We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location . Location n Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Royal Zurich
Ranked #94 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
117 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Location . Location n Location”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This had been my first visit to Switzerland and to Zurich , as a first time visitor I would like to make sure that I should see all things aroun in short span . Considering Zurich is very Over Priced , this did suited our budget for some of the reasons

1. All Attractions are walking distance atleast for me , 1 km or so
2. You have Airport Tram just outside Hotel ie Tram # 10 takes 30 min or 23 stops to reach Airport so very comfortable
3. Central and Main Station is also nearby
4. At the Back ie 100 -150 m you find , places to eat , Mc Donald , Clubs , Bars , etc as a Part of Night Life

As per hotel staff , they are friendly and in general good . A little more could have been expected but for CHF 275 per night , its acceptable .

Break fast , well not a very good part specially the eggs which were not boiled properly , and No Hot Milk was served . I asked she said it would take 3 minutes but that never came. Any how No complains . I would not recommend break fast . Its like New york type Hotel in Manhatten where every sq ft is costly . But thats about breakfast . Do not excpect too much here .

Secondly I would say for everything there was a Charge , you cant watch TV need to pay CHF 24 I suppose

Internet , well thats the worst aspect , they have LAN connection but charge 18 CHF , oohh , how very pathetic . Go to Sunrise take a 20 Franc card and enjoy 1 Franc per day unlimited Internet . Or you can use Wifi only at reception area . Which is little uncomfortable for us . Dont know why they have not done anything on the same.

Rooms were Ok , I was on 6th Floor , very small lift , just like NewYorker Hotels . Room Size ok , Beds Comfortable and more importantly peaceful.

Yes can be recommended , but prices of Some Hotels nearby you can find upto 175 CHF , not sure if thats important



Thats all about it .

Room Tip: All rooms seems good , but I suppose top rooms are good as they have some good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rohit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter V, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Royal Zurich, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Traveller,

Many thanks for your comment - we appreciate your stay at the Comfort Hotel Royal Zurich and your detailed review on our property.

Just one point that might be interesting to you for your next stay: We offer a total of 42 TV channels (including an Indian channel, channel 30, as well as Anglo-American channels, e.g. CNN, BBC, NBC Europe, Sky News) to our guests for free. So only Pay TV channels are available at a surcharge.

We would be very pleased to accommodate you in the future again and hope you may enjoy this service at our hotel then!

Please let us know if you have any further questions.

With kindest regards from Zurich,

Peter F. Vogel
General Manager
Comfort Hotel Royal Zurich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    92
    56
    22
    13
See reviews for
24
54
42
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

This Hotel was booked at the last minute and proved to be the most expensive on our European vacation. It was comfortable, but not in the same class as other Hotels we stayed in. Given this is Switzerland, it was probably a decent price for a very overpriced country.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
102 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

This hotel has a good location, just a few minutes' walk from the main train station, with trams passing the front door regularly. The staff were generally helpful, although when I asked if wi-fi is included I was told it was available in the lobby only and would not work in the room, which (happily) turned out not to be true. I was staying for 2 days but the reception at check-in would only give me a password for 24 hours, saying I would have to come back and get another password after 24 hours, which was a little inconvienient.

The room itself is quite basic. I had a single room and it was a decent size, although it did get a bit stuffy overnight (in June). The bathroom was decent, with a bath and shower. The bedding was nice and the bed was comfortable. The room was nothing extraordinary but I don't mind staying here for a business trip. The breakfast buffet was good - it included lovely croissants and pastries as well as the usual breads, meats, yoghurts and cereals.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happy_riad_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I booked for 9 nights, but checked out after 3 nights. As soon as I entered the single room I knew something was wrong - while outside was cool the room was hot. I put it down to the climate control being on the wrong setting so I changed it. That did not work. I then opened up the window. That did not work. At this point I was getting a headache (just came off a trans-atlantic flight). I went downstairs and asked for another room because the one I was in was too hot. I was told they were aware of the problem and that they were fixing the compressor and it should be done by the end of the day. I took their word that it would be fixed. I had a most uncomfortable night even with the windows open. Next morning I met another person at breakfast who also complained about a small hot room. By the second day I was developing a cold and on the third day it got worst. I decided to check out of the hotel and book into another hotel which was a bit outside the center of Zurich (in Messe) but at this point health mattered more than convenience. It was a good move! This goes down as one of the worst hotels I've stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bertrandf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Zurich hotels

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
62 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Stayed three nights in this hotel. My room (single) was at the end of the corridor at the bacj of the hotel. It was a very small room, but it was very quiet so I slept well. The room had everything you need. A wardrobe for your clothes, safe deposite, tv, a nice bad.
Excellent location. Tram 10 form the airport stops just in front of the hotel, central station and town centre are only a five minutes walk from the hotel.
Small breakfast room, but it was not very busy. Food was good.
Very friendly staff.
Would certainly recommand and return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hebbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

had double theatre bedroom, plenty of room ,very clean, very friendly reception and breakfast staff, only had to ask and they always were very polite and helpful. lovely location tram stop outside door, no 10 from airport, we had a lovely long weekend, would stop again at this hotel next time in zurich,

Room Tip: group had 4 bedrooms different parts of hotel ,no complaints just the single rooms a bit small for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Handypandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, WI
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

I stayed for five days April 2012. The location is great, being only a block from ETH and and about a five minute walk downtown. The rooms are quite small, especially for the single bed (think dorm-sized room). Breakfast was decent. The staff was nice and helpful.

Internet was expensive (20-30 CHF per day, depending on the way you connected) but they did have a computer in the lobby if you just needed to check email. They did have a special that allowed you to get 24 hour access to the internet and pay-movies for about 30 CHF.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dptaylor30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Leoneck Swiss Hotel
#49 of 138 in Zurich
532 reviews
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#44 of 138 in Zurich
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Limmathof
Limmathof
#87 of 138 in Zurich
282 reviews
Old Town
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Zuercherhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Royal Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Royal Zurich

Property: Comfort Hotel Royal Zurich
Address: Leonhardstrasse 6, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Hotel Royal Zurich 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•70 air-conditioned, cozy and compact budget rooms at reasonable rates. According the international Standard of Comfort by Choice Hotels.•LAN high-speed and WLAN Internet Connection (at a fee), in room air conditioner, direct-dial phones, safe deposit box and cable-TV (12 languages).. complimentary Wireless LAN in public aereas• Superb Champagne-breakfast-buffet.Starting 06:15 a.m.• complimentrary Internet Corner.. Smoker lounge • «Early bird breakfast».• Hotel Airport Shuttle (against a fee).• Complimentary tea and coffee bar with international newspapers.•Panorama-roo with a view to mount Uetliberg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Hotel Royal Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Royal Zurich Hotel
Comfort Inn zürich
Comfort Inn Zurich
Royal Zurich Comfort Inn
zürich Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing