rex. A little out of the way, but a friendly staff and a clean well-proportioned room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Upalong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rex8006, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Thank you for your short but very nice comment. Maybe we will see you again on your next visit in Zurich!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

For the price this hotel was excellent. The room is small but clean, modern and well furnished. There was a heatwave in Zurich when we were staying so it was great to have air con. Good breakfast, good position and friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rex8006, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rex, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Thank you for the nice review, we do our best to make every stay comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#43 of 139 in Zurich
991 reviews
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
#20 of 139 in Zurich
777 reviews
Seefeld
Lady's First Design Hotel
Lady's First Design Hotel
#16 of 139 in Zurich
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#19 of 139 in Zurich
779 reviews
Leoneck Swiss Hotel
#44 of 139 in Zurich
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorell Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorell Hotel Rex

Property: Sorell Hotel Rex
Address: Weinbergstrasse 92, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#41 Family Hotel in Zurich
#56 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sorell Hotel Rex 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small but intimately managed house, a real gem in the heart of Zurich, right next to the ETH and the university. This has already impressed a lot of guests: the Sorell Hotel Rex scores with its 4-star ambience at 3-star prices. And in the perfect location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sorell Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rex Swiss Quality Zurich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing